We review free products that we receive and participate in affiliate programs, where we may be compensated for items purchased through links from our site.

See our disclosures page for more information.

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are some of the best value competition bumper plates available on the market today. By creating a bumper plate with a double steel insert, having durable virgin rubber, and Rep Fitness’s great price point, these competition bumper plates will be an awesome addition to any home or commercial gym.

4.67
Rep Fitness
REP Competiton KG Bumper Plates
REP Competiton KG Bumper Plates

Our competition bumper plates are the best bumper plates we offer. Ideal for anyone that is serious about Olympic lifting, or needs to be able to fit a lot of weight on the bar. More durable than our training plates when lifting heavy, and built to extremely strict tolerances. Order as a single pair of plates or as a set to complete your lifting needs! Features: Low Bounce Zinc Coated Steel Disc Insert Collar Opening: 50.5mm +/- 10 grams of claimed weight 450mm Diameter (IWF Standard) Shore Durometer Ratings: 92 ShA Follow international color standards (Red/25kg, Blue/20kg, Yellow/15kg, Green/10kg) 5 year warranty on all plates. Factory tested to 30,000+ drops. Plate Thicknesses: Green - 1.25" Yellow - 1.75" Blue - 2.125" Red - 2.75" Plate Sets: 90 kg set (2)Each 20-15-10 Plates 110 kg set (2)Each 25-20-10 Plates 120 kg set (2)Each 25-20-15 Plates 140 kg set (2)Each 25-20-15-10 Plates Why Rep Fitness Competition Plates? Advanced design. These plates have a patented design for the inner collar piece which increases durability. Many competitor's competition plates feature a single solid steel disc, and that design ends up failing at the point where the rubber and steel meet because all of the force is transferred there. Our extra inner steel ring, combined with a patented means of connecting to the rubber plate, results in better absorption and dispersal of force which means better durability. Raised lettering and raised rubber surface around the center disc to limit metal-on-metal contact. Warranty. We offer a 5 year warranty on all of our competition plates because we know these have been used and tested to withstand a high volume of work.

$274.99

Shop deal

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates Review

Rep Fitness Competition Plates are some of the best value competition plates available on the market today. With their low bounce rate, meeting IWF standards, and patented steel insert, the competition bumpers should not go overlooked when rounding out any home or commercial gym.When purchasing any bumper plate, one of the first criteria a bumper plate must meet is a low bounce rate.

If anybody is ever planning on dropping weight from overhead, it’s important that the bar doesn’t rebound and hit you in the face. Ok sure, that’s a little bit of an exaggeration, being that I’ve never seen it happen…but the point remains true, having a low bounce is very important when comparing different bumper plates.

These competition bumper plates are built for exactly what Rep Fitness titles them, competition. Therefore, these plates are designed with an Olympic lifter in mind i.e. anybody planning on dropping the barbell from overhead whether it be from a snatch, clean and jerk, or overhead squat.

Companies will be able to show everybody how minimal their bumper plates bounce is on a scale called, Shore Durometer rating.

Durometer rating measures the hardness of the rubber. With a softer rubber comes a higher bounce, and with a harder rubber comes less bounce. The Rep Fitness bumper plates Shore Durometer rating is a 92 ShA

Compared to other companies, Rogue KG Competition Bumper Plates measure at a 94 ShA and FringeSport Black Training KG Plates came in at 90 ShA. The difference between 2 ShA of the companies will not be very noticeable, all three of these bumper plates will have a dead bounce.The fact that Rogue has a higher Durometer Rating speaks to the quality of the rubber used to create their bumper plates. They’re also thinner, however, not grossly so.Since the Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates have a comparative ShA rating and perform with very low bounce, this will equate to an easy transition from the first rep to the second rep for the lifter. The faster transition time on reps is a result of the barbell not running away from you after dropping the bar.Rep Fitness has been able to produce a bumper plate with very low bounce, which for the price point, is outstanding.

The Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are formed with virgin rubber compared to a cheaper price point option in recycled crumb rubber.

Virgin rubber is, in my opinion, the better option when comparing virgin rubber plates versus recycled rubber. Recycled rubber will rebound much more than virgin rubber, and if you’ve ever used plates like Hi-Temps, you know this to be true. This is evidenced by its lower rating on the durometer scale, and from the fact that recycled rubber is mostly composed of used tires.

Bumper plates have two main parts. The outside rubber that makes contact with the ground, and the steel insert that makes contact with the bar.

The steel insert for the Rep Fitness Competition Plates are a patented double steel design.

Most companies construct their competition bumper plates with a single steel insert. Over time, this design can end up failing at the point where the rubber and steel meet due to the amount of force that is transferred at this point.

Rep Fitness uses an extra inner steel ring and then connects the rubber plate the to ring using a method only they’re allowed to (patented) which they claim results in better absorption and dispersal of force. This, in turn, means better durability. We have yet to see any durability issues with the plates, although that’s to be expected, whether with these plates or others for the amount of time we’ve had them.

