Articles about: Rigs and Racks

Rogue Y-1 Yoke Review (2022): Versatile and High-Quality

In this Rogue Y-1 Yoke review, you’ll get an in-depth look at the different uses, warranty, and if I think this is something most people should have in their home or garage gym.

Updated January 3, 2022 | by Coop

REP Omni Rack Review: Flat Foot Modular Power Rack

The REP Omni Rackis a flat-footed power rack version of the almighty PR-5000 V2. Its ability to sit on a home gym floor unbolted, yet still sturdy while also offering the potential to go from a half rack to full rack is unique. We recommend the Omni Rack just as we recommend the PR-5000. However, the two squat racks are extremely similar–for most people, we feel the PR-5000 V2 is a better option for reasons explained in our review.

Updated December 3, 2021 | by Coop

REP SR-4000 Squat Rack Review: Ultra Stable Squat Stand

REP Fitness has been doing a complete redesign of their power racks and the REP SR-4000 Squat Rack is exactly that. Based on REP’s best-selling rack, the 4000 Series Squat Rack improves in nearly every area and is by far the sturdiest squat stand we’ve tested. There are drawbacks to the design related to the size of its footprint, but if you’re looking for a somewhat budget-friendly squat stand, this is a tremendous option.

Updated December 10, 2021 | by Coop

REP ISO Arms Review: Budget-Friendly Adjustable Jammer Rack Attachment

The REP ISO Armsare an adjustable jammer arm squat rack attachment focused on high functionality at a lower price than competitors. After using them for the past four months, we feel they offer the best value for home gym owners with a power rack, which is the typical value proposition for REP Fitness. We do recommend them, but feel the adjustment feature could be improved.

Updated December 3, 2021 | by Coop

Torque Endless Rope Trainer Review: Versatile Home Gym Rope Pulley System

The Torque Endless Rope Trainerturns a typically difficult movement to do in a home gym, into something convenient with no setup time. I love doing rope pulls for both back/bicep hypertrophy as well as conditioning work, but it’s cumbersome to set up. The Torque Endless Rope Trainer is extremely well done, very compact, and a piece of equipment I will use every week. It is a bit spendy, but it’s well done.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

REP Fitness Monolift Attachment Review: Needs Improvement

After using the REP Fitness Monolift Attachment for over a month for squatting, benching, and other movements in my garage gym, I do think they’re a decent option. I think they could be improved if they are made lighter and the top arm length is reduced for better rack clearance, but the overall design and pricepoint is attractive. We recommend them if you understand the downsides and prefer the look to Rogue. Otherwise, we suggest one of the alternative options.

Updated December 3, 2021 | by Coop

Sorinex Bulldog Pad Review: Versatile & Compact Chest Supported Row

The Sorinex Bulldog Padis a compact and versatile chest supported row that attaches to a squat rack upright. Although turned off initially by the price, after using the Bulldog Pad, I've come to absolutely love it and use it nearly every training session. If you can afford it and have a squat rack it would work with, I highly recommend it. However, for most home gym owners, it's a luxury.

Updated December 23, 2021 | by Coop

REP Fitness PR-4000 Power Rack Review: Incredible Value Squat Rack

The REP Fitness PR-4000 Power Rackis a modular squat rack designed to compete with the best squat racksin the industry, but, at a more affordable price. We’ve tested and reviewed the REP PR-4000 and compared it to the PR-5000 as well as competitors’ racks like the Rogue Monster Lite Series. If you’re in the market for a full-featured home gym power rack and don’t want to pay the additional cost of made in the USA racks, then the PR-4000 is an incredible value and one we’d recommend.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue Fitness RML-90SLIM Rack Review: A Budget Friendly, Compact Squat Rack

The Rogue RML-90SLIM Rackis the most compact and best-priced squat rack that Rogue Fitness makes. It’s an extremely simple rack that is designed for the budget-conscious and space-restrained, yet offers most of the functionality of a standard squat stand with a pull-up bar while sitting only 16” from the wall. After testing and reviewing the RML-90SLIM, we recommend it highly and actually think it’s one of the best squat racksfrom Rogue to date.

Updated November 11, 2021 | by Coop

The Strength Co “The Captain” Squat Stands Review

The Strength Co is a former gym that decided to transition to selling equipment due to the COVID-19 Pandemic shutting down gyms. The Strenth Co "The Captain" Squat Stands is a basic squat rack designed to be affordable, long-lasting, and made in the USA. This is not the best squat rack in the world and I do think there are better options, even at lower prices. However, I love the ingenuity and am excited to see is to come. To be honest, their story is starting off a lot like Rogue Fitness did.

Updated November 22, 2021 | by Coop

Oak Club James Hook J-Cup Review: Best Sandwich J-Cup We’ve Tested

The Oak Club Mfg James Hook is the most over the top sandwich j-cup we've ever tested and reviewed. It's massive, uses a unique Mag Pin to prevent swaying, uses a gigantic, slanted piece of UHMW plastic and is expensive. We think it's completely unnecessary, which is one reason we like it. If you have the money to spend on a special set of j-cups, these are a great option. However, these are not for most people due to the price point.

Updated November 12, 2021 | by Coop

Sorinex OFF GRID Squat Rack Review -The Budget Friendly Sorinex Rack

The Sorinex OFF GRID Rackis the least expensive and also least feature-filled squat rack they’ve likely ever made. It’s a novel idea made as a “wartime” solution for those low on funds and space to get back to training. Although I do think there are better options available, I love the cause behind the rack which gives 100% of profits to Coaches vs. COVID-19 Fund and thinks it’s a cool piece of equipment for those that want a minimalist option.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Ghost Strong Combo Rack HD In-Depth Review: Best Combo Rack in the World?

