Articles about: Conditioning

5 Best Manual Treadmills in 2021

I’ve hand picked 5 of the best manual treadmills on the market. Read why I think these could be worth adding to your home gym.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Tru Grit Runner Review 2021: The Cheapest Curved Treadmill You Can Buy

This is the cheapest non-motorized treadmill on the market, but is it any good? Find out in our Tru Grit Runner review.

Updated September 14, 2021 | by Coop

Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Elliptical Review 2021: No Frills and Beginner-Friendly

Check out this Sunny Health & Fitness Magnetic Elliptical review to find out why you should consider this cardio machine if you’re looking for a beginner friendly budget option.

Updated September 13, 2021 | by Coop

NordicTrack Commercial 14.9 Review (2021): iFit Programming on a Solidly Constructed Elliptical

In this NordicTrack Commercial 14.9 elliptical review, I’ll let you know how this piece stacks up to the competition and if I think it is worth the almost $2,000 price tag.

Updated August 31, 2021 | by Coop

AssaultRunner Elite Review (2021): Expensive Manual Treadmill

What can I say? I’m a simple man. When I see a new non-motorized treadmill come out, I want to test it. I previously tested and enjoyed the AssaultRunner Pro and was intrigued by the concept of the AssaultRunner Elite – the supposedly upgraded version.In this AssaultRunner Elite review, expect to see my honest opinion on the warranty, assembly, usage, and if I think it is worth the extra cash over the Pro. There are a lot of options on the market and it can be overwhelming knowing what to choose. I aim to make the buying process easier by giving you honest feedback you can trust.Why You Should Trust Us I’ve tried an insane amount of home gym equipment including my fair share of non-motorized treadmills including theReactive Runner Manual Curved Treadmill,HiTrainer ATP+ Treadmill, theTrueForm Trainer, and theTrueForm Runner. I’m always looking for the best of the best in fitness equipment and want to share my extensive product knowledge with you.

Updated September 15, 2021 | by Coop

Bowflex M6 Review (2021): A Compact, Highly Effective Elliptical

Typically, when you think about an elliptical workout, you picture long strides on a huge machine. People who opt for elliptical training are often looking for a low-impact cardio experience that protects their joints but still leaves them breathless. Bowflex has done that with the Max Trainer M6.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Hyperwear Sandbell PRO Review: In-Depth Review (2021)

After testing dozens of sandbags from top brands includingRogue,REP Fitness,Onnit,Brute Force, and more, I’ve come to realize what makes a good sandbag and what, quite frankly, makes for a lousy one. Once I got my hands on the Hyperwear Sandbell PRO, I realized what I was holding wasn’t like any other sandbag I’d used before.RELATED: Read My Hyperwear Hyper Vest Elite Weighted Vest ReviewWhy You Should Trust Us I spent a lot of time with the Hyperwear Sandbell PRO. I chucked it, slammed it, dropped it, dragged it, and did essentially anything you could think to do with a sandbag. I used it for squats, deadlifts, presses, crawls, throws, lunges, and more. Between my use of the product and my expertise in fitness equipment manufacturing and textiles, I can make a solid recommendation for who should buy the Hyperwear Sandbell PRO and who should choose a different product.

Updated July 20, 2021 | by Coop

GORUCK Sandbags Review: Train for Life (2021)

Like plenty of fitness enthusiasts, I’m all about training for life. I’m not a professional athlete (I know many of you are shocked by that revelation) and I’m not training for a marathon or Ironman. I want to train in a way that will be useful in real life applications (such as when I fell through my attic and caught myself in a dip).The GORUCK Sandbag hits the nail on the head for a product that makes me feel like I’m functionally training for life. Sandbags make a great addition to home gyms, and the GORUCK bags in particular are very durable and extremely high quality.In this GORUCK Sandbag review, I’ll let you know my thoughts on the ordering process, the aesthetics, and everything in between. At Garage Gym Reviews, I care about giving honest, in-depth reviews on products you want to learn more about.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Bowflex VeloCore Review: Innovative Leaning Bike 2021

About a month ago, I was watching TV and an advertisement for the new Bowflex VeloCore popped on screen. I was fascinated to see a bike trying to compete with Peloton but with an added layer of intrigue: it can lean while you’re riding. Right away, I knew I had to order it and try it out for all you fine folks in the Garage Gym Review community.I love the core engagement you get when using the lean mode on this bike. It’s such a unique and fun feature that separates the VeloCore from other exercise bikes for a home gym. In this Bowflex VeloCore review, you can expect to see my opinion on what really matters – durability, overall value, and the leaning feature. I put this bike through my standardized tests to help you decide if this is worth your money.

