Articles about: Shoes

Adidas Adipower 2 Review (2021): Good Shoes for Heavy Lifting

In my Adidas Adipower 2 review, I’ll break down who should give these redesigned classics a shot and who should pass on them.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

Do-Win Classic Lifter Review: A Specialized Shoe for Occasional Lifting

In this Do-Win Classic Lifter review, we point out how they perform well, but are they the most durable weightlifting shoe on the market.

Updated October 6, 2021 | by Coop

Best Weightlifting Shoes in 2021: Top Picks from Nike, Adidas, and Reebok

If you’re looking for the best weightlifting shoes for squats, Olympic lifting, or conditioning, we have you covered with our top picks from Nike, Adidas, and Reebok.

Updated October 6, 2021 | by Coop

Xero 360 Shoes Review (2021): Surprisingly Supportive Minimalist Shoes

In my Xero 360 shoes review, I’ll help you decide whether these zero-drop shoes are a good choice for you.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

Nike Romaleos 4 Weightlifting Shoes Review (2021): Where Stability Meets Aesthetics

Nike is back with another weightlifting shoe, the Romaleos 4. In an attempt to provide a modern, updated look for the Romaleos 2 purists, they’ve created the heaviest and most stable weightlifting shoe I have used.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

Nike Metcon 7 Shoes Review (2021): Stable and Aesthetically Pleasing

Behold everyone: the moment you’ve all been waiting for: my Nike Metcon 7 shoes review. These new Nike Metcons knocked it out of the park for me in terms of both looks and workout experience.Stick around to find out why I think these might be the best Metcons Nike has released to date. If you love a solid cross training shoe that has both stability and cushioning, you’ll probably appreciate the Nike Metcon 7s. As always, I’m here to give my honest opinion on all things fitness. It’s important to me to give my readers (and viewers on YouTube) truthful reviews on all the latest and greatest products out there. Let’s get into this Nike Metcon 7 review.Why You Should Trust UsDepending on how long you’ve been a Garage Gym Reviews fan, you may or may not know that I have tried almost every Nike Metcon they have ever released. No literally. If you look back on my website, you’ll see reviews for theNike Metcon 1, Nike Metcon 2,Nike Metcon 3,Nike Metcon 4,Nike Metcon 5, and various other Metcon editions (rip to the Nike Metcon 6s that I didn’t get around to but still wear on the daily).Phew, I’m tired just looking at all of them. Anyway, you can trust that I know the gold standard for shoes, especially Metcons. I’ll give you my honest opinion on how these stack up to the rest of the competition.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

Reebok Nanoflex TR Training Shoes Review (2021): A Cheaper Nano That Gets the Job Done

Workout shoes are an important piece of gear that most invest in for theirhome gym. Unless you’re one of those barefoot folks (which I am often as well). A good pair of shoes—and more importantly, the best pair for you—is the difference between an invigorating workout and a dumpster fire of a training session.That’s why I love reviewing all kinds of workout shoes, from the Nike Free Metcon 4s to theReebok Nano X1s to theNoBull Trainers. In this Reebok Nanoflex TR training shoes review, I divulge all the pros and cons of this Reebok Nano wannabe.Why You Should Trust UsOur team is made up of fitness experts, enthusiasts, and credentialed professionals. We’ve all been wearing training shoes for a long time (collectively, many decades), so we know what to look for in a good pair ofworkout shoes for different activities.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

inov-8 F-LITE G 300 Review (2021): Durable Cross Training Shoes for Wide Feet

I love trying new training shoes – almost as much as I love trying to figure out the best squat racks or thebest air bikes. There has been some buzz recently about the inov-8 F-LITE G 300s, which are marketed as a cross training shoe. After recently trying the Nike Free Metcon 4s, the Reebok Nano X1s, and the NOBULL Trainers I wanted to see how they stacked up.For this inov-8 F-LITE G 300 review, I’ve enlisted the help of staff writer Caroline Lubinsky, a former NCAA D1 Women’s College Soccer player. Caroline cross trains regularly and gives us a deep look into how these perform. Keep reading to find out what we thought about these in terms of durability, value, and comfortability.

