reorder Garage Gym Built Logo
home

Home

rate_review

Reviews

view_list

Builds

person

Log In

Garage Gym Reviews

Our mission is to inform, inspire, and connect the Garage Gym Community. We want you to get the most of your money, time and performance.

We provide in-depth and honest reviews on everything fitness related.

fitness_center
Start Garage Gym Build
list
View Latest Reviews
build
See User Builds
message
Ask GGR
New + Update Review Featured Image

The Best Trap Bars for 2020 [Buying Guide]

After researching and using nearly 30 trap bars, we've determined that there is still much to be desired in a trap bar we'd recommend for most people. Despite this, currently for 2019, our Top Pick for the best trap/hex bar is the Rogue TB-1 Trap Bar. It offers the best value among the trap bars currently on the market, although there's still much room for improvement. This said, many would be just fine choosing one of our more budget-friendly recommendations.

Products Tested in Our Community

Our community provides unbiased reviews on thousands of pieces of fitness equipment.

Barbells Image

Barbells

297 Rated

Squat Racks Image

Squat Racks

240 Rated

Bumper Plates Image

Bumper Plates

58 Rated

Pull-Up Bars Image

Pull-Up Bars

27 Rated

Conditioning Equipment Image

Conditioning Equipment

304 Rated

Fitness Technology Image

Fitness Technology

117 Rated

Recovery Tools Image

Recovery Tools

47 Rated

Shoes Image

Shoes

53 Rated

Kettlebells Image

Kettlebells

40 Rated

Dumbbells Image

Dumbbells

26 Rated

Join The Community

Build your virtual garage gym and we'll provide real-time pricing from nearly every fitness retailer on the internet. Once assembled, you can share your equipment list with others, upload pictures to get feedback from the community and rate and review based on your experiences.

01

browse
equipment

Garage Gym Reviews provides 1000's of pieces of fitness products, reviews, and pricing suggestions for the community.

Browse Equipment

02

build & share
your garage gym

Build your equipment list with Garage Gym Reviews based upon our reviews and community ratings. Once built, you can share it with community for feedback and ideas.

Build Your Garage Gym

03

review & discuss
equipment

Review equipment, ask questions on compatibility, share DIY instructions, and help others experience the freedom of working out at home

Review Equipment

Latest Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

REP Fitness AB-5200 Adjustable Bench In-Depth Review - Best Value Incline Bench?

by Coop | updated 3 days ago

The REP AB-5200 FI Adjustable Bench is one of the best incline benches we've ever reviewed. Not only is it feature-packed with a laser-cut ladder style system, grippy vinyl, and a stand-up feature, but it offers all of this in at an excellent price point compared to the competition. It is a big, heavy bench and is still pretty more expensive than some prefer, but for those that want a high-end adjustable bench at a price most can swallow, this is an excellent option for your home gym.

Kabuki Strength New Generation Power Bar Review (Plus 2-Year Update) Image

Kabuki Strength New Generation Power Bar Review (Plus 2-Year Update)

by Coop | updated 2 months ago

The Kabuki Strength New Generation Power Bar is the best power bar we've tested to date. Everything from the knurling to the tensile strength of the steel is superior to other power bars we've reviewed including our previous favorite, the Rogue Ohio Power Bar. If you're looking for the best bar for powerlifting specific training and are willing to spend money to get it, this is the bar we recommend.

 Exxentric kBox4 Flywheel Training Review Image

Exxentric kBox4 Flywheel Training Review

by Coop | updated 11 months ago

The kBox4 from Exxentric is a revolutionary piece of training equipment that is unlike anything we've tested before. Not only is the flywheel system employed by the kBox4 effective, but the build quality and precision of the machine is unparalleled.

Flex Wheeler's Back Widow Attachment Review - Worth the Cost? Image

Flex Wheeler's Back Widow Attachment Review - Worth the Cost?

by Coop | updated 16 days ago

Flex Wheeler's Back Widow is one of the most versatile cable machine attachments ever created. It's great as a "back blaster" for lat pulldowns and rows, but works just as well for curls and tricep work. In addition to that, it doubles as a deadlift jack and also works as a landmine. Honestly, unless you're conscious of all it does, you'll forget just how often you can use it. It is expensive and we do recommend it, but only to those that will use it's various capabilities and don't want to take up space with a ton of different attachments.

Best-in-Class Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

The Best Squat Racks for 2020 [Buying Guide]

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

The squat rack is the centerpiece of just about every home and garage gym in the world. As such, it should be versatile, durable, useful, and fit the space it will be used in.Based upon our use, experience, and community input, we've compiled the best power rack, half rack, squat stand, and fold-away squat rack for most people—including recommendations for various budgets.Here are our picks for each category for 2019.