Rep Fitness has tested these plates with the standard 30,000 drop test that many other companies also use to ensure the quality of their product.

Two big competitors to these plates are the Rogue KG Competition Plates and the FringeSport Black KG Plates, which both use a single disk insert. Rogue Fitness has a chrome plated steel insert while both Rep Fitness and FringeSport have zinc-coated inserts.

Rep Fitness has also made their steel insert 50.5mm in diameter. Both Rogue Fitness and FringeSport are 50.4mm diameter, although this won’t be a noticeable difference in daily use.

All of Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are 450mm, meeting the IWF standards for bumper plates.

The competition plates also fit inside the international color standards for bumper plates as well. The 25 kg plate is red, 20 kg blue, 15 kg yellow, and the 10 kg plate is green. The Rep Fitness plates meet the international standard except for the zinc coated disc. However, due to the price of the plates, I don’t think Rep Fitness was aiming for these to be used by the IWF, but rather a high-quality plate for a great price.

Two design aspects of the Rep Fitness plates I’m a big fan of are the raised lettering and a raised rubber surface around the disk to minimize metal to metal contact. Not only do these plates have a double insert steel ring, but they also have raised rubber to ensure that the metal discs won’t rub against each other, and they’re easier to transport from the rack to the bar.

The contrast white painted lettering and numbering help readability and creates a clean look.Another important aspect of all competition bumper plates is the thickness of the plates. The thinner the plates, the more weight a lifter is going to be able to add on to the bar.The Rep Fitness platesare a bit on thick side for competition plates. The 10 kg plate a thickness of 1.25 inches, 15 kg measures at 1.75 inches, 20kg plate is 2.125 inches and the largest plate 25kg measures at 2.75 inches.Rogue Fitness competition plates are a little thinner and are as follows: 10kg 1.15 inches, 15kg 1.65 inches, 20kg 2.15 inches, and 25kg plate measures at 2.5 inches.

FringeSport competition plates are about the same as Rep Fitness with widths of: 10kg 1.25 inches, 15kg 1.70 inches, 20kg 2.15 inches, and the 25kg plate measures at 2.55 inches.

The biggest decision point for most people when purchasing a set of plates is, “how much should I spend?”

Rep Fitness offers a number of different packages. Consumers can either buy multiple plates at once and save a little money, or buy single weight class plates at a time. If looking to round your gym out with each competition bumper plate, Rep Fitness 140kg set cost $750 and does not include shipping (something they’re adamant about educating the public on – that free shipping isn’t free.)

Rogue Fitness has their 140kg set cost a consumer $1,035 and does not include shipping as well. FringeSport sells their 140kg set for $769 and does include free shipping.

Rep Fitness outshines both Rogue and Fringe with their awesome warranty policy. Rep Fitness offers a 5-year warranty on all of their plates with no if, ands, or buts. Although I don’t foresee many having to use this, it is nice knowing it’s there just in case.

FringeSport offers a one year warranty of no questions asked and free return. After that, a 5-year warranty on any manufacture defect. Rogue Fitness typically has a pretty solid warranty policy, but nothing specifically written about their competition plates.

Overall, the Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are the best budget competition bumper plates currently available. Rep Fitness didn’t take any shortcuts with their production by including a double inserted steel disc to ensure longevity and durability of the plate. The bumper plates also measure at a 92 ShA, meaning, a lifter will not have to run all over the gym to keep up with the barbell. Rep Fitness also has one of the best warranty policies on competition bumper plates, which speaks to the quality of their product.We highly recommend these plates.

Overall, the Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are the best budget competition bumper plates currently available. Rep Fitness didn’t take any shortcuts with their production by including a double inserted steel disc to ensure longevity and durability of the plate. The bumper plates also measure at a 92 ShA, meaning, a lifter will not have to run all over the gym to keep up with the barbell. Rep Fitness also has one of the best warranty policies on competition bumper plates, which speaks to the quality of their product.We highly recommend these plates.

Suggested Improvements

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are one of my favorite value bumper plates available, and it was difficult to come up with some suggested improvements.

The only thing I would suggest is for Rep Fitness to match Rogue Fitness’s KG Competition Plates in width. Rogue Fitness’s plates are slimmer than Rep Fitness, with that said, for the price point of the Rep Fitness I am more than happy with the quality of the plate.

Rogue Fitness is able to have a slimmer plate likely due to more expensive rubber, which is reflected in their price point.

Full Rating

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Plates are some of the best value competition bumper plates available on the market today. By creating a bumper plate with a double steel insert, having durable virgin rubber, and Rep Fitness's great price point, these competition bumper plates will be an awesome addition to any home or commercial gym.

Product Brand: REP Fitness

Product Currency: $

Product Price: 189.99

Product In-Stock: InStock

Editor's Rating:
4.7

Rep Competiton KG Bumper Plates

Construction – 4.8

Durability – 4.5

Rubber – 4.5

Steel Insert – 4.8

Lettering – 4.8

Value – 4.8

Rep Fitness Competition Bumper Platesare some of the best value competition bumper plates available on the market today. By creating a bumper plate with a double steel insert, having durable virgin rubber, and Rep Fitness's great price point, these competition bumper plates will be an awesome addition to any home or commercial gym.

