After researching over 70 bumper plates, using 32 of them, we've determined that the best bumper plates for most people are the FringeSport Bumper Plates. The best competition bumper plates for most people are the Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates. Taking into consideration rubber used, durability, noise, appearance, price, warranty, and availability, these bumper plates will work well for any home gym, commercial gym, or CrossFit Affiliate.

One of the questions we get more than any other is, "what are the best bumper plates available?" With this Best-In-Class Breakdown Article we strive to give our recommendations based upon years of use with a large variety of brands and makes. You can find a listing with reviews and ratings by our readers of every bumper plate currently available with more being added weekly here. Olympic bumper plates are an ideal piece of equipment for a home gym due to their low bounce, safety features, and lower noise produced compared to iron weight plates. However, choosing a set of bumper plates can be difficult due to the amount of variety that's available on the market. Let this be your guide.

Bumpers Top Pick
FringeSport Black Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(9)
You’ll love our bumper plates because they’re going to make you suffer like you never have before. Fringe Sport bumper plates make Sisyphus blush. Like eternally rolling a boulder uphill, our bumper plates will outlast you, laboring for a lifetime. They’re durable, so they’ll absorb all the punishment you dish out, thin so you can add bigger loads to the bar and super weight accurate. Better yet, unlearn everything you’ve ever learned about 10 lb bumpers, and drop these at will. Yes, you read that right. Drop the 10s. They won’t crumble. After the boulder rolled downhill, did Sisyphus ever find it broken? Think about epic heroes like Luke Skywalker or the Karate Kid. You too are called to training that will involve pain and suffering. We’re here to be your Yoda. We invite you to embark your hero’s journey. Accept the challenge, and our bumper plates will be the burden that makes you a champion. Step Up to the Plate Here's why Fringe Sport bumpers will lift you up:Steel Insert- Outperforms most bumpers with a higher threshold for abuse without malformation, while machined to exact tolerances to fit all high-quality Olympic bars.Low Bounce with High Durability- Careful rubber formulation softens bounce making for safe use in tight spaces and prevents chipping and falling apart due to brittleness. Boasts years of use in a garage or affiliate.Stability- 10 and 15 lb bumpers feature expertly designed "hooked" steel insert, that remains firmly seated. Offers high durability, making them more stable than most that suffer from fragility and thinness.Thinner- Virgin rubber and higher density slims the plate so you can load more weight on your bar!Standard diameter- Universal matching diameter so you can mix and match to load your bar.  

The FringeSport Bumper Plates are some of the best bang-for-the-buck bumper plates on the market. They come in a variety of styles, kilograms or pounds, have a high Shore A Durometer Rating which means a dead bounce, come with a 3-year warranty, and are priced, when shipping is considered, as well or better than just about everyone else. Universally, FringeSport is one of the companies least complained about by our readers for customer service and product expectations being met. If you want the bumper plates that we feel are the best for most people, these are what we suggest.

Competition Bumpers Top Pick
Rogue KG Black Training Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(7)
Manufactured to the same high standard as our Rogue Competition Plates, these KG bumpers feature an all-black, gloss-matte-gloss finish and a unique, color-coded rubber stripe that wraps around the full perimeter of each plate. That stripe, along with raised, color-coded lettering on the face of the plate, allows for quick visual weight identification from any direction or distance. Rogue Black Training KG Bumper Plates are available to order in pairs or as full sets up to 140KG. They're an IWF standard 450MM in diameter, with chrome-plated steel disc inserts and a 50.40MM collar opening for a firm, stable hold. Raised rubber flanges are included to help prevent friction and scuffing, and lipped edges make the bumpers easier to pick up off the floor or off a rack. Tested on a Shore A Durometer scale, the Black Training KG Bumpers score an average measurement of 94. That means you get a consistent dead blow on the drop, on par with some of the top high-end Olympic bumper plates in the industry. Specifications:Plate Diameter: 450MMPlate Widths: (see chart below)Collar Opening: 50.40MMInsert Type: Steel Disc, Chrome PlatedShore A Durometer: 94Weight tolerance: +/- 15 grams of claimed weightFinish: Gloss-Matte-Gloss in All BlackRaised lettering (Rogue logo and weight measurement) in IWF standard color coding – Green/Yellow/Blue/RedPlate Thickness Chart:10KG (Green Lettering): 29MM (1.15”)15KG (Yellow Lettering): 42MM (1.65”)20KG (Blue Lettering): 55MM (2.15”)25KG (Red Lettering): 66MM (2.50”)

Rogue has the largest selection of bumper plates in the industry, but the ones that we like the best for those looking for our Top Pick for the Best Competition Bumper Plates are the Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates. Despite their name, these plates are not 100% black. The raised lettering is colored according to the IWF color standards as well as a strip of rubber on the edge of the plates. We recommend these over full-color plates due to their better price, lack of scuffing, and the fact that they're colored in all the areas that matter. If you want competition bumpers for Olympic Weightlifting, CrossFit, or just general training where you need room on the bar, these are what we recommend.

Bumper Plates Runner-Up Pick
Vulcan Alpha Bumper Plates
star_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border(0)
This unique rubber compound is not found in any other bumper plate. (Patent Pending). Alpha Bumpers are not made from recycled rubber! Alpha Bumper plates are made for indoor or outdoor use. These weight plates offer a low bounce on any surface, unlike recycled rubber plates that can bounce dangerously high or "skip" away from you. Alpha Bumpers make approximately 30% less noise when dropped from a height of 9 ft, based on testing with decibel meter . Hearing damage & loss have become issues to some weightlifting coaches and trainers due to the level of noise exposure from multiple athletes dropping bumper plates throughout a training session.If your gym is located in an area where the dropping of weights can cause a disturbance to your neighbors, the 30% reduction of noise can be helpful. The Alpha Bumper plates have a much lower odor than crumb rubber bumper plates or recycled rubber bumper plates. Bumper Plates Dimensions, Specifications, and Colors: Lower profile compared to crumb rubber plates or recycled rubber plates and many other brands of bumper plates Dimensions 10 lb - 1.17 inches, 15.7" diameter, Grey Fleck 15 lb - 1.38 inches, 17.7" diameter, Orange Fleck 25 lb - 1.81 inches, 17.7" diameter, Green Fleck 35 lb - 2.55 inches, 17.7" diameter, Yellow Fleck 45 lb - 2.95 inches, 17.7" diameter, Blue Fleck 55 lb - 3.34 inches, 17.7" diameter, Red Fleck Weight tolerance: +/- 1% 10 lb plates are a slightly smaller diameter to add density to the rubber compound to allow for dropping. 10 lb plates can be dropped alone on the ba Color-coded with large Flecks of rubber for easy identification from a distance and a really unique look Color coding is standard IWF type coloring Color Flecks are part of the rubber compound Fit tighter together than crumb rubber or recycled rubber bumper plates. Less vibration and wobbling. 48-month warranty on 55 lb, 45 lb, 35 lb, 36 months on 25 lb plates, 1 year on 15 lb and 10 lb bumper plates Plates can be used outdoors but should be stored indoors when not in use.

By and large, the Vulcan Alpha Bumper Plates V2.0 are some of the most well-liked standard bumper plates on the market. They utilize a unique rubber formula with colored flecks that allows the amount of weight to be easily identified and, in our opinion, looks pretty cool. In addition, these are some of the only plates warrantied for outdoor use (a 4-year warranty, by the way) and are said to make 25% less noise than competitors bumpers (we haven't tested this or seen verifiable results yet, however.) For these reasons and more detailed below, these are our Runner-Up Pick.