Updated September 15, 2021 | by Coop

Reebok Nano X1 Review (2021): The All-Around Training Shoes You Need for CrossFit and More

A pair of high-quality sneakers can make or break your training session. Who likes to stop mid-workout to adjust the tongue or laces of their shoes, or wiggle their foot around to achieve more comfort? Likewise, feeling like you’re gonna topple over during squats or scrape your shin due to a failed box jump is a major workout mood-killer.That’s why good training shoes are so important, and that’s why I recommend the Reebok Nano X1s for most people who do CrossFit. In my Reebok Nano X1 review, the Garage Gym Reviews team shares our experience with the newest Nanos available. Why You Should Trust UsI’ve been testing fitness equipment for years. And you know what I have to wear while testing all of the best home gym equipment? Shoes. Not only have I spent years buying and tryingworkout shoes to find my favorite pairs for different types of workouts, I actually created an entire roundup of thebest CrossFit shoes to help you find the perfect pair of sneaks, too.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

NOBULL Training Shoes Review (2021): CrossFit’s Most Controversial Training Shoe

You’re in the middle of a WOD. It’s hot. You might redline but there’s no turning back. You’re racing against the clock and all you can think about is your achy arches and the blister forming on your heel.Yikes. That’s not what you want!You can avoid CrossFit horror stories like that by wearing the right training shoes. In my NOBULL Training shoes review, I’ll let you know if these popular—but controversial—workout shoes are the right choice for you. Why You Should Trust UsWe wrote the most comprehensive guide to the best CrossFit shoes you’ll probably find anywhere on the internet. Aside from that, myself and our product testers have years of experience in the fitness industry and have personally worn most of the CrossFit shoes on the market, from the original Reebok Nanos all the way to the Nike Metcon 7s and the Reebok Nano X1s.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

Nike Free Metcon 4 Review: Versatile Training Shoes (2021)

It’s no secret that I love a quality pair of sneakers. I even made an entire video on the best training shoes for 2021with my friend Kate Meier, who is a certified CrossFit L1 trainer and CrossFit box owner. She is also a senior editor here at Garage Gym Reviews and did a deep dive into the Nike Free Metcon 4s for us. In this Nike Free Metcon 4 review, I’ll tell you the details on these cross training shoes including the price, warranty, durability, and what they’re best used for. There are tons of sneakers out there and I want to help you find the best fit for your specific needs.Why You Should Trust UsBesides testing and trying some of the best CrossFit shoes on the market, I’ve worn tons of fan favorites including the Position Weightlifting Eastwood Shoes, Reebok JJ 2 Training Shoes, Reebok Nano, and Altra HIIT XT Training Shoes. I even wrote an article about how to figure out what kind of shoes you need to wear based on the training you do! I might be a little biased, but I think I’m a very trustworthy person to talk to you about different athletic shoes.

Updated August 2, 2021 | by Coop

Nike Metcon 5 Shoes Leaked (PLUS Mat Fraser’s Edition)

The long-awaitedNike Metcon 5 Shoes have been leaked, and along with them, a new collaboration between 3-Time CrossFit Games Champion Mat Fraser and Nike. These are one of the most popular CrossFit shoes and this colorway is sure to be a hit.

Updated June 25, 2019 | by Coop

Nike Metcon 3 Shoes Review

The Nike Metcon 3 Training Shoes are some of the most popular CrossFit training shoes on the market, and for good reason. These are some of the best training shoes available; they also look great as well.

Updated May 6, 2019 | by Coop

Reebok CrossFit Nano 7 Review

The Reebok Nano series is one of the most well-loved training shoes series available. Designed specifically for CrossFit, the Reebok Nano 7 is the next iteration of CrossFit specific shoes, however, unlike the previous iterations, this one falls flat.

Updated May 6, 2019 | by Coop

Adidas Adipower vs. Nike Romaleos 2 Weightlifting Shoes Review

The Adidas Adipowers and Nike Romaleos 2 are the most popular weightlifting shoes currently available. So, we put them head to head to figure out which is the best.

Updated January 17, 2019 | by Coop

Lalo Tactical Bloodbird In-Depth Review

Lalo is a company making shoes for Special Ops Members that also work for the general population. The Lalo Bloodbird shoes work great for general training and although unique, are a quality shoe.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Lalo Tactical Zodiac Recon In-Depth Review

Lalo is a company who is making shoes for Special Forces Operation Members that also work for the general population. The Zodiac Recon Shoes are a highly cushioned running shoe that are great for just about any environment.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Reebok CrossFit Speed TR Released!

