Articles about: Technology

Echelon Reflect Review 2021: A Workout Mirror With Room for Improvement

Gone are the days when “home gym setup” meant an Olympic barbell and some weight plates occupying a corner of your garage. These days, fitness enthusiasts have full-fledged gyms in their garages, basements, backyards, and even living rooms—and lots of them are brimming with the latest, greatest smart home gym equipment.   In our Echelon Reflect review, I take a close look at one contender in the smart workout mirror category and tell you if it’s worth your money.   » Read more about: Echelon Reflect Review 2021: A Workout Mirror With Room for Improvement  »

Updated December 6, 2021 | by Amanda Capritto

MIRROR Review (2021): A Fun Fitness Studio on Your Wall

The MIRROR is fun and futuristic, but is it a good home gym investment? Our MIRROR review will help you decide.

Updated November 24, 2021 | by Amanda Capritto

Garmin Vivosmart 4 Review 2021: A Tiny but Mighty Fitness Tracker

Everyone and their grandma has a fitness tracker nowadays. That’s probably partially because there are so many types of fitness trackers out there now that come at affordable price points—and some are so simple even your grandparents can operate them. In our Garmin Vivosmart 4 review, you’ll learn that this tiny but mighty activity tracker is one of those: simple but powerful.    Why You Should Trust Us My team and I have tested most of the best fitness trackers available,  » Read more about: Garmin Vivosmart 4 Review 2021: A Tiny but Mighty Fitness Tracker  »

Updated November 24, 2021 | by Coop

Apple Watch Series 6 Review (2021): Heavy on the Price and Technology Features

Yes, I will admit. Sometimes I am one of those people who wears their Apple Watch Series 6 with formal wear and looks like a Spy Kid. Oh, well, sue me. No, actually, Apple, sponsor me! Anyways, I’m going to review the Apple Watch Series 6 and let you know all my thoughts about it. Spoiler alert: I’m a fan. In this Apple Watch Series 6 review, I dig deep into information about the tech features,  » Read more about: Apple Watch Series 6 Review (2021): Heavy on the Price and Technology Features  »

Updated November 17, 2021 | by Coop

Xiaomi Mi Smart Band 6 Review 2021: Budget and Beginner Friendly Fitness Tracker

In this Xiaomi Mi Smart Band 6 review, you’ll hear my thoughts about tracking your workouts, sleep, and the compatible MiFit app. There have been 5 previous editions of the Mi Smart Band, and I’m excited to give you my thoughts on the added functionality and updated features.

Updated November 24, 2021 | by Coop

Whoop Strap 3.0 Review (2021): A Recovery Tool for Serious Athletes

There's something to be said for a small device on your wrist that can tell you if you're getting enough sleep, taking enough vitamins, and avoiding overtraining. Read our full Whoop Strap 3.0 review to learn why we love this device for people who take their training very seriously.

Updated November 24, 2021 | by Coop

Garmin Forerunner 245 Review (2021): A Smartwatch for Runners

The Garmin Forerunner 245 is a cardio junkie’s dream come true. It has built-in GPS, tracks a variety of metrics such as your VO2 Max, and gives tips on your running form. We had several people test this tracker, including an avid runner.As always, I’ll give my honest opinion and all the details with my in-depth Garmin Forerunner 245 review. When testing fitness trackers, I look for things like overall value, activity tracking options, different metrics, and the benefits of the companion app.Our testers used this tracker to run trails, do strength training, cycle, and for daily walks. Using the Forerunner 245 for a variety of activities is important for my assessment process in order to understand where this tracker shines.My Favorite Things:GPS-enabled watchGarmin Coach Training ProgramsShows your current amount of energy dubbed the “body battery”Incident detection and assistance featuresMy Callouts:Wristband might be uncomfortableHas no music storage without upgrading to the Garmin Forerunner 245 music edition1-year limited warranty for an almost $300 tracker

Updated November 24, 2021 | by Coop

Fitbit Inspire 2 Review: A Lot of Bang for Your Buck

For as long as I can remember, Fitbit has been a brand synonymous with fitness trackers. They have continued to put out quality products at a fairly reasonable price for the past few years. The Fitbit Inspire 2 fits the bill for a quality, reasonably priced fitness tracker that has all the basics. The Inspire 2 is an upgrade from the Inspire because of the addition of active zone minutes, swim tracking, and double the battery life.In this Fitbit Inspire 2 review, I’ll break down all the features you’re dying to know about and give you the overall pros and cons of this fitness tracker. I’ll test the compatible app, durability, battery charge, and exercise tracking features to give you a clear picture of the Inspire 2. I pride myself on giving honest, in-depth reviews that help my Garage Gym Review family make the best buying decisions.My Favorite Things:Under $10020+ exercise modesDaily move remindersWater resistant up to 5 ATM/50 metersUp to 10 days of battery lifeMy CalloutsNo built-in GPSNarrow touchscreenLack of altimeterFor more, check out my list of thebest fitness trackers on the market today.

Updated November 19, 2021 | by Coop

Fitbit Charge 4 Review: Wearable, Affordable Fitness Tracking

For under $130, the Fitbit Charge 4 is a reasonably priced fitness tracker that sports a sleek design. With new features like on-board GPS and Spotify control, the Charge 4 is definitely an upgrade from the Charge 3, which was released in 2019. In my opinion, this is the best fitness tracker for most people.In this Fitbit Charge 4 review, I’ll give you the ins and outs on all the features, ease of operation, and if it is worth your money. As with any equipment I review, I put the product to the test to give you all the positives and negatives in order for you to make the best buying decision for you.My Favorite Things:Built-in GPS24/7 heart rate trackingSleep tracking capabilitiesWater resistant up to 5 ATM/50 metersUnder $130My Callouts:Narrow screen at under an inch wideBattery drains quickly with use of GPSGrayscale display

Updated November 19, 2021 | by Coop

FORM Lifting Collar Review

The FORM Lifting Collar is a collar that is a velocity tracker for the major barbell lifts. Through our testing, although we like the idea, it's not as accurate as we'd like to see. If you're an early-adopter then this is a good option, but expect issues.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

GymNext Flex Timer Review: Bluetooth Controlled Gym Timer

The GymNext Flex Timeris a gym timer controlled by your phone via Bluetooth. We found that we preferred using our phone instead of the remote we often lost and liked the ease of programming via the app. If you're wanting a gym timer for your Garage Gym or Commercial Gym, this is a great option.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

Beast Sensor Review: Strength Training Wearable Device

The Beast Sensor is a complicated and advanced accelerometer built into a module that can be attached to a provided wristband, or if so inclined can be magnetically attached to say a weight stack in a lat pull down or a barbell. In our opinion, the accuracy still needs some work, but it has potential.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Nexus Performance Tracker Review

Nexusis a revolutionary new technology that allows for (nearly) complete tracking of performance during CrossFit workouts. Utilizing the Push Band 2.0 with a new app designed specifically for CrossFit, this could be revolutionary for both CrossFit Competitions and training.

Updated November 19, 2021 | by Coop

Fitbit Ionic In-Depth Review

The Fitbit Ionic is one of the best activity tracking smart watches available on the market today. With Fitbit's encouragement to accomplish fitness goals, an exercise tracker to understand just how fit you are, and multiple day battery life, the Fitbit Ionic should not go overlooked when looking for an activity tracking smart watch.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop