Garage Gym Reviews

Our mission is to inform, inspire, and connect the Garage Gym Community. We want you to get the most of your money, time and performance.

We provide in-depth and honest reviews on everything fitness related.

list
View Latest Reviews
message
Ask GGR

New + Updated Reviews

New + Update Review Featured Image

The 10 Best Budget Home Gym Setups I've Ever Seen

When building a home gym on a budget, determining what equipment to buy and where to put things can be difficult. So, to give you some inspiration, here are the 10 best budget home gym setups we've encountered.

Products Tested in Our Community

Our community provides unbiased reviews on thousands of pieces of fitness equipment.

Barbells Image

Barbells

302 Rated

Squat Racks Image

Squat Racks

254 Rated

Bumper Plates Image

Bumper Plates

58 Rated

Pull-Up Bars Image

Pull-Up Bars

27 Rated

Conditioning Equipment Image

Conditioning Equipment

307 Rated

Fitness Technology Image

Fitness Technology

117 Rated

Recovery Tools Image

Recovery Tools

48 Rated

Shoes Image

Shoes

53 Rated

Kettlebells Image

Kettlebells

41 Rated

Dumbbells Image

Dumbbells

26 Rated

Join The Community

Build your virtual garage gym and we'll provide real-time pricing from nearly every fitness retailer on the internet. Once assembled, you can share your equipment list with others, upload pictures to get feedback from the community and rate and review based on your experiences.

01

browse
equipment

Garage Gym Reviews provides 1000's of pieces of fitness products, reviews, and pricing suggestions for the community.

Browse Equipment

02

build & share
your garage gym

Build your equipment list with Garage Gym Reviews based upon our reviews and community ratings. Once built, you can share it with community for feedback and ideas.

Updates Coming Soon!

03

review & discuss
equipment

Review equipment, ask questions on compatibility, share DIY instructions, and help others experience the freedom of working out at home

Review Equipment

Latest Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

Rogue Ohio Power Bar Review (Plus 2-Year Update)

by Coop | updated 9 months ago

The Rogue Ohio Power Bar is our pick for the best powerlifting barbell for most people. Rogue has taken this already outstanding bar and exchanged the zinc coated shaft with stainless steel creating a barbell that could only be improved a couple of ways as detailed in our review.

Rep Deep Knurl Power Bar EX Review: The Fully Stainless Barbell Image

Rep Deep Knurl Power Bar EX Review: The Fully Stainless Barbell

by Coop | updated 9 months ago

The Rep Deep Knurl Power Bar EX is the best barbell Rep Fitness has released to date. It's fully stainless, from end cap to end cap, has an incredible knurl similar to more expensive bars, and hits the details in every area. If you want a top-shelf barbell at a pretty fair price, then we don't hesitate in recommending the Power Bar EX.

Rogue Monster Utility Bench 2.0 In-Depth Review Image

Rogue Monster Utility Bench 2.0 In-Depth Review

by Coop | updated 5 months ago

The Rogue Monster Utility Bench 2.0 is the best flat weight bench that Rogue Fitness sells, but not the one we most recommend. We believe this bench is incredibly sturdy, overbuilt, and strong, however, we do believe there are better value options available. We do recommend the Monster Utility Bench 2.0, but only to those with deep pockets and a desire for things that are Made in the USA and top of the line.

Marrs-Bar Safety Squat Bar Review: A Unique Specialty Bar for Squatting Image

Marrs-Bar Safety Squat Bar Review: A Unique Specialty Bar for Squatting

by Coop | updated 1 months ago

The Marrs-Bar is a safety squat bar with a unique camber and harness system that makes it feel different from any other specialty barbell I've ever used. The Marrs-Bar is a very expensive bar, but after using it for back squats, front squats, good mornings, lunges, and other exercise movements, I will say that it's replaced the SSB in my training. I do think it's a bit too expensive to recommend for most people, but, based solely on how it feels and performs, I think it's a fantastic bar.

Best-in-Class Reviews   View All

Featured Article Image

The Best Squat Racks for 2020 [Buying Guide]

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

The squat rack is the centerpiece of just about every home and garage gym in the world. As such, it should be versatile, durable, useful, and fit the space it will be used in.Based upon our use, experience, and community input, we've compiled the best power rack, half rack, squat stand, and fold-away squat rack for most people—including recommendations for various budgets.Here are our picks for each category for 2019.

The Best Olympic Barbells for 2020 Image

The Best Olympic Barbells for 2020

by coop | updated 3 months ago

After researching over 150 barbells and using nearly 85 of them, we've determined that the Rogue Bar 2.0 is the best multi-purpose Olympic Barbell and the Rogue Ohio Power Bar is the best powerlifting bar for most people for 2020. Factoring in price, warranty, performance, and availability, these bars stand out amongst the rest. We'd rather not have the same company hold both of the top spots, but it's hard to argue against the value these bars provide.

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020 Image

The Best CrossFit Shoes for 2020

by Coop | updated 7 months ago

After wearing and testing nearly every current shoe designed for general training and CrossFit type workouts, we've determined that the best training shoes for 2017 are the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves. Although this is a fierce debate and our runner-up could easily hold the top spot depending on preferences, we find that overall, the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves are the best shoes for training.

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020 Image

The Best Bumper Plates for 2020

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

After researching over 70 bumper plates, using 32 of them, we've determined that the best bumper plates for most people are the FringeSport Bumper Plates. The best competition bumper plates for most people are the Rogue Black Training Bumper Plates. Taking into consideration rubber used, durability, noise, appearance, price, warranty, and availability, these bumper plates will work well for any home gym, commercial gym, or CrossFit Affiliate.

Guide Articles   View All

Biggest Home Gym Mistakes Image

Biggest Home Gym Mistakes

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

Building a home gym can be an enjoyable and rewarding experience; it can also quickly become one of the most frustrating and expensive endeavors you take on. There’s no right or wrong way to build your own home gym, many of the decisions and processes you pick come down to personal preference, however with this quick guide, you can ensure it goes as smoothly as possible.

Building a Budget Home Gym from Titan Fitness Image

Building a Budget Home Gym from Titan Fitness

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Titan Fitness is known for making budget-friendly home gym equipment. However, wading through the vast amount of equipment they sell and determining which is worth buying and which isn't can be difficult. We've used, arguably, more gear from Titan Fitness than anyone in the world (other than employees of the company) and are taking our experience as well as others to provide recommendations on the best equipment available from Titan.

101  Home Gym Ideas, Tips, and Tricks Image

101 Home Gym Ideas, Tips, and Tricks

by Coop | updated 2020 years ago

Over the years, we've compiled some of the most helpful home gym ideas as well as tips and tricks for making your gym, whether in your garage, basement, or spare bedroom a productive and enjoyable place to workout. Here are over 100 ideas you can use for your home gym. If these don't make you want to build one, we have no idea what will.

Do-It-Yourself Equipment   View All

Feature Article Image

DIY Squat Rack Guide

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Squat Rack is the centerpiece for just about every home gym in the world. However, some people don't have the money or desire to buy a pre-made option. This is where the DIY Squat Rack comes in...

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack Image

DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Having a home gym is one of the best parts of adulthood. But, something that can be even more fun is being able to workout outside. In steps the DIY Outdoor Weightlifting Platform and Rack. Enjoy this weekend project.

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica Image

DIY Crossover Symmetry System Replica

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

Crossover Symmetry is a program designed to strengthen the shoulder girdle leading to fewer injuries and an increase in lifts. This is how you can make your own DIY version.

DIY Belt Squat Machine Image

DIY Belt Squat Machine

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Belt Squat Machine is one of the most coveted pieces of gym equipment available today. Although there are many options, including those made by Westside Barbell, Pit Shark, Matt Wenning, and others, they're all pretty pricey. This DIY Belt Squat Machine requires no special skills and costs well under any other available options.

Newly Released Products   View All

Feature Article Image

Nike Metcon 5 Shoes Leaked (PLUS Mat Fraser's Edition)

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The long-awaited Nike Metcon 5 Shoes have been leaked, and along with them, a new collaboration between 3-Time CrossFit Games Champion Mat Fraser and Nike. These are one of the most popular CrossFit shoes and this colorway is sure to be a hit.

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench Image

Rep Fitness Releases FB-5000 Competition Flat Bench

by Coop | updated 5 months ago

Rep Fitness has just released their new Competition FB-5000 Flat Bench after seeing the success of their other benches as well as the Rogue Thompson Fat Pad. At a value price point, the FB-50000 Competition Flat Bench is sure to be a great option for those looking for great alternative to the Rogue Monster Utility Bench.

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released! Image

Fringe Sport Contrast Bumper Plates Released!

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

FringeSport is producing some of the best value bumper plates available. With the Contrast Bumper Plates being released, you can now have their popular bumpers with a way to easily identify the weight.

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series  Image

Rep Fitness Releases the Rep PR-4000 to Compete with the Rogue Monster Lite Series

by Coop | updated 1 years ago

The Rep PR-4000 Power Rack is Rep Fitness's answer to the ever-popular Rogue Monster Lite. Combining high strength steel, unique colors, and a ton of accessories, the Rep PR-4000 should prove to be a beast of a rack at a price that is quite a bit cheaper than Rogue offerings.