The Reebok Speed TR are a cheaper option to the popular Reebok Nano shoes and they look to be a great option.

Updated January 15, 2019 | by Coop

Nike Metcon 1 vs. Nike Metcon 2

The Nike Metcons are some of the most popular CrossFit shoes available. With the release of the Nike Metcon 2's, many are asking what the differences are. Here's what we see.

Updated January 15, 2019 | by Coop

Position P2.0 Blue Suede Shoes Review

Position USA is making some great training shoes using old school methods. The Blue Suede P2.0's are their latest version and aren't just a good looking shoe, they also perform well!

Updated September 3, 2021 | by Coop

Adidas Leistung Weightlifting Shoes Review

The Adidas Leistung Weightlifting Shoes are Adidas latest weightlifting shoes that feature a BOA dial and many unique features.

Updated October 22, 2021 | by Coop

Nike Romaleos 3 First Look

The Nike Romaleos 2 are some of the most popular weightlifting shoe available. Many have been waiting for Nike to release their latest lifters, and through some digging, we've been able to see the new Romaleos 3.

Updated January 15, 2019 | by Coop

Reebok CrossFit Nano 6.0 Shoes Review

The Reebok Nano 6.0 CrossFit Training Shoes are some of the best CrossFit shoes we've tested yet.

Updated September 3, 2021 | by Coop

Reebok Legacy Lifters Review

The Reebok Legacy Lifters are the best weightlifting shoe Reebok has ever made and one of the best currently available. This is not a CrossFit lifter, this is a true weightlifting shoe and we think you'll like it as much as we did.

Updated January 11, 2019 | by Coop

Reebok Nano 7 Weave In-Depth Review

The Reebok Nano 7 Weaves are one of the best trainers available today. The original Nano 7's were a great idea but were so stiff, they never ended up breaking in. The Weaves are broken-in out of the box, look decent, and provide everything a CrossFit athlete or someone who trains in multiple domains would want.

Updated January 8, 2019 | by Coop

Adidas CrazyTrain BOOST Elite Review

The Adidas CrazyTrain Boost Elites surprised us during our testing, bringing to the table a complete training shoe great for running with exceptional comfort. Although Boost technology decreases stability, the benefits of Boost outweigh the negatives. We are pleased to recommend the CrazyTrain Boost Elites to trainees with a running bias.

Updated January 7, 2019 | by Coop

Nike Metcon 4 In-Depth Review

The Nike Metcon 4 training shoesbuild on the popularity of the Metcon 3's with minimal changes. The Nike Metcon 4 is essentially the same shoe as the previous iteration with a different upper; because of this, we believe the Nike Metcon 4's are still an excellent shoe for CrossFit and general fitness training.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Altra HIIT XT Training Shoes Review

The Altra HIIT XT Training Shoes are the biggest surprise training shoe to be released in 2017. Not only are the Altra HIIT XT's comfortable, but they're also durable and stable. After putting the HIIT XT's through many different workouts, we can confidently recommend them to anyone looking for a great training shoe for CrossFit-type workouts.

Updated September 17, 2021 | by Coop

Reebok JJ 2 Training Shoes Review

The JJ 2 Training Shoes from Reebok are a great pair of training shoes for those looking to train for sports in a similar manner as JJ Watt, the person the shoe is named after. Although they aren't as versatile as the Reebok Nano Series, they are still an excellent pair of trainers.

Updated January 4, 2019 | by Coop

Nike Metcon DSX Flyknit 2 First Look + Release Date

When Nike introduced the original Nike Metcon DSX Flyknits, people weren't sure what to think. With the second version and our first look, we're fairly certain these are going to be an outstanding pair of training shoes.

Updated January 4, 2019 | by Coop

Reebok Nano 8 First Look + Release Date

The Reebok Nano 8 looks to build upon the success of the Reebok Nano 7 Weaves by using a similar upper. If they perform as well as the Nano 7 Weave's, they'll be an outstanding shoe.

Updated January 4, 2019 | by Coop

Nike Metcon Free First Look + Release Date

Nike has released their first ever "Free" style Metcon shoe into the training community. The Nike Metcon Free adds to the already existing Metcon shoe line, this Metcon X Free is sure to raise the level in comfort and aesthetics.

Updated January 4, 2019 | by Coop