Articles about: Weight Plates

FringeSport MilSpec Bumper Plates Review: Durable and Military Approved (2021)

If you like throwing your weight down like any good meathead should, you’re probably pretty familiar with bumper plates. I’ve been testing all kinds of bumper plates over the years, such as the Rogue Fitness US MIL Spec Crumb Bumper Plates, American Barbell Urethane Bumper Plates, and REP Fitness Sport Bumper Plates.I’ve been impressed with the FringeSport Bumper Plates in the past so I was eager to deliver a FringeSport MilSpec Bumper Plates review. There are a lot of particulars I look for when reviewing a bumper plate—it’s about more than just bounce or aesthetics. I also look at the warranty, price, material, and scale on the Shore Durometer.Why You Should Trust UsI’ve tested over 70 different bumper plates and have even written an article about thebest bumper plates. (I also wrote one on thebest weight plates overall if you’re more of an iron-slinging dude.) You can trust that I dropped these suckers from various heights, did a bunch of lifts, and maybe even licked one or two of ‘em. Just kidding, I only sniffed them. They smell like rubber in case you were wondering. Clearly I was.

Updated November 22, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue US MIL Spec Crumb Bumper Plates Review: Improved Hi-Temps (2021)

In our Rogue US MIL Spec Bumper Plates review, you'll see why this is one of our absolute favorite plates for outdoor workouts and more.

Updated November 15, 2021 | by Coop

REP Fitness Sport Bumper Plates Review: Durable, But Expensive

The REP Sport Bumper Platesare designed to be a durable black bumper plate that can be used both outdoors and indoors. After using them in my home gym for the past month and comparing them to the many others on the market, we feel they are a solid, but not the best value available option. The design has some unique details and they’re marketed as being ‘ultra-durable,’ however, they’re warrantied the same as REP’s other plates and they’re a bit more expensive than the competition. If you like the design and colors, we recommend them. However, time will tell on their durability.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Kabuki Strength Iron Plates Review: Economical Option, But Not The Best

The Kabuki Strength Iron Plates are the latest USA-Made weight plate to be released. After training with them for a couple of months and comparing them to the other options available, we feel these are a good, economical plate, but not Kabuki's finest. There are certainly flaws, but the price (when shipping isn't factored) makes them understandable for the value offered. We do recommend them if you're excepting something budget-friendly and understand the downsides.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue Deep Dish Plates Review: USA Made, Historically Accurate Weight Plates

The Rogue Deep Dish Platesare the first made in America cast iron weight plate that Rogue Fitness has released. Harkening back to York Milled Plates, the Rogue Deep Dish Plates are accurate, priced extremely well, and look as good as they perform on a barbell for squats, deadlift, bench, and any other movement you’d like to perform. If you like the aesthetics, they’re one of the best value iron plates available.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

Micro Gainz Fractional Plates Review: Made in USA Change Plates

Micro Gainz are highly accurate fractional weight plates that are made in the USA. They're high-quality, slim, attractive, and well priced. If you're following some sort of linear progression like Starting Strength and want to add weight to bar slowly, these are a great option.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

American Barbell Urethane Bumper Plates Review

American Barbell is by and large making some of the best training equipment available, and the Urethane Pro Series Bumper Plates are no exception. Utilizing urethane instead of the traditional rubber creates an ultra-durable, low bounce plate, with vibrant colors. These are the best competition bumper plates we've had the opportunity to review to date.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Rep Fitness Equalizer Iron Plates In-Depth Review

The Rep Fitness Equalizer Iron Platesare some of the best value weight plates currently available. Featuring a machined center hole, sandblasted and then machined surface, and symmetrical grip holes, these plates are a great value. If you're in the market for a good steel plate at a low price, these are one of the best options currently available.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue Calibrated Steel Powerlifting Plates Review (Plus 2-Year Update)

The Rogue Calibrated Steel Powerlifting Plates are not only some of the best competition powerlifting plates currently available, but they're also the best value. With their precise plate weight, IPF approval, and exact diameter and thickness, the Rogue Calibrated Steel Powerlifting Plates are the best option available.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates Review

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Platesare some of the best value competition bumper plates available on the market today. By creating a bumper plate with a double steel insert, having durable virgin rubber, and Rep Fitness's great price point, these competition bumper plates will be an awesome addition to any home or commercial gym.

Updated November 22, 2021 | by Coop