The Best Olympic Barbell for 2020 Image

The Best Olympic Barbell for 2020

by coop | updated 18 days ago

After researching nearly 72 barbells, using over half of them, and legitimately testing 18 of the most popular options, we've determined that The Rogue Bar 2.0 from Rogue Fitness is the best Olympic Barbell for most people. Factoring in price, warranty, performance, and availability, The Rogue Bar 2.0 offers the best value and is the generally agreed upon option for those seeking a quality barbell that can be used for nearly every training application.

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020 Image

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

After wearing and testing nearly every current shoe designed for general training and CrossFit type workouts, we've determined that the best training shoes for 2017 are the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves. Although this is a fierce debate and our runner-up could easily hold the top spot depending on preferences, we find that overall, the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves are the best shoes for training.

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020 Image

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

After researching over 70 bumper plates, using 32 of them, we've determined that the best bumper plates for most people are the FringeSport Bumper Plates. The best competition bumper plates for most people are the Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates. Taking into consideration rubber used, durability, noise, appearance, price, warranty, and availability, these bumper plates will work well for any home gym, commercial gym, or CrossFit Affiliate.

Guide Articles   View All

Biggest Home Gym Mistakes Image

Biggest Home Gym Mistakes

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

Building a home gym can be an enjoyable and rewarding experience; it can also quickly become one of the most frustrating and expensive endeavors you take on. There’s no right or wrong way to build your own home gym, many of the decisions and processes you pick come down to personal preference, however with this quick guide, you can ensure it goes as smoothly as possible.

Building a Budget Home Gym from Titan Fitness Image

Building a Budget Home Gym from Titan Fitness

by Coop | updated 6 months ago

Titan Fitness is known for making budget-friendly home gym equipment. However, wading through the vast amount of equipment they sell and determining which is worth buying and which isn't can be difficult. We've used, arguably, more gear from Titan Fitness than anyone in the world (other than employees of the company) and are taking our experience as well as others to provide recommendations on the best equipment available from Titan.

101+ Benefits of a Home Gym Image

101+ Benefits of a Home Gym

by Coop | updated 5 months ago

Over the years, we've compiled some of the greatest benefits to having a home gym from our readers and others in the community. Here are over 100 benefits of having a home gym. If these don't make you want to build one, we have no idea what will.

Do-It-Yourself Equipment   View All

Feature Article Image

DIY Squat Rack Guide

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Squat Rack is the centerpiece for just about every home gym in the world. However, some people don't have the money or desire to buy a pre-made option. This is where the DIY Squat Rack comes in...

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack Image

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Having a home gym is one of the best parts of adulthood. But, something that can be even more fun is being able to workout outside. In steps the DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack. Enjoy this weekend project.

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica Image

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Crossover Symmetry is a program designed to strengthen the shoulder girdle leading to fewer injuries and an increase in lifts. This is how you can make your own DIY version.

DIY Belt Squat Machine Image

DIY Belt Squat Machine

by Coop | updated 9 months ago

The Belt Squat Machine is one of the most coveted pieces of gym equipment available today. Although there are many options, including those made by Westside Barbell, Pit Shark, Matt Wenning, and others, they're all pretty pricey. This DIY Belt Squat Machine requires no special skills and costs well under any other available options.

Newly Released Products   View All

Feature Article Image

Nike Metcon 5 Shoes Leaked (PLUS Mat Fraser's Edition)

by Coop | updated 7 months ago

The long-awaited Nike Metcon 5 Shoes have been leaked, and along with them, a new collaboration between 3-Time CrossFit Games Champion Mat Fraser and Nike. These are one of the most popular CrossFit shoes and this colorway is sure to be a hit.

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench Image

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench

by Coop | updated 3 days ago

Rep Fitness has just released their new Competition FB-5000 Flat Bench after seeing the success of their other benches as well as the Rogue Thompson Fat Pad. At a value price point, the FB-50000 Competition Flat Bench is sure to be a great option for those looking for great alternative to the Rogue Monster Utility Bench.

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released! Image

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released!

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

FringeSport is producing some of the best value bumper plates available. With the Contrast Bumper Plates being released, you can now have their popular bumpers with a way to easily identify the weight.

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series  Image

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series

by Coop | updated 8 months ago

The Rep PR-4000 Power Rack is Rep Fitness's answer to the ever-popular Rogue Monster Lite. Combining high strength steel, unique colors, and a ton of accessories, the Rep PR-4000 should prove to be a beast of a rack at a price that is quite a bit cheaper than Rogue offerings.

Garage Gym Reviews
ON

Stay Strong, Live Long
© Garage Gym Reviews All Rights Reserved