Competition Bumpers Upgrade Pick
Rogue KG Competition Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(4)
The KG version of Rogue’s Competition Plates are an IWF standard 450MM in diameter, with chrome-plated steel disc inserts and a 50.4MM collar opening for a firm, stable hold. We've added several new features to this line-up of color-coded bumpers: Minimal Bounce: Tested on a Shore A Durometer scale, the Competition Plates' average measurement was a 94, which delivers a consistent dead blow with minimal bounce found in high-end Olympic weightlifting bumpers. Less bounce means less time chasing your bar around the gym. New Finish and Lettering: The plates have been given a gloss-matte-gloss finish and raised lettering for a clean, bold look. Raised Flanges: A raised rubber surface is now included to prevent direct metal-on-metal contact between the center discs. Whether stacked on the bar or on a rack, the bumpers only come into contact with each other on the inner and outer flanges—reducing scuffing and helping to preserve the plates’ finish and lettering. A convenient lip on the edge of the plate also makes it easier to pick up from the rack or off the ground. Rogue KG Competition Plates come in four colors (Red/25KG, Blue/20KG, Yellow/15KG, Green/10KG) and can be ordered in a wide variety of sets depending on your gym’s needs. See the order options on the right to choose the best set for you, or contact us with a custom order request. Rogue KG Competition Plate Specifications:Diameter: 450MM (17.72”)Collar Opening: 50.4MM (1.98”)Insert Type: Steel Disc, Chrome PlatedGloss-Matte-Gloss Finish with Raised LetteringProtective Rubber FlangesWeight Tolerance: +/- 15 grams of claimed weightPlate Thickness Chart:Green-10KG: 29MM (1.15”)Yellow-15KG: 42MM (1.65”)Blue-20KG: 55MM (2.15”)Red-25KG: 66MM (2.5”)

The Rogue Competition Bumper Plates are our Upgrade Pick for those that do a lot of Olympic Weightlifting or like the look and feel of a high-end plate. These have extremely high weight accuracy, are built to IWF specs, have raised lettering and have been used in the top of various events including the CrossFit Games and the USA Weightlifting National Championships. If you don't mind spending a significant amount of money on weight plates, these are a great option.

Urethane Bumpers Top Pick
Titan Urethane LB Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(5)
The Titan Fitness Urethane Bumper Plates are top quality plates at the right price. Designed from high quality, vibrantly colored, urethane molded around a hard chrome hub for a durable and long lasting performance. Features:- Color-coded in 5 vibrant colors for easy identification. - Raised plate lip making picking up the plates easier. - Durometer rating of 90 for a minimal bounce on drop and a durable design.- Hard Chrome Insert.   - (10 LB, 25 LB, 35 LB, 45 LB, 55 LB). 

For most people, we don't recommend urethane bumper plates due to their cost. However, if you like the vibrant colors, durability and low bounce of urethane, then the Titan Urethane Bumper Plates are what we suggest. Out of the bumpers we've tested and reviewed, these from Titan offer the best value. Practically all urethane bumpers are the same and made in similar factories (you can tell by the center hub.) The only company that makes urethane bumpers that look different are American Barbell, which we prefer, but they're more expensive and we don't think it's worth it for most.

Money Is Not Object Bumpers Pick
Eleiko IWF Weightlifting Training Discs
starstarstarstarstar_half(10)
Our IWF certified Weightlifting Training Discs are beautifully constructed and built to stand up to and perform well with years of hard training. The Eleiko Olympic WL Training Discs are identical to our competition line, but do not undergo the additional calibration necessary for official use. If your sights are set on performance, but don’t require the precise competition calibration, then these discs are for you. Available in both kilos and pounds. DISCS SOLD INDIVIDUALLY (1 UNIT) *RC = Rubber Coated Warranty terms and conditions To be dropped on 30 mm-thick rubber flooring (training platform recommended by Eleiko). Indoor use only. Normal wear and tear does not fall under warranty. Eleiko IWF Training Disc Warranty: 5 years

Simply put, if you want some of the most legendary and heralded bumper plates ever created, the Eleiko IWF Weightlifting Training Discs are the pinnacle. However, they're also extremely costly for what many consider not much better quality than Rogue's top set of bumper plates.

Bumper Plates Budget Pick
Rogue Echo Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(8)
Rogue Echo Bumper Plates have an IWF standard 450MM diameter (10LB Plate is 446MM), minimal surface imperfections, and a weight within 1% of its target. Combined with stainless steel inserts and quality virgin rubber, the Echos offer a dead bounce and durability rarely seen in an economical plate. Echo Bumpers are available in pairs or as sets. Fully equip a new garage gym or save money supplying a school weight room or large training facility. If you’re looking for plates that will be reliable workhorses at a reasonable price, the Echos will not disappoint. Specifications: Diameter: 450MM (+/- 3MM) / 17.72" (IWF Standard). 10LB Plate is 446MM Collar Opening: 50.40MM / 1.98". Stainless Steel Inserts Weight Tolerance: +/- 1% of claimed weight Minimal Bounce Imported from China

If you're on a budget, but still want bumper plates, then the Rogue Echo Bumper Plates are what we recommend. They have pretty much the exact same specs as Rogue's higher-end HG 2.0 Black Bumper Plates, but are significantly cheaper, thinner, and have contrast painted lettering. These are one of the most reviewed products on Rogue's website and have an extremely high rating. Regardless of if you're on a budget or not, these will be great for a majority of lifters.

Competition Bumpers Budget Pick
Titan Black Elite KG Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(3)
The Titan Elite Bumper Plates are the answer for competition bumper plates at the right price. A 90 Durometer rating hits the sweet spot for minimal bounce and maximum durability. The plates stand up to high reps and intense workouts.  The 450 mm width matches IWF standard and the narrow plate thickness allows you to load multiple plates on the bar. Reinforced steel collar makes for a secure fit to your bar for decreased wear on your equipment.  A must have for high intensity circuit training and Olympic lifting at home or for your gym.  Features:  - 10 KG, 15 KG, 20 KG, 25 KG - Color-coded lettering with 4 vibrant colors for easy identification.  - Steel collar reinforces the plates for high rep use. - Raised plate lip makes picking up the plate easier. 

The Titan Elite Olympic Black Bumper Plates were some of the most surprisingly good plates we tested. They're accurate in regards to weight, thin, have a low bounce, and look pretty good all at one of the lowest competition bumper prices available. We've had them for nearly two years, and they still look and perform similarly to the day we unboxed them, except for some fading of the lettering.