Where to Purchase

4.67
Rep Fitness
REP Competiton KG Bumper Plates
REP Competiton KG Bumper Plates

Our competition bumper plates are the best bumper plates we offer. Ideal for anyone that is serious about Olympic lifting, or needs to be able to fit a lot of weight on the bar. More durable than our training plates when lifting heavy, and built to extremely strict tolerances. Order as a single pair of plates or as a set to complete your lifting needs! Features: Low Bounce Zinc Coated Steel Disc Insert Collar Opening: 50.5mm +/- 10 grams of claimed weight 450mm Diameter (IWF Standard) Shore Durometer Ratings: 92 ShA Follow international color standards (Red/25kg, Blue/20kg, Yellow/15kg, Green/10kg) 5 year warranty on all plates. Factory tested to 30,000+ drops. Plate Thicknesses: Green - 1.25" Yellow - 1.75" Blue - 2.125" Red - 2.75" Plate Sets: 90 kg set (2)Each 20-15-10 Plates 110 kg set (2)Each 25-20-10 Plates 120 kg set (2)Each 25-20-15 Plates 140 kg set (2)Each 25-20-15-10 Plates Why Rep Fitness Competition Plates? Advanced design. These plates have a patented design for the inner collar piece which increases durability. Many competitor's competition plates feature a single solid steel disc, and that design ends up failing at the point where the rubber and steel meet because all of the force is transferred there. Our extra inner steel ring, combined with a patented means of connecting to the rubber plate, results in better absorption and dispersal of force which means better durability. Raised lettering and raised rubber surface around the center disc to limit metal-on-metal contact. Warranty. We offer a 5 year warranty on all of our competition plates because we know these have been used and tested to withstand a high volume of work.

$274.99

Shop deal

Further reading

Edge Fitness Systems Standing Back Extension Review Cover Image
Edge Fitness Systems Standing Back Extension Review

The Standing Back Extension from Edge Fitness Systems is a new spin on an old design proposed by legendary strongman Paul Anderson. Not only is this piece a game changer regarding training the posterior chain, but it is also sure to become a mainstay and stand alongside staples such as the GHR, Reverse Hyper, and Belt Squat Machine. Read more

FringeSport MilSpec Bumper Plates Review: Durable and Military Approved (2022) Cover Image
FringeSport MilSpec Bumper Plates Review: Durable and Military Approved (2022)

If you like throwing your weight down like any good meathead should, you’re probably pretty familiar with bumper plates. I’ve been testing all kinds of bumper plates over the years, such as the Rogue Fitness US MIL Spec Crumb Bumper Plates, American Barbell Urethane Bumper Plates, and REP Fitness Sport Bumper Plates.I’ve been impressed with the FringeSport Bumper Plates in the past so I was eager to deliver a FringeSport MilSpec Bumper Plates review. There are a lot of particulars I look for when reviewing a bumper plate—it’s about more than just bounce or aesthetics. I also look at the warranty, price, material, and scale on the Shore Durometer.Why You Should Trust UsI’ve tested over 70 different bumper plates and have even written an article about thebest bumper plates. (I also wrote one on thebest weight plates overall if you’re more of an iron-slinging dude.) You can trust that I dropped these suckers from various heights, did a bunch of lifts, and maybe even licked one or two of ‘em. Just kidding, I only sniffed them. They smell like rubber in case you were wondering. Clearly I was. Read more

Exxentric kPulley2 Flywheel Training Device Review Cover Image
Exxentric kPulley2 Flywheel Training Device Review

The Exxentric kPulley2is a flywheel training machine that is deceivingly simple in its operation, but brutal in its application. Although there are other flywheel machines available, Exxentric is by far the leader and the kPulley2 can add a ton of variety to any home gym, if you’re willing to spend the money. Read more

NordicTrack Commercial 1750 Treadmill Review Cover Image
NordicTrack Commercial 1750 Treadmill Review

Commercial treadmills are what you would typically see in big box gyms, but that doesn’t mean that they can’t live in your garage as well. As I found in reviewing the NordicTrack Commercial 1750, these machines can be an incredibly valuable (and expensive) asset in your fitness equipment arsenal. After testing some of the best treadmills, I truly believe that this is one of the best motorized options available – as long as you want interactive programming, a tech-friendly machine, and are willing to pay for it.NordicTrack has three treadmills in its commercial line, with the 1750 as the most affordable. In this NordicTrack Commercial 1750 Treadmill review, I’ll dive into what it’s like to assemble it, run on it and use it with iFit.My Favorite Things:Interactive iFit subscription is free for a year with purchaseTreadmill with incline and decline trainingFoldable to save spaceRun that feels similar to road runningOptions to turn running belt cushioning on/offMy Callouts:Requires an electrical outletBig footprint, heavy and not the easiest to movePrice is around $2,000, which is mid-rangeWarranty is 10 years frame, 2 years parts, 1 year labor Read more