The Ghost Strong Combo Rack HD is one of the most high-quality, custom squat racks on the market. Designed specifically for powerlifting, not only is the function of this rack extremely high, but so is it's good looks. If you want one of the best squat racks and don't mind paying for it, this is a hard rack to beat (although there are some things we would like to see improved.)

Updated November 12, 2021 | by Coop

REP PR-5000 Power Rack Review (2022): Better Than Rogue Monster Series?

If you’re looking to outfit your home gym with a new rack and want high-end quality with infinite expandability that is priced lower than competitors (and don’t mind an imported rack) then we recommend reading more of our REP PR-5000 Power Rack review.

Updated January 4, 2022 | by Coop

VersaSpot Dumbbell Spotter System Review: J-Hooks for Your Dumbbells

The VersaSpot Dumbbell Spotter System is essentially a J-Hook System for your dumbbells. This allows you to press out of the rack without having to start the press from your chest. It works extremely well, protects your dumbbells and is easy to adjust. If you do a lot of heavy dumbbell presses, we recommend the system.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

Rep Fitness HR-5000 Half Rack Review: High-End, Feature-Filled Squat Rack

The Rep Fitness HR-5000 Half Rackis the best squat rack Rep Fitness has released and is a foretaste of things to come. Featuring a number of features seen on high-end racks, the Rep HR-5000 is a legitimate contender to the Rogue Monster and Sorinex XL Racks at a lower price thanks to it being imported among other things. If you want a deluxe rack at a slightly lower price, this is a great option.

Updated December 23, 2021 | by Coop

StrongArm Sport Combo Rack Review: Best Budget-Priced Combo Rack

The StrongArm Sport Combo Rackis the best budget-priced combo rack currently available (it's also the only one.) Overall, with price being considered, we think it's a rack worth taking a look at if you're on a budget and have to have a combo rack. This said, there are some things we'd like to see improved and foresee there being quite a bit of competition at this price point in the near future.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Prime Fitness Prodigy Racks Review: Most Versatile Squat Rack Available

The Prime Fitness Prodigy Rackspack the most versatility and functionality in a squat rack of any we've tested. If you were to combine a squat rack and functional trainer into one unit, you'd have the Prodigy Rack from Prime Fitness. After testing the plate-loaded version of the Prodigy Rack, we can confidently recommend the racks to those that want a highly versatile rack in a small amount of space and don't mind the premium price tag.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Force USA MyRack In-Depth Review

The Force USA MyRack is not only one of the most customizable racks available, but it's also one of the most feature-filled for those on a budget. After training in the MyRack over 30 days and testing (literally) every accessory they make, we can confidently recommend it to anyone looking for a budget squat rack.

Updated November 8, 2021 | by Coop

Sorinex Base Camp Squat Rack In-Depth Review

The Sorinex Base Camp Squat Rackis, put simply, one of the best squat rackswe've ever tested. Combining exhaustive attention to the details, endless customization, incredible build quality, and an indescribable "cool" factor, the Sorinex Base Camp Squat Rack and Uber Package is quite possibly the best squat rack being made today.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue LT-1 50 Cal Trolley + Lever Arm Kit In-Depth Review

The Rogue LT-1 50 Cal Trolley + Lever Arm Kitis Rogue Fitness' adjustable lever arm system. After taking the Trolley and Lever Arm Kit through various workouts and testing all of the stated features, we are confident in giving it a high recommendation. It's costly, but does increase the versatility of your squat rack dramatically; it's also incredibly over-built and refined.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

Sorinex XL Rack In-Depth Review

Sorinex is making some of thebest home gym equipmentavailable and the Sorinex XL Rack is no exception. Although pricey, it's one of the best racks available and competes directly with Rogue Fitness' premiere Monster Line. After using a Sorinex XL Rack over the past 6 months, we can confidently give a high recommendation to anyone wanting a great squat rack with all the bells and whistles and aren't too concerned with price.

Updated November 10, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue SML-2 Squat Stand Review

The Rogue SML-2 Squat Stand is one of the best squat stands available. It's stout, has many accessories available, and is priced really well. We highly recommend the SML-2 for anyone that wants a squat stand that doesn't take up a ton of space.

Updated November 15, 2021 | by Coop

Titan Fitness T-3 vs. Rogue Fitness R-3 Power Rack Review Showdown

The Rogue R-3 Power Rackis one of the best selling squat racks of all time...and for good reason. The Titan T-3 Power Rackis a rack that takes many of the same features as the R-3 at a vastly lower price-point. We put them against each other to see which is the best value.

Updated December 3, 2021 | by Coop

PRx Performance Profile Squat Rack + Bench In-Depth Review

The PRx Performance Profile Pro Squat Rack is the best space saving squat rack currently available. We've used and tested many of the various options including the popular fold-away racks and undoubtedly, the Profile Squat Racks from PRx Performance are not only extremely sturdy, but also the most convenient.

Updated November 11, 2021 | by Coop

Rogue R-3 Power Rack Review

The Rogue R-3 Power Rack is by far one of the best squat racks available in terms of both quality and value. When rounding out a home gym with a rack, the Rogue R-3 Power Rack should be near the top of anyone and everyones list.

Updated November 16, 2021 | by Coop