Best Bumper Plates on Amazon
Rep Black Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(8)
Our Rep black bumper plates are extremely durable and attractive, dsigned to be perfect for cross training/HIIT workouts and Olympic weightlifting. Our 10 lb plates are extra thick (1") to increase durability and reduce the chance of "tacoing," while our 45 lb plates are thinner than most at 2.83" thick to allow more weight to fit on the bar. Bumper plates are excellent for training the Olympic lifts, which end with the bar overhead or at shoulder height. This allows the lifter to drop the bar after completing a lift, or if a lift is missed, you can drop the weights without harming the bar, surrounding equipment, flooring, etc... Plate Sets: 160 lb - (2)Each 45-25-10 190 lb - (2)Each 45-25-15-10 210 lb - (2)Each 45-35-25 230 lb - (2)Each 45-35-25-10 250 lb - (4) 45 (2) Each 25-10 260 lb - (2)Each 45-35-25-15-10 370 lb - (6) 45 lb & (2)Each 25-15-10 What makes our bumper plates better? Superior craftsmanship and design. Steel inserts with hooks molded into the bumper plates increase durability versus older designs with brass inserts. Extra thick 10 lb plates are the best on the market, and highly resistant to bending Low bounce. Some recycled rubber bumper plates will bounce very high and make you chase the bar around. Not ours. Thin profile. With a good Olympic bar, you can fit 515lbs of our bumper plates on the bar. Factory tested to withstand over 12,000 drops from a height of 8 ft.  Used in both commercial and home gyms all over the world

If you're stuck on ordering from Amazon, then we recommend the Rep Black Bumper Plates. These can be had for less on RepFitness.com, but are also available on Amazon. These are a great budget-friendly plate that are very similar to the Rogue Echo Bumpers and are a durable bumper for the price.

3 Main Bumper Plate Benefits

Bumper Plates are some of the most expensive pieces of equipment that will go in any home gym or commercial gym. They are expensive to make, ship, and store. There is literally nothing about them that is cheap, yet you'll find them in any gym worth it's salt across the world. So, why would someone purchase bumpers, and look for the best bumper plates despite their cost? Here are three reasons why:

1. Bumper Plates are quieter than iron plates

Without a doubt, bumper plates when compared to cast iron plates are vastly quieter. Think about it, rather than uncoated iron being dropped on the ground which makes a loud, shrill sound that continues to reverberate, virgin rubber or urethane compresses leaving a much quieter thud. This is a very significant difference as any home gym owner with neighbors will attest as well as any commercial gym owner with a landlord that likes to "pop in" to the gym at random times.

The decibel level of bumper plates being dropped can also be mitigated further by the use of rubber matting such as horse stall mats which we often recommend.

2. Bumper Plates are safer for you and your equipment than iron plates.

Have you ever dropped a 45 LB iron plate on your foot? I have, and a majority of the time it leads to broken bones. But, more common than broken bones is cracked concrete, a disturbed foundation, and damaged barbells. Bumper plates compress when dropped, therefore taking some of the blow and damage done to whatever they are hitting. If they land on you, they won't hurt nearly as much as steel. If they're hitting your Olympic barbell sleeve because you're doing Olympic Weightlifting lifts and dropping the bar from overhead, bumper plates won't leave permanent scars or potentially deform your bar like cast iron will.

Most importantly, outside of your safety, of course, is the fact that bumper plates won't hurt the foundation of your much more expensive home. If you're going to lift at home, then you should have bumpers.

3. Bumper Plates have higher workout versatility than iron plates.

Thanks to the more quiet and safe nature of rubber in comparison to it's older brother iron, bumper plates allow a greater workout versatility. With metal plates, you can't drop the weight from overhead unless you don't mind breaking things. You also shouldn't drop them from hip height, although many do.

On the other hand, bumper plates can be dropped from just about any height without fear. This means suddenly you can overhead press, clean and jerk, snatch, deadlift, and other movements without worrying about dropping the bar. This is a significant benefit for home gym owners where space is limited.

Why We Recommend Bumper Plates for Home Gyms

Home gym owners are in all honesty the ideal candidate for bumper plates. All of the benefits previously stated apply directly to those with garage gyms and I'd say they do so even more than with owners of commercial or CrossFit Affiliates.

First, the quiet nature of rubber makes it so that those lifting at home don't have to worry about waking up their family along with the entire neighborhood when they decide to workout at 5 AM. The benefit of a home gym, is that it's always open. Forcing yourself to only workout when people are awake because you'll wake them up with your weight plates defeats the purpose.

Next, a majority of the time you'll be working out in your garage gym alone. This means safety is of utmost importance as there won't be anyone to help you should you get hurt. Rubber is safer than iron; few will argue against that. It's the reason all of our kids' toys are coated in shiny colors of rubber, versus hard metal. And, bumpers work as well for strength training as they do for cardio or conditioning with barbells like is often seen in CrossFit and crosstraining/functional type workouts.

Finally, a home gym has finite space. This means limited space for both equipment and room for movements that use the equipment. In order to maximize the room, equipment that can do multiple things is ideal and the best bumper plates that we recommend fit that bill more so than metal weights. Having worked out in my home gym for close to a decade and helping thousands of others start their own gyms, I would highly suggest bumper plates for most people.

Standard Bumper Plates vs Competition Bumper Plates

There are two types of bumper plates currently on the market. The first don't really have a specific name, so we'll just call them "Standard Bumper Plates" (sounds pretty riveting doesn't it?) and the other type is "Competition Bumper Plates."

Standard bumper plates are the ones most often seen. These are typically black, although many companies have started to make colorized versions, even ones with cool graphics like these FringeSport Savage Plates (the colors look even better in person.) Standard bumper plates use a steel insert instead of a hub, are wider than competition plates and therefore don't allow you to fit as much weight on the bar, are more likely to warp, and are often much cheaper.

Competition bumper plates, on the other hand, utilize a steel hub that is often in two sections and is then bolted together securing the rubber, allowing more weight to fit on the bar due to their thin width, are most often in different colors and are typically more expensive. Although competition bumper plates often have a more dead bounce than black bumper plates, that isn't always the case. It largely depends on the Shore A Durometer Rating of the plates.

For most people, standard/black bumper plates are what we'd recommend. Most trainees can't Olympic lift more than what is allowed on the bar with these types of plates and if using them for deadlifts or squats, it's easy to add some cast iron plates on the end to meet whatever the weight that is needed.

If you want plates that should last the rest of your life, want the ability to put as much weight on the bar as most can possibly lift, and the aesthetics of things matter to you, then we suggest competition plates. It's what I use in my garage gym, but then again I also have a 10 Foot tall squat rack and 30 barbells, so I wouldn't say I'm a "typical" home gym owner.

How We Picked and Tested the Bumper Plates

In order to gather enough bumper plates to make a truly comprehensive comparison, we first began as we do with all of these types of guides with searching both the internet and the Garage Gym Reviews Product Dashboard. We currently have over 100 different bumper plates that have been rated and reviewed by users on Garage Gym Reviews with more being added daily as they're released.

In addition to what was listed in our database, we researched Amazon, Walmart, and manufacturer sites like Rogue Fitness, Rep Fitness, Titan Fitness, EliteFTS, and others to see if we missed anything. In addition, we discussed the topic with our Garage Gym Community Facebook Group as well as the r/homegym subreddit of which I am a Mod.

In addition to all of this, I talked to some CrossFit Games Athletes as well as high-level Olympic Weightlifters to see what they've used and which they prefer. I'm always wary to put too much emphasis on what athletes think as they typically could care less other than looks, but I think it's worth doing.

Lastly, we compiled what we had on hand, which is currently over 20 different types of bumper plates, and read the individual reviews we've done on them.

We took all of this and have ranked the bumper plates based on various categories and budget levels.

I think it's important to note something first though. Olympic plates (Olympic plates have a 2" collar opening, standard plates, the old style have a 1" hole) don't have nearly the amount of review characteristics as something like Olympic Barbells (of which we have in-depth guides.) However, after some discussion among those on the Garage Gym Reviews team, we were able to narrow down our specs for how we judge bumper plates for our guide. Here is the list, in no particular order:

Overall Construction: The overall construction of a bumper plate deals with the materials used and how they were put together from a macro standpoint. Overall, how was the bumper plate constructed and is it in line with the price point?

Weight Accuracy: How accurate to the listed weight are the plates. Using highly accurate scales we tested the plates. In addition, does the company offer a weight accuracy guarantee? The closer to the stated weight the guarantee is, the better.

Warranty: Is there a warranty on the plates? If so, how long is it? Good bumper plates are have a minimum of a one year warranty.

Width, Collar Opening, & Diameter: The diameter of bumper plates should be as close to 450MM as possible as this is the IWF standard. The thinner the plates, the better as it will mean more weight can fit on the bar. The collar opening should be as close to 50.4MM as possible. This, again, is the International Weightlifting Federation Standard.

Price: We're not so much looking at the price, but the value of the plates. If they're expensive, they should have durability and quality that reflect the price. 

Color Coding Accuracy: The colors of the bumper plates should be the following: Red for 55LB/25KG. Blue for 45LB/20KG. Yellow for 35LB/15KG. Green for 25 LB/10KG. 10 and 15 LB bumper plates vary.

Shore A Durometer Rating: This rating determines, in essence, how hard or soft the rubber is which in turn dictates how much bounce the plate has.

Steel Insert Quality: A stainless steel insert is best, but other metal can be used if priced accordingly. Whether it's molded with the rubber or added afterward matters as well.

Printed or Raised Lettering: Printed lettering will fade with time and make it hard to know how much the plates weigh. Good quality plates most often have raised lettering that shows the amount of weight being used.

Steel Hub Finish: Competition bumper plates utilize a steel hub that is often plated with chrome or uses zinc.

Durability: Bumper plates, when used in a home gym setting should last decades. We look to reviews from users to get an average.

Bumper Material: Virgin Rubber, Crumb Rubber, and Urethane are the most often used materials for bumper plates.

Top Pick for Standard Bumpers: FringeSport Bumper Plates Review

Bumpers Top Pick
FringeSport Black Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(9)
You’ll love our bumper plates because they’re going to make you suffer like you never have before. Fringe Sport bumper plates make Sisyphus blush. Like eternally rolling a boulder uphill, our bumper plates will outlast you, laboring for a lifetime. They’re durable, so they’ll absorb all the punishment you dish out, thin so you can add bigger loads to the bar and super weight accurate. Better yet, unlearn everything you’ve ever learned about 10 lb bumpers, and drop these at will. Yes, you read that right. Drop the 10s. They won’t crumble. After the boulder rolled downhill, did Sisyphus ever find it broken? Think about epic heroes like Luke Skywalker or the Karate Kid. You too are called to training that will involve pain and suffering. We’re here to be your Yoda. We invite you to embark your hero’s journey. Accept the challenge, and our bumper plates will be the burden that makes you a champion. Step Up to the Plate Here's why Fringe Sport bumpers will lift you up:Steel Insert- Outperforms most bumpers with a higher threshold for abuse without malformation, while machined to exact tolerances to fit all high-quality Olympic bars.Low Bounce with High Durability- Careful rubber formulation softens bounce making for safe use in tight spaces and prevents chipping and falling apart due to brittleness. Boasts years of use in a garage or affiliate.Stability- 10 and 15 lb bumpers feature expertly designed "hooked" steel insert, that remains firmly seated. Offers high durability, making them more stable than most that suffer from fragility and thinness.Thinner- Virgin rubber and higher density slims the plate so you can load more weight on your bar!Standard diameter- Universal matching diameter so you can mix and match to load your bar.  

The FringeSport Bumper Plates are our top pick for the best standard bumper plates for most people. We've reviewed these in-depth in the past and our initial findings still stand: for most people, these are the bumper plates we recommend. From the virgin rubber used to maximize durability and limit rebound to the great price, the FringeSport bumper plates should be the top choice when looking at rounding out any home or commercial gym. Sidenote: These are sometimes known under their other name on Amazon as OneFitWonder Plates.

FringeSport has comprised their bumper plates out of 100% high-density virgin rubber that has a matte finish feel (a sign of better, more durable rubber. Most of the time you can tell a cheaper made bumper plate with how shiny it looks, the virgin rubber used by FringeSport is a bold black finish that shouldn't fade away as a result of the wear and tear that takes place in the course of a bumper plates life. We've had a set in my personal training studio for over a year and they still look as good as new despite their constant use.

The reason FringeSport has used virgin rubber to make their bumper plates is that virgin rubber is overall more malleable and can be combined smoother than recycled rubber. Not only that, but virgin rubber is slightly more uniform in its construction. Virgin rubber is also more durable and will not harm your floor when dropped from overhead which is great news for any home gym owner.

The FringeSport Bumper Plates come in four different varieties depending on your color preference. They have the following:

FringeSport Black Bumper Plates (often the cheapest.)

FringeSport Contrast Bumper Plates (what we most often recommend.)

FringeSport Color Bumper Plates (same as the others but in full color.)

FringeSport Savage Bumper Plates (some of the most unique looking bumpers on the market.)

The FringeSport Bumper Plates, also known under the OneFitWonder name on Amazon, include a 10 and 15 that measure at a 90sHA while the 25 pounds to 55 pounds are 85sHA. To put this in perspective, Rogue Fitness HG bumper plates all weigh in at 88sHA.

The colors are as follows: 10's-gray, 15's-white, 25's-green, 35's-yellow, 45's-blue, 55's-red. I love the different coloring on the plates to make it easier to differentiate the weight. Although minor in both cost and application, it's an important feature.

The colored lettering and numbering on the FringeSport bumper plates are slightly raised and are not embedded into the plate which I like.

The price on the FringeSport bumpers is great, although depending on where you live and the time of the year, the Rogue HG 2.0 Bumper Plates can be had at a better shipped to your door price.

Top Pick for Competition Bumpers: Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates Review

Competition Bumpers Top Pick
Rogue KG Black Training Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(7)
Manufactured to the same high standard as our Rogue Competition Plates, these KG bumpers feature an all-black, gloss-matte-gloss finish and a unique, color-coded rubber stripe that wraps around the full perimeter of each plate. That stripe, along with raised, color-coded lettering on the face of the plate, allows for quick visual weight identification from any direction or distance. Rogue Black Training KG Bumper Plates are available to order in pairs or as full sets up to 140KG. They're an IWF standard 450MM in diameter, with chrome-plated steel disc inserts and a 50.40MM collar opening for a firm, stable hold. Raised rubber flanges are included to help prevent friction and scuffing, and lipped edges make the bumpers easier to pick up off the floor or off a rack. Tested on a Shore A Durometer scale, the Black Training KG Bumpers score an average measurement of 94. That means you get a consistent dead blow on the drop, on par with some of the top high-end Olympic bumper plates in the industry. Specifications:Plate Diameter: 450MMPlate Widths: (see chart below)Collar Opening: 50.40MMInsert Type: Steel Disc, Chrome PlatedShore A Durometer: 94Weight tolerance: +/- 15 grams of claimed weightFinish: Gloss-Matte-Gloss in All BlackRaised lettering (Rogue logo and weight measurement) in IWF standard color coding – Green/Yellow/Blue/RedPlate Thickness Chart:10KG (Green Lettering): 29MM (1.15”)15KG (Yellow Lettering): 42MM (1.65”)20KG (Blue Lettering): 55MM (2.15”)25KG (Red Lettering): 66MM (2.50”)

The Rogue Black Training Plates are the best competition bumper plates for most people. Although competition bumpers typically are all different colors, for most people, their plates will never be used for competition and therefore do not need to be to IWF color-coding specs. Therefore, colors are used by most for looks and ease of identifying the different weight increments. The Rogue Black Training Plates accomplish both of these by looking absolutely dapper (this is obviously a personal opinion, but their aesthetics are generally very well-liked) and have coloring on both the edges and sides to make identification extremely easy.

We've tested and reviewed these plates, and honestly like them better than Rogue's top-of-the-line and most expensive plates, the Rogue Competition Plates.

First off, the Black Training Bumper Plates come in both pounds and kilograms, depending on which suits your tastes. Despite being in America, land of the Imperial System, I use kilos in my garage (once you go kilo, you don't go back...or something like that.) These are of virgin rubber plates, meaning the rubber hasn't been recycled and therefore is more durable.

The Shore A Durometer Rating is 94, which provides little bounce for lifters that plan to drop bars from overhead or who use them for powerlifting (although we'd suggest calibrated plates) and are deadlifting while dropping weight from hip height.

The center hub is a two-piece steel disk that is chrome plated and secured using stainless steel bolts. We have had a few users report in reviews that the hub does corrode over time, though we haven't experienced it personally.

The colors of the plates are all accurate and extremely vibrant with raised lettering and a stripe of color on the edge of the plates. The color strip really makes the plates pop and makes it extremely easy to know which ones are which. All of the plates have a consistent 450MM plate diameter with a 50.4 MM collar opening making them fit well on an Olympic bar sleeve.

The weight tolerance is +/- 15 grams which is extremely accurate. the plates we weighed were all within this range, with most being exact. Although we love color bumper plates for the look, these have most of the benefits but at a lower price. A full 140KG weight set is much less than a full-colored version and also has free shipping on Rogue. These would be great for Olympic Weightlifting Gyms or even CrossFit Boxes in addition to home gyms.

Top Pick for Urethane Bumpers: Titan Urethane Bumper Plates Review

Urethane Bumpers Top Pick
Titan Urethane KG Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(6)
The Titan Fitness Urethane Bumper Plates are top quality plates at the right price. Designed from high quality, vibrantly colored, urethane molded around a hard chrome hub for a durable and long lasting performance. Features:- Color-coded in 5 vibrant colors for easy identification. - Raised plate lip making picking up the plates easier. - Durometer rating of 90 for a minimal bounce on drop and a durable design.- Hard Chrome Insert.   - (5 KG, 10 KG, 15 KG, 20 KG, 25 KG). 

If you're in the market for quality bumpers made of urethane, the Titan Urethane Bumper Plates are the best value currently available. We've used and reviewed both the American Barbell Urethane Pro Series Bumper Plates (which we think are the best when the price isn't considered) and the Rogue Urethane Plates (which based upon country of origin and the design of the hub, we would assume are the exact same as Titan's.)

The Titan Urethane Bumpers feature the extremely vibrant colors that urethane allows are and are available in both pound and kilogram increments. The letters on the face of the plates is raised and the weight increments are displayed in a contrasting gray color that makes identifying the weight extremely easy.

Urethane is extremely durable, so long as it's high-quality urethane that's used, yet tends to be rather slick. Titan added a textured finish to combat this that does add some grip, although they're still a bit slippery. All of the plates do have a lip on their edge that makes them easy for carrying and come with a weight tolerance guarantee of +/- 1% which all of the plates we tested met, even the 5 KG plates.

The center hub on these plates is hard chrome, but thanks to the plate being largely made of urethane, the have an extremely low bounce, even lower than high-end rubber plates.

Urethane, in general, will lead to a more durable, quality bumper and they are thinner than most rubber plates, however, they're also more expensive in many cases. These are by far the best priced, especially when you factor in that Titan offers free shipping.

We think that these are overkill for most of our readers, but for those that want a high-end plate with a low cost, these are an awesome option. They're probably the plates that get the most use at my gym due to their bright colors.

Runner-Up Pick for Standard Bumpers: Vulcan Alpha Bumper Plates V2.0

Bumper Plates Runner-Up Pick
Vulcan Alpha Bumper Plates
star_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border(0)
This unique rubber compound is not found in any other bumper plate. (Patent Pending). Alpha Bumpers are not made from recycled rubber! Alpha Bumper plates are made for indoor or outdoor use. These weight plates offer a low bounce on any surface, unlike recycled rubber plates that can bounce dangerously high or "skip" away from you. Alpha Bumpers make approximately 30% less noise when dropped from a height of 9 ft, based on testing with decibel meter . Hearing damage & loss have become issues to some weightlifting coaches and trainers due to the level of noise exposure from multiple athletes dropping bumper plates throughout a training session.If your gym is located in an area where the dropping of weights can cause a disturbance to your neighbors, the 30% reduction of noise can be helpful. The Alpha Bumper plates have a much lower odor than crumb rubber bumper plates or recycled rubber bumper plates. Bumper Plates Dimensions, Specifications, and Colors: Lower profile compared to crumb rubber plates or recycled rubber plates and many other brands of bumper plates Dimensions 10 lb - 1.17 inches, 15.7" diameter, Grey Fleck 15 lb - 1.38 inches, 17.7" diameter, Orange Fleck 25 lb - 1.81 inches, 17.7" diameter, Green Fleck 35 lb - 2.55 inches, 17.7" diameter, Yellow Fleck 45 lb - 2.95 inches, 17.7" diameter, Blue Fleck 55 lb - 3.34 inches, 17.7" diameter, Red Fleck Weight tolerance: +/- 1% 10 lb plates are a slightly smaller diameter to add density to the rubber compound to allow for dropping. 10 lb plates can be dropped alone on the ba Color-coded with large Flecks of rubber for easy identification from a distance and a really unique look Color coding is standard IWF type coloring Color Flecks are part of the rubber compound Fit tighter together than crumb rubber or recycled rubber bumper plates. Less vibration and wobbling. 48-month warranty on 55 lb, 45 lb, 35 lb, 36 months on 25 lb plates, 1 year on 15 lb and 10 lb bumper plates Plates can be used outdoors but should be stored indoors when not in use.

The Vulcan Strength Alpha Bumper Plates V2.0 are some of the best bumper plates on the market for most people. They're almost 100% universally well-liked and reviewed, have a unique color system that uses flecks, and are priced very competitively.

A few things we love about the plates are durability, tight tolerances on the collar openings, dead bounce which leads to a lower amount of noise, and the look. One reason so many people like the Alpha plates from Vulcan is that their noise level, when dropped, is supposedly "25% quieter when dropped from a height of 9 FT" according to the company. We haven't been able to personally test this, but many reviewers attest to how quiet they are.

One thing that Vulcan has avoided with these compared to other plates at a similar price range is the nasty rubber smell that often is smelled when unboxed. Sure, it almost always eventually dissipates, but it's a part of the process for importing rubber from China.

Lastly, these plates aren't overly thick like Hi-Temps, so they fit quite a few on the bar at once. They do come with a 4 year warranty as well which is much better than most of the competition, including Rogue. If you like the colored plates, but don't want to pay what they typically cost, these are a great compromise.

Upgrade Pick for Competition Bumpers: Rogue Competition Bumper Plates Review

Competition Bumpers Top Pick
Rogue KG Competition Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(4)
The KG version of Rogue’s Competition Plates are an IWF standard 450MM in diameter, with chrome-plated steel disc inserts and a 50.4MM collar opening for a firm, stable hold. We've added several new features to this line-up of color-coded bumpers: Minimal Bounce: Tested on a Shore A Durometer scale, the Competition Plates' average measurement was a 94, which delivers a consistent dead blow with minimal bounce found in high-end Olympic weightlifting bumpers. Less bounce means less time chasing your bar around the gym. New Finish and Lettering: The plates have been given a gloss-matte-gloss finish and raised lettering for a clean, bold look. Raised Flanges: A raised rubber surface is now included to prevent direct metal-on-metal contact between the center discs. Whether stacked on the bar or on a rack, the bumpers only come into contact with each other on the inner and outer flanges—reducing scuffing and helping to preserve the plates’ finish and lettering. A convenient lip on the edge of the plate also makes it easier to pick up from the rack or off the ground. Rogue KG Competition Plates come in four colors (Red/25KG, Blue/20KG, Yellow/15KG, Green/10KG) and can be ordered in a wide variety of sets depending on your gym’s needs. See the order options on the right to choose the best set for you, or contact us with a custom order request. Rogue KG Competition Plate Specifications:Diameter: 450MM (17.72”)Collar Opening: 50.4MM (1.98”)Insert Type: Steel Disc, Chrome PlatedGloss-Matte-Gloss Finish with Raised LetteringProtective Rubber FlangesWeight Tolerance: +/- 15 grams of claimed weightPlate Thickness Chart:Green-10KG: 29MM (1.15”)Yellow-15KG: 42MM (1.65”)Blue-20KG: 55MM (2.15”)Red-25KG: 66MM (2.5”)

If you're an Olympic Weightlifter and want to practice how you play or are putting on weightlifting meets, the Rogue Competition Bumper Plates are some of the best available at any price.

Granted, a bumper plate set from Rogue is less than that from Eleiko (our upgrade to the upgrade pick,) Uesaka (arguably the best plates in the world, but also the most expensive and difficult to order,) DHS, and others at this level, they are still a pretty penny. However, we've been told by various sources that the Rogue Competition Bumpers are made in the same factories as Eleiko's. I wouldn't suggest basing your purchase on this information, however, we've been told enough times by knowledgeable people that this is the case to make us at least curious.

Seeing as these are Rogue's premiere plates, you'd expect them to have all of the trappings of a high-end set of bumper plates. This means accurate colors that are consistent throughout and honestly look extremely clean. A chrome-plated steel disc hub that shines extremely well and prevents rust from forming in a garage gym. IWF Standard measurements including a 450MM outside diameter and 50.4MM collar opening and although they're not IWF-certified yet, we'd assume they eventually will be due to Rogue being a "second-tier supplier" for the IWF.

The finish of the plates has a gloss-matte-gloss finish with raised lettering that makes them stand out in any gym. The actual weight in comparison to stated weight is extremely accurate with a weight tolerance of +/- 15 grams. The durometer of the plates is a 94, which will provide a low bounce due to the hardness of the rubber. If they were much harder, they would be more prone to cracking, so this is a great medium.

Lastly, reviews on these are extremely positive. There are only two 4/5 star ratings on Rogue.com and only a couple on our site as well. We've talked to many that have owned both these and expensive competitors and see no reason to go with someone else.

If you want an extremely high-end set of bumper plates for Olympic Lifts and other movements, want to use what's used in the CrossFit Games, and don't want to pay the cost of Eleiko, then these are what we recommend.

Money is No Object Competition Bumpers: Eleiko IWF Weightlifting Training Discs

Money Is No Object Bumpers Pick
Eleiko IWF Weightlifting Training Discs
starstarstarstarstar_half(10)
Our IWF certified Weightlifting Training Discs are beautifully constructed and built to stand up to and perform well with years of hard training. The Eleiko Olympic WL Training Discs are identical to our competition line, but do not undergo the additional calibration necessary for official use. If your sights are set on performance, but don’t require the precise competition calibration, then these discs are for you. Available in both kilos and pounds. DISCS SOLD INDIVIDUALLY (1 UNIT) *RC = Rubber Coated Warranty terms and conditions To be dropped on 30 mm-thick rubber flooring (training platform recommended by Eleiko). Indoor use only. Normal wear and tear does not fall under warranty. Eleiko IWF Training Disc Warranty: 5 years

Eleiko is synonymous with high quality and Olympic Weightlifting. They've been around about as long as anyone in the industry and are still making extremely well-received Olympic plates, barbells, and other strength training equipment.

Eleiko has quite a few different sets of bumper plates available, but the ones we'd suggest to those that want Eleiko and plan to use them for training and not an IWF competition are the IWF Weightlifting Training Discs.

These plates are IWF certified for training and have the same feel and performance as their competition plates but with looser tolerances for weight calibration that competition plates require. One thing that is unique about these plates is that they use "Swedish rubber." I honestly have no idea what the benefit of Swedish rubber could be; Eleiko also claims their Olympic bars that use Swedish steel are superior to steel found elsewhere. This could certainly be marketing speak, however, regardless of whether it is or not, Eleiko Bars and Plates are some of the most well-liked in the world.

If you want the best and don't mind paying for it, then you can't go wrong with a set of Eleiko's

Competition Bumpers Budget Pick: Titan Elite Olympic Black Bumper Plates Review

Competition Bumpers Budget Pick
Titan Black Elite KG Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(3)
The Titan Elite Bumper Plates are the answer for competition bumper plates at the right price. A 90 Durometer rating hits the sweet spot for minimal bounce and maximum durability. The plates stand up to high reps and intense workouts.  The 450 mm width matches IWF standard and the narrow plate thickness allows you to load multiple plates on the bar. Reinforced steel collar makes for a secure fit to your bar for decreased wear on your equipment.  A must have for high intensity circuit training and Olympic lifting at home or for your gym.  Features:  - 10 KG, 15 KG, 20 KG, 25 KG - Color-coded lettering with 4 vibrant colors for easy identification.  - Steel collar reinforces the plates for high rep use. - Raised plate lip makes picking up the plate easier. 

We were pretty surprised just how much we liked the Titan Elite Olympic Bumper Plates in the black variety. For the price, they are by far the cheapest competition plate available and are even cheaper than many standard bumper plates like Hi-Temp's.

There are certain things we don't like about the plates, but they're not things most lifters will really care about. For instance, rather than having raised lettering, these plates have both the weight increment and branding printed on the side of the plates. This is unfortunate because they could eventually wear off and you wouldn't be able to tell the weight from the side of the plate, but only the thickness. This issue is mitigated, however, by Titan insetting the portion of the plates that have writing with lips on the plate.

Also, the center steel hub is three-pieces which could lead to issues in separation from the rubber, however, after using them for a couple of years, we haven't noticed any spinning or separating, so it may be a non-issue.

Lastly, expect a rubber smell when you unbox them along with a green oil on the plastic film that covers the plates. It does dissipate over time, but it's par for the course with cheaper training bumpers.

Despite these flaws, for the price, these are a rather high-quality competition weight plate that are available both in pounds and kilograms and if you don't mind spending a little bit more, you can get them in full color.

We've used these for nearly two years doing both Olympic Weightlifting and powerlifting and they still work great.

Standard Bumpers Budget Pick: Rogue Echo Bumper Plates Review

Bumper Plates Budget Pick
Rogue Echo Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(8)
Rogue Echo Bumper Plates have an IWF standard 450MM diameter (10LB Plate is 446MM), minimal surface imperfections, and a weight within 1% of its target. Combined with stainless steel inserts and quality virgin rubber, the Echos offer a dead bounce and durability rarely seen in an economical plate. Echo Bumpers are available in pairs or as sets. Fully equip a new garage gym or save money supplying a school weight room or large training facility. If you’re looking for plates that will be reliable workhorses at a reasonable price, the Echos will not disappoint. Specifications: Diameter: 450MM (+/- 3MM) / 17.72" (IWF Standard). 10LB Plate is 446MM Collar Opening: 50.40MM / 1.98". Stainless Steel Inserts Weight Tolerance: +/- 1% of claimed weight Minimal Bounce Imported from China

The Rogue Echo Bumper Plates are, based upon the number of reviews on Rogue's site, the best selling bumper plate they have. They're also the cheapest.

These are a unique set of plates in that they have the exact same specs as the more expensive Rogue HG 2.0 Bumper Plates. Despite this, the Echo Bumpers have a more rounded edge making them easier to pick up, raised lettering that is painted white for contrast, and a thinner width allowing you to fit more weight on the bar than the HG 2.0's at a significantly lower price.

Seriously, the similarities are uncanny. Here are a few:

  • Imported (Country of origin is unknown. Assume China.)
  • 100% Virgin Rubber
  • Stainless Steel Inserts
  • 450MM Diameter
  • 50.4MM Collar Opening
  • 88 Shore A Durometer Rating
  • 10-15 LB Variant Plates have a 90 Day Warranty
  • 25-45 LB Variant Plates have a 3 Year Warranty
  • Standard Black Bumper Plates

With all of this said, I reached out to multiple people at Rogue and received various responses. Here's one from their chat (I used a pseudonym so they would give me a normal answer):

I went up the chain to see if I could get further info on the differences and was told there are differences between the two outside of the profile and colored lettering, but that the difference was proprietary and they could not be divulged.

So, with all this said, based upon the price, reviews, and listed specs, the Rogue Echo Bumper Plates are a better value than the HG 2.0 Plates. I have a set of HG Plates and have had them for a few years. They still get quite a bit of use and despite some minor scars and scuffs (we use them outside on the driveway mostly) they look and perform as good as the day I got them.

For the price, honestly, the Rogue Echo Bumper Plates are some of the cheapest bumpers with a warranty available. Especially when you factor in Rogue's excellent shipping rates. These are the cheapest bumper plates we recommend. Titan has some that may be a bit cheaper depending on the sale and time of year, but they have no warranty which is important for rubber weight plates.

Best Bumper Plates on Amazon: Rep Black Bumper Plates Review

Best Bumper Plates on Amazon
Rep Black Bumper Plates
starstarstarstar(8)
Our Rep black bumper plates are extremely durable and attractive, dsigned to be perfect for cross training/HIIT workouts and Olympic weightlifting. Our 10 lb plates are extra thick (1") to increase durability and reduce the chance of "tacoing," while our 45 lb plates are thinner than most at 2.83" thick to allow more weight to fit on the bar. Bumper plates are excellent for training the Olympic lifts, which end with the bar overhead or at shoulder height. This allows the lifter to drop the bar after completing a lift, or if a lift is missed, you can drop the weights without harming the bar, surrounding equipment, flooring, etc... Plate Sets: 160 lb - (2)Each 45-25-10 190 lb - (2)Each 45-25-15-10 210 lb - (2)Each 45-35-25 230 lb - (2)Each 45-35-25-10 250 lb - (4) 45 (2) Each 25-10 260 lb - (2)Each 45-35-25-15-10 370 lb - (6) 45 lb & (2)Each 25-15-10 What makes our bumper plates better? Superior craftsmanship and design. Steel inserts with hooks molded into the bumper plates increase durability versus older designs with brass inserts. Extra thick 10 lb plates are the best on the market, and highly resistant to bending Low bounce. Some recycled rubber bumper plates will bounce very high and make you chase the bar around. Not ours. Thin profile. With a good Olympic bar, you can fit 515lbs of our bumper plates on the bar. Factory tested to withstand over 12,000 drops from a height of 8 ft.  Used in both commercial and home gyms all over the world

I get it, shopping on Amazon is super convenient, things get shipped to you quickly, and you know the site you're dealing with. Regardless of whether you can get equipment for cheaper on the companies own site or not (like these bumpers and most others.) Although, if you want a lower price, we'd recommend going to RepFitness.com, the Rep Black Bumper Plates on Amazon are a great plate at a great price.

We've used many of the various bumpers and other weight sets on Amazon including rubber bumper plates from X Training EquipmentXMarkCap Barbell, and have done quite a bit of research and talked with users who have used some of the smaller known brands like Day 1 FitnessPapababe, and HulkFit. Of all of these options, the ones we would recommend the most, due to the value are the Rep Black Bumper Plates by Rep Fitness.

Based upon the specs (the durometer rating isn't listed by the way) we would assume these are very similar, if not the same as the Rogue Echo Bumper Plates. They're priced well, ship via Prime Shipping, have a thin profile and are relatively accurate on weight.

One of the biggest reasons we chose Rep Fitness bumper plates over the others on Amazon is due to the company behind them Rep offers a 3-year warranty that is much better than what others recommend, even established players like CAP Barbell.

If you want a budget-friendly set of plates that are available on Amazon, these are what we recommend.

Why We Don't Recommend Hi-Temp and other Crumb Rubber Bumper Plates

Crumb Rubber Bumper Plates
Hi-Temp Bumper Plates
starstarstarstarstar_half(6)
Manufactured for more than a decade at the Hi-Temp plant in Tuscumbia, Alabama, Hi-Temp Bumper Plates remain among the few American-made weightlifting plates on the market. By no coincidence, they also rank among the very best—vouched for by trainers, gym owners, and competitive lifters, alike. Finding a much needed alternative to the damaging clang of old-school iron plates and the weak construction of some imported bumpers, Hi-Temps are built from a nearly indestructible marriage of recycled vulcanized rubber and a 2" stainless steel insert. As with most crumb rubber plates, this manufacturing process can sometimes create minor aesthetic imperfections, but quality plates should be all about performance, not winning beauty pageants. As another key design component, the collar on Hi-Temp bumpers is inset from the plane of the plate, allowing for better protection when multiple plates are on the bar, and reducing the risk of inserts getting impacted or popping out. Hi-Temp Bumpers measure 445MM in diameter and are guaranteed within +/- 0.5LB of the claimed weight. Using the column on the right, you can order your plates in simple pairs (10LB, 15LB, 25LB, 35LB, or 45LB) or in one of our full set options, ranging from 160LB in combined weight to 1,000LB.SPECIFICATIONSMade in the USA from Crumb Rubber (Recycled Vulcanized Rubber)Diameter:445MMPlate Widths: See Gear Specs AboveDurometer: 75Weight Tolerance: +/- 0.5LB2” Stainless Steel InsertInset Collar Design to reduce frictionColor: Black w/ Rogue and Hi-Temp logos1 Year Warranty after purchase

Hi-Temp Bumper Plates are some of the most popular (or used to be at least) bumper plates on the market. They're especially popular among CrossFit Boxes and high-traffic functional focused commercial gyms. The reason we don't recommend them is not that they're not that great, but because their steel insert ring often falls out due to the molding process, they're the widest plates on available which means you can't fit a lot of weight on the bar, and they're more expensive than many of the other options.

If you're running a high-traffic CrossFit Affiliate, I could see use cases for Hi-Temps, however, there are simply too many other options now available that have a lower bounce, standard diameter, and a better value.

If you do want Hi-Temps though, Rogue sells them for the best price here.

The Top 5 Bumper Plates For Most People

Just want our straight forward answer for which are the top 5 bumper plates that we recommend for most people?

Here they are:

  1. FringeSport Bumper Plates
  2. Vulcan Alpha Bumper Plates V2.0
  3. Rogue Echo Bumper Plates
  4. Titan Elite Olympic Black Bumper Plates
  5. Rep Black Bumper Plates

What to Look Forward To

We've seen some interesting new bumper plate designs leaked recently. One in particular that we posted on our Instagram are these new plates from Rogue that feature holes throughout:

We're guessing they're designed to make less noise and have a more dead bounce. We'll see how that works out in real life.

The Competition

It would be impossible to include every bumper plate on the market in our recommendations and still make them easily accessible. For this reason, we include reasons why other plates didn't make our top rankings below:

Hi-Temp Bumper Plates - see here for more info.

Hi-Temp Competition Training Plates - Decent plates, but no 55's, they chip easily, and don't have great reviews.

Rogue Fleck Plates - Very similar to our Runner-Up the Vulcan Alpha Bumpers V2.0. I haven't been able to use them or see reviews yet, so I will withhold complete comparison. That said, these are cheaper and thinner than Vulcans, although Vulcan offers a longer warranty.

Rogue Training 2.0 Plates - We have multiple sets of these in both black and color. They were the same plates that Pendlay/MDUSA used to sell. After using them for a few years, I can confirm that they're an okay plate, but there are many more we'd suggest above them today.

Rogue Dumbbell Bumpers - We have reviewed these in-depth here. They're cool, but certainly not a full replacement for real bumper plates.

Onnit Captain America Shield Bumper Plates - Cool looking novelty plates, but they are now sold out everywhere.

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates - We actually really like these plates and have reviewed them in-depth here. They're a good value competition plate and have been very durable in our gym. However, they fit a weird price gap. If you want colored plates they're a great option, however.

FringeSport Competition Bumper Plates - These are the exact same as Rep's at a similar price point. On sales, FringeSport's can be had for less.

FringeSport Savage Bumper Plates - Awesome looking plates. Probably one of our favorite designs, however, we know not everyone would love them so we recommended the same plate in a more simple style as our top pick.

FringeSport Black & Color Bumper Plates - Same as the Contrast plates that we've recommended in different styles and price points. Choose your favorites.

XMark Hi-Impact Bumper Plates - Good bumper plates for the price with a good 3-year warranty. However, they are a bit more expensive than some of the other offerings, although we'd recommend them to PRIME Shipping lovers.

XMark Go Green Crumb Rubber Bumper Plates - Decent crumb rubber bumpers that are imported and have a nasty odor. If you're going to get recycled car tire crumb rubber bumpers, just go with Hi-Temp.

X Training Equipment Premium Color Bumper Plates - These are highly reviewed on Amazon, however, the colors are completely off. For instance, 45 LB plates are red instead of blue. If this were fixed, for the price, these are actually a decent value.

HulkFit Color Coded Rubber Bumper Plates - These are high-density rubber colored plates with a unique hub. They're priced pretty well, but their colors are completely off and we question their long term durability due to the unique hub design. They also have been known to crack:

Vulcan Absolute Competition Bumper Plates - Haven't seen enough reviews or held them ourselves so can't currently rank. They do have a great, 5-year warranty though.

DHS Competition Bumpers - Great bumpers at a high price. Would like to see more reviews or spend more time with them than we have.

Synergee Bumper Plates - Pretty pricey compared to the competition for a similar plate. They also come with no known warranty.

Uesaka Competition Bumpers - These are some of the most well-liked bumpers among Olympic Level Weightlifters that we've talked to. Unfortunately, we haven't been able to do anything other than see pictures online with them. Eventually, we'll use them and update our rankings. Until then, we'll admire from a far.

Uesaka Pro Series Training Bumpers - Haven't had enough use or heard enough reviews from others to give a recommendation.

Eleiko IWF Weightlifting Competition Discs - A more calibrated version of the Training Discs. Not worth the price for anyone but a meet director in comparison.

Eleiko Sport Training Discs - Great option for those that want Eleiko on a very big, but still a budget type of budget. If you're going to spend this much though, you might as well buy their IWF plates.

Eleiko XF Bumpers - Great bumper plates for those in Europe. A bit too expensive for most in the US, however, they do have great sound suppression although they are a bit thick. They now offer these in pounds as well as kilos.

American Barbell Color Urethane Pro Series Plates - I'm a big fan of these plates, in fact, they're some of the favorites that I own. However, despite how much I like them, when comparing them to others such as the Titan Urethane Plates, they're simply too much more costly to recommend above the others. I do think they're a better plate than Titan's and they have a better warranty, so if you want Urethane, and don't mind dropping some change, these are a great option. We've written a full review on these plates here.

American Barbell Sport Bumper Plates - These are a high-quality standard bumper plate available in black, color, KG, and LB variations. These almost took the top spot, however, there is no listed Shore A Durometer Rating or warranty information so we're unsure of the quality of the plates. The pricing is actually really great especially when you consider Free Shipping. If you want just plain black bumper plates, these are pretty great.

Titan Olympic Rubber Bumper Plates - We have not personally tested these, however, we've heard enough bad press from our readers that they have an awful smell, are prone to warping as well as they often have their steel insert fall out. They're cheap in price, but likely for a reason.

Werksan LionFit Bumper Plates - Great, high-end competition bumpers, however, I believe they have closed their US operations.

PRx Color Elite Bumper Plates - Appear to be similar to the older Pendlay type plates, however at the price point, they're a bit much for the quality.

Further reading

The Best Budget Home Gym Equipment for 2019 Cover Image

The Best Budget Home Gym Equipment for 2019

Just about everyone loves the idea of walking out of your garage door or into your basement or even into a bedroom and having a place where you can hone your physical and mental abilities. Unfortunately, many people have the idea that a home gym or garage gym has to be expensive; we’re here to crush that notion. Here is the best home gym equipment for those on a budget so you can start training at home on your time without breaking the bank. Read More

The Best Powerlifting Barbell for 2019 Cover Image

The Best Powerlifting Barbell for 2019

After researching over 50 power bars and legitimately testing 11 of them, we've determined that the Rogue Ohio Power Bar is the best power bar for most people. Considering price, tensile strength, warranty, performance, knurling, availability, general consensus, and durability, the Rogue Ohio Power Bar offers the best quality for the price of any powerlifting barbell currently on the market. Read More

The Best Gymnastic Grips for CrossFit for 2019 Cover Image

The Best Gymnastic Grips for CrossFit for 2019

After researching nearly 25 Gymnastic Grips and legitimately testing 8 of them over the course of 35 workouts, we've determined that the best Gymnastic Grips for CrossFit currently available are the Leather 3-Finger Gymnastic Grips by Victory Grips. Read More

The Best Air Bike for 2019 Cover Image

The Best Air Bike for 2019

After researching 15 air bikes, using 8 of them, and legitimately testing 6 of them, we've determined that the Rogue Echo Bike has dethroned the previous victor, the Schwinn Airdyne Pro as the best air bike for most people. Factoring in price, warranty, performance, durability, and ease of use, the Rogue Echo Bike offers the best performance and least amount of maintenance among all its competitors including the ever-popular Assault Bike. Read More