Updated July 9, 2021 | by Coop

ProForm Pro 9000 Treadmill In-Depth Review

Finding the best treadmill for your home gym can be tough. If you have limited space, the search becomes even more difficult, especially if you want a commercial-grade treadmill without all of the bulk. Enter: The ProForm Pro 9000 treadmill, a commercial-home-hybrid treadmill that doesn’t skimp on power. It even folds to create more floor space when you’re not using it.After testing more than a dozen treadmills from true commercial treadmills to budget treadmills, I’ve determined that the ProForm Pro 9000 is one of the top treadmills to get if you need one of the best cardio machines that stores with a relatively small footprint.My Favorite Things:22-inch HD display and quality graphicsBuilt-in workouts and handsfree incline/speed adjustmentsFoldable for easy storageMy Callouts:WiFi connectivity is mediocre at bestCustomer reviews complain of tech problemsQuality control seems inconsistent

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

NordicTrack S22i Review: An Advanced Indoor Cycle Bike

Since 1974, NordicTrack has created innovative exercise equipment for the home gym crowd. The NordicTrack Commercial S22i Studio Cycle is one of the most technologically-advanced bikes that the company has put out. In the past year, the S22i has received a facelift to include faster Wi-Fi connectivity, improved HD graphics, and enhanced automatic trainer control.The S22i impresses with expansive interactive programing, adjustability, and an inertia-enhanced flywheel to create a smooth riding, quality exercise bike. The NordicTrack S15i, the brand’s other indoor cycle bike in this line, has similar features to the S22i but has a smaller screen and fewer resistance levels.When I test exercise bikes, I consider the footprint, assembly, durability, and overall workout experience. In this NordicTrack S22i review, I’ll give you all the information on what I liked and what you should know if you’re considering buying it.My Favorite Things22” rotating HD touchscreenFree year membership to iFit24 digital resistance levelsOffers incline and decline trainingMy CalloutsNot easy to move solo (203 pounds and bulky)Pricey at around $2,000Time-consuming assembly with many partsPaid subscription required to use iFit

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Schwinn IC4 Review: A Quality Indoor Cycle Bike

In recent years, Peloton has made waves for its interactive programming and very expensive bike. At half the cost, the Schwinn IC4 Indoor Cycling Bike offers an alternative for those wanting app connectivity, durability, and a great value. Similar to some of the best rowing machines or best treadmills, I believe this piece of equipment could be a solid cardio addition to your home or garage gym.If you know me, you know that I already believe the Schwinn Airdyne Pro is the best air bike around. I’m glad to see they have released the Schwinn IC4, which is an upgrade from the brand’s first iteration, the IC3 bike. With the IC4, you get magnetic resistance instead of the friction pads of the IC3 and technology to connect with apps like Peloton and Zwift.I started Garage Gym Reviews to give people my honest opinion and the facts they need to find thebest home exercise equipment. I personally test each piece of equipment and take into account the footprint, durability, adjustability, and overall workout experience. In this Schwinn IC4 review, I’ll give you the lowdown on app connectivity, assembly, and how this bike rode for me.My Favorite Things:Under $1,000106 pounds and easy to moveCompatible with both Peloton and Zwift appsSmooth and quiet ride100 micro-adjustable resistance levelsIncluded device/tablet holderMy Callouts:Lack of built-in workoutsMetrics may differ between connected apps and LCD screenParts not clearly labeled for assembly

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Echelon Stride Review

Released in 2020, the Echelon Stride is one of the newest interactive running machines on the market. There are a few reasons that it made my list of thebest treadmills, namely because of its foldability and portability. I like its compact size for people in tight spaces, and I also like that although imperfect, it at least makes an attempt at imitating higher-end treadmills through its connectivity with an interactive app.I conducted an in-depth Echelon Stride review to look at the way the Stride performs, its key features as well as some important things you need to know before you buy.My Favorite Things:Incredibly easy to assemble (just a few short steps)Compact size is great for small spacesVery easy to usePriced under $1,500Uses Echelon United for programmingMy Callouts: Basic console – you need your own tablet or device to stream the appSuper short one-year warrantySmall treadmill means a small running deckWeaker motor at just 1.75 chp

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Titan Fan Bike Review: A Budget-Friendly and Feature Filled Air Bike

The Titan Fan Bikeis the most complete piece of cardio equipment Titan Fitness has released to date. To be frank, it’s essentially a tricked-out Assault Air Bike. Nearly every part of it from the color to the monitor reminds me of the ever-popular Assault Air Bike even down to the less than desirable chain drive. It also borrows elements from the Rogue Echo Bike. Although I prefer the Echo Bike, the Titan Fan Bike is one of the best options we’ve tested for budget home gym owners.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

TrueForm Trainer Treadmill Review: Budget-Friendly Curved Treadmill

The TrueForm Trainer Treadmillis a more budget-friendly version of the ever-popular TrueForm Runner non-motorized treadmill. After using the Trainer for a few months for sprints and long-distance runs while comparing it side by side to others on the market, I believe it’s a better choice for most home gym owners over the Runner due to its superior price point, yet similar design. However, The Trainer is not the bomb-proof construction that TrueForm is known for, hence the lower price.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Torque TANK M1 Push Sled Review: The Ultimate Home Gym Sled

The Torque Fitness TANK M1 Push Sledis a weight sled that uses magnetic resistance instead of weight plates and friction. It’s designed specifically for home gyms and after using it for a few weeks and comparing it to other sleds on the market we’ve reviewed, we highly recommend the M1 if you can afford it. It’s extremely well designed and built, provides an outstanding conditioning workout, and takes up little space. We are big fans of the TANK M1.

Updated October 21, 2020 | by Coop

EnergyFit SKI-ROW Review: Concept 2 Alternative That Misses The Mark

The EnergyFit SKI-ROW is a combination of both a rowing and skiing machine in one (semi) compact unit. The biggest consideration should be how it compares to the Concept 2 Model D Rower and Concept 2 SkiErg and after comparing the two, Concept 2’s machines are vastly superior. Although we like the novel idea of the SKI-ROW, we do think there are some issues that need to be addressed before we can fully recommend it.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

PureTorque Ab Trainer Review: The Best Core Training Device I’ve Used

PureTorque is an abdominal training device that when hooked up to a cable machine or band can, in my opinion, provide one of the most effective trunk/core training workouts available. It is rather pricey and the movement can be somewhat replicated with an exercise ball, but, if you can afford it, it's an extremely functional piece of training equipment that has become a staple in my training.

Updated June 4, 2020 | by Coop

ChopFit Chopper In-Depth Review

The ChopFit Chopper is an iron club of sorts that has been fashioned into the shape of a hatchet. It's a cool looking, Instagram-worthy piece of workout equipment that also comes with an app. Although we think it's too light and there are better ways to spend money on fitness equipment, if you're looking at following a simple, HIIT-based workout program, this could be an engaging option.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue Echo Bike vs. Assault Air Bike: The Superior Home Gym Air Bike

The Rogue Echo Bike and Assault Air Bike are two of the most popular air bikes on the market today. We've used both extensively in our home gym and commercial gym over the past three years. Although either is a good choice over the older style air bikes, the Rogue Echo Bike and its belt-driven system is our recommended choice for most home gym owners.

Updated May 12, 2020 | by Coop

Inertia Wave In-Depth Review: The Battle Ropes Alternative

Inertia Wave is designed as a lighter, more portable battle ropes alternative. We've tested and reviewed a pair over the past three months both in house and by others and although we initially were extremely skeptical, we do think it's a great replacement for the ever-popular and overly-bulky battle ropes. If you're low on space, enjoy portability, and want a great conditioning tool, the Inertia Wave is a serious option to consider.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Concept 2 Model D Rower In-Depth Review

The Concept 2 Model D Rower is far and away the best rowing machinewe've ever reviewed. In fact, it's one of the best pieces of fitness equipment we've ever used. This is also pretty much a unanimous opinion by anyone who's used a Concept 2 product. Yes, the Model D is an expensive piece of cardio equipment at nearly $1,000 shipped, but with the combination of an outstanding workout, extreme durability, and very high resale value if you decide to sell it, this is as safe of a recommendation for us to make as we ever have.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

XPO Trainer Sled 2.0 Review: Best Home Gym Weight Sled?

The XPO Trainer Sled is quite possibly the best weight sled for most home gym owners. Thanks to its magnetic resistance, it makes much less noise than a traditional sled, which, therefore makes much fewer complaints from neighbors. The XPO Trainer Sled 2.0 builds upon the previous version with minor improvements that make it an even easier recommendation.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

BAMF Hammer Review: Thor’s Hammer for Fitness

The BAMF Hammer is a great option for anybody looking to add some variety to the routine by increasing overall strength and flexibility. Being hand-made in the U.S. the hammer will humble all who dare to pick it up. It also looks really cool and can make anyone feel like Thor.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Rep Fitness 3-in-1 Soft Plyo Box Review: Best Value Safe Plyo-Box

The Rep Fitness 3-in-1 Soft Plyo Boxis a wooden-framed plyo box that is wrapped in foam and then secured with a vinyl cover. There are a plethora of plyo-boxes available today including foam, wood, resin, and others. This is by far the best value plyo-box available for a safe plyo-box that doesn't break the bank. We highly recommend this plyo-box to anyone in the market, garage gym owner or commercial gym owner.

Updated May 3, 2019 | by Coop

Rogue Resin Plyo Box Review: Durable, Safe, and Reasonably Priced Plyo Box

The Rogue Resin Plyo Boxis a new take on traditional stackable plyo boxes from Rogue Fitness that utilizes 100% Post-Consumer Recycled Plastic (think water bottles, plastic bags, yogurt cups, etc) that is compression-molded and made into boxes to jump on. In our testing, we observed that the Resin Plyo Boxes are stable, grippy, and, most importantly, don’t leave lifetime scars on your shins when a jump is missed.

Updated April 9, 2019 | by Coop

CrossRope Jump Rope Review

The CrossRope Jump Ropes are the best option for weighted jump ropes currently available. After testing all of the various cable weights and handles in various workouts from double unders to speed skips, we are confident in recommending these ropes.

Updated February 28, 2019 | by Coop

MostFit Core Hammer and SYN Rings Review

The MostFit Core Hammer is one of the most fun training tools we've used for some time. It's not only fun but also effective as well. The SYN Rings are a unique idea for adding instability training into your programming. However, there are some shortcomings we address in our Suggest Improvements section.

Updated February 28, 2019 | by Coop

Bowflex HVT In-Depth Review

The Bowflex HVT is the best machine from Bowflex we have ever used. After putting it through multiple workouts including ones designed for cardio, strength training, as well as both, we can confidently recommend the HVT to users wanting a versatile piece of equipment that takes up little space.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Revolution Balance Boards Review

Revolution Balance Boardsis currently making the best value balance boards on the market. They offer a wide-range of different board styles focused on different audiences. The Revolution FIT Balance Board is one we received for review. After a month of various usage, we can confidently recommend Revolution Balance Boards for anyone looking to improve their balance in a fun way.

Updated February 28, 2019 | by Coop

Onnit Steel Clubs In-Depth Review

Indian Clubs have been around for hundreds of years. Onnit has taken the idea of Indian clubs and made them steel instead of wood, creating the Onnit Steel Clubs. With its extremely durable single piece steel construction and great price point, Onnit Steel Clubs would be a great addition to any home or commercial gym.

Updated February 28, 2019 | by Coop

Acme Sledgeworks Triad In-Depth Review

The Triads from Acme Sledgeworksare a triangle-shaped "dumbbell" that can be used in a similar fashion as dumbbells and kettlebells with some unique advantages. We love the use of unconventional equipment to increase engagement and interest and training and the Triads hit the nail on the head in this area.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Run Rocket Sprint Resistance Trainer In-Depth Review

The Run Rocket is a Sprint Resistance Trainer that allows you to add resistance to forward movement such as sprints, sled drags, broad jumps, and more. After using and testing the Run Rocket over 60 days with athletes of all levels, we can confidently say the Run Rocket is effective at increasing sprint speed, jump height, and more. We give a high recommendation.

Updated February 26, 2019 | by Coop

Torque Fitness TANK Sled In-Depth Review

The TANK Sled from Torque Fitness is the best all surface sled on the market today. Featuring magnetic resistance, heavy duty wheels, and an overbuilt body, there is no sled that can compare to the TANK. There are some things we'd like to see improved including a lower price, but we can confidently recommend the TANK to home gym owners, but especially strength coaches and commercial gym owners.

Updated February 5, 2019 | by Coop

Immortal Combat Equipment War Wagon In-Depth Review

The War Wagon from Immortal Combat Equipmentis a new option to maximize grip strength as well as increasing overall strength endurance. The War Wagon is a versatile and extremely durable piece of equipment that is a great option for anyone looking to increase their GPP.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Get RXd Xebex Air Bike Review

The Xebex Air Bike from Get RXd is a bike very similar to the Assault Air Bike, but at a much better price. After testing and comparing the Xebex Air Bike over 3 months, we recommend the bike for someone that wants a chain-driven air bike at a good price.

Updated January 16, 2019 | by Coop

Brute Force Sandbag Review

Brute Force are making some of the best sandbags on the market. Combining heavy-duty materials with well thought out designs, these sandbags can take a beating and keep on performing.

Updated January 15, 2019 | by Coop

Get RXd Xebex Rower Review

The Xebex Rower from Get RXdis an outstanding competitor to the reigning champ, the Concept 2 Model D Rower. Featuring commercial-grade components in a lower priced platform is what makes the Xebex Rower standout. If you're not wanting the Concept 2 Model D, then we suggest the Xebex Rower.

Updated January 15, 2019 | by Coop

Schwinn Airdyne Pro Review: Best Air Bike Yet?

The Schwinn Airdyne Pro is the best air bike currently available. We've tested and reviewed all of the major offerings and chose the AD Pro as our top pick. The belt drive system combined with the overall build quality make the AD Pro superior to the rest.

Updated January 13, 2019 | by Coop

Rogue Echo Dog Sled Released

The Rogue Dog Sled 1.2 is one of the best sleds on the market, however, for most people it's overpriced and over-built. This is where the Rogue Echo Sled comes in. A beefy sled at a great price.

Updated January 13, 2019 | by Coop

8th Day Performance Adjustable Plyo Box Review

The Elev8 Adjustable Plyometric Box from 8th Day Performance is one of the best overall plyo boxes available today. Combining lightweight materials in a unique and versatile design, 8th Day Performance has created a plyometric box that should become the new standard for home and commercial gyms. However, despite it having a great design, there are some deficiencies that should be addressed.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

XD Kevlar Fitness Equipment In-Depth Review

XD Kevlar Fitness Equipmentis currently making some of the best medicine balls and sandbags in the industry. Combining high-quality materials such as Kevlar with well thought out designs, we recommend XD Medicine Balls to anyone who wants equipment that lasts.

Updated January 10, 2019 | by Coop

Kabuki Strength ShouldeRok In-Depth Review

The ShouldeRok from Kabuki Strength and Chris Duffin is a loadable mace that can be used for swings as well as some other movements. After using the ShouldeRok for over 2 years, we still confidently recommend the ShouldeRok for increasing shoulder mobility and strength.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Kabuki Strength Tactical ShouldeRok Review

The Tactical ShouldeRok from Kabuki Strength and Chris Duffin combines everything we loved about the original, along with some new, unique features that allow us to say it is superior to the original. However, for most people, the extra cost of the Tactical ShouldeRok over the original will not be worth it. This said, if you are only going to purchase one, we suggest the Tactical ShouldeRok.

Updated September 28, 2020 | by Coop

Concept 2 BikeErg In-Depth Review

The Concept 2 BikeErg is just as good as the Concept 2 Rower and Skierg; to put it plainly, nobody is creating conditioning equipment with the attention to detail, quality, or performance of Concept 2. The BikeErg is a shining example of what a company can do when they focus on quality over quantity of products.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue Echo Air Bike Released

Rogue Fitness has released their first cardio machine, the Rogue Echo Bike. Similar to the Assault Air Bike and Schwinn Airdyne Pro, the Rogue Echo Bike utilizes air resistance along with a beefy frame to produce one of the best air bikes based on its specs. Is the Rogue Echo Bike the best air bike yet?

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

TrueForm Runner Treadmill Review

The TrueForm Runneris a non-motorized treadmill designed to teach proper running form. Although recently, there have been more companies marketing non-motorized treadmills, in our research and testing, the TrueForm Runner is the best non-motorized treadmill available.

Updated September 14, 2021 | by Coop

Rep Fitness Soft Foam Plyo Box In-Depth Review

The Rep Fitness Soft Foam Plyo Boxes are one of the best priced, soft-sided plyo-box sets available. With a soft, yet durable foam, heavy-duty vinyl, and highly tip-resistant feature, these Plyo Boxes should not go overlooked. Combining lightweight and bold contrast lettering, Rep Fitness Plyo Boxes are a great value, although they do have their shortcomings.

Updated December 19, 2018 | by Coop

Concept 2 SkiErg In-Depth Review

Concept 2 has produced some of the most durable pieces of equipment and the Concept 2 SkiErg is no exception. The SkiErg takes the quality of the Concept 2 Rower, but for a different sport, Nordic Skiing. We highly recommend the Concept 2 SkiErg for anyone looking for a long-lasting, highly effective piece of conditioning equipment.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Xebex AirPlus Performance Bike In-Depth Review

The Xebex AirPlus Performance Biketakes the traditional Schwinn Airdyne/Assault AirBike style bike and ups the versatility by adding magnetic resistance. Although skeptical at first, we've come to greatly enjoy the added difficulty of magnetic resistance in addition to the air. For this reason, we recommend the AirPlus for those that want extra resistance.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop