We test and review fitness products based on an independent, multi-point methodology. If you use our links to purchase something, we may earn a commission. Read our disclosures.

If there’s one thing that’s certain in life, it’s that time goes by whether we want it to or not… Oh, and the signs of aging can start to surface with each passing year, mainly due to less collagen naturally produced by the body. 

The research around benefits of collagen protein powder are promising, but with hundreds of collagen products on the market, how and which do you choose? We personally tested and analyzed roughly 30 products to find the best collagen supplements.

Myself, as a registered dietitian, along with Garage Gym Review’s team of competitive athletes, certified nutrition coaches, and personal trainers used each of these products ourselves and analyzed the ingredients, dosages, formulation, taste, cost, and other aspects to find the best. We mixed them into cold water and coffee to assess solubility, and analyzed the types of collagen used to assess the real effects the product could have.

Editor’s note and disclaimer

Collagen protein is considered an incomplete protein because it’s missing an essential amino acid, tryptophan. Collagen protein should not be counted toward the FDA %DV of protein. Consult with a registered dietitian or nutritionist if you have questions about your protein intake. This article is intended for educational and informational purposes only. It is not intended as a substitute for medical advice.

14 Best Collagen Supplements

What We Know About Collagen

Collagen1 is the most abundant and important protein in the body. Its primary role is to provide strength, structure, and support to the bones, skin, muscles, tendons, cartilage, nails, and other organs. 

Of the 20 amino acids in the body, collagen is produced mainly from glycine, proline, and hydroxyproline. However, whereas collagen is rich in protein and amino acids, it is not considered a complete protein because, as mentioned above, it lacks tryptophan. This means that although it’s beneficial, collagen protein shouldn’t be counted toward your daily protein intake goal.

There are 28 known types of collagen2, but types I through V are the most abundant (especially type I) and researched. Types I, II, and III also dominate collagen supplements, but we’ll quickly run through the top five: 

  • Type I: the most prevalent type of connective tissue and mostly found in skin, bone, teeth, tendon, ligaments, and organs
  • Type II: present in cartilage and supports the joints
  • Type III: most common in the skin, muscle, and blood vessels 
  • Type IV: found in some layers of the skin
  • Type V: present in hair, cell surfaces, and placentas

Collagen is mostly sourced from animal products that contain connective tissue—like bovine (cows), marine (fish), porcine (pig), and poultry (chicken). And as you’ll soon notice, the collagen source widely dictates its collagen type, such as bovine being concentrated with types I and III collagen.

Collagen is found in whole foods, such as bone broth. In supplements, collagen is commonly formulated into collagen peptides. 

Collagen vs Collagen Peptides

The biggest difference between collagen and collagen peptides is their size. Think of this similarly to whey protein powder: While whey comes in isolates and concentrates, both forms still contain whey protein.  

RELATED: Best Protein Powder

Collagen peptides, also known as hydrolyzed collagen, undergo hydrolysis and are broken down into smaller, more bioavailable forms. The best collagen peptides also have a very low viscosity, which improves mixability and makes them a great dissolvable dietary supplement—like in our top picks.

Best Collagen Supplement Overall: Transparent Labs Grass-Fed Collagen Hydrolysate Powder 

Good for: Those searching for the ideal collagen powder with minimal other ingredients 

Best Overall

Transparent Labs Grass-Fed Collagen Hydrolysate

GGR Score: 4.8 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • No artificial sweetener, colors, or preservatives
  • Formulated with grass-fed bovine collagen peptides
  • Claimed to help eliminate visible signs of skin aging like sagging and wrinkles
  • Made with minimal ingredients

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Worldwide shipping
  • A good amount of positive reviews
  • Easily mixable in cold or hot beverages

Cons

  • Only 10 g of protein per serving
  • Low doses of collagen compared to other brands
  • Doesn’t include vitamin C, which can help with absorption
  • Only comes in 1 flavor

Bottom Line

Transparent Labs Grass-Fed Collagen Hydrolysate is a collagen rich in type I and type III collagen peptides made without artificial sweetener, colors, or preservatives.

Transparent Labs Grass-Fed Collagen supplies 11 grams of hydrolyzed collagen and 10 grams of protein sourced from grass-fed bovine cattle. As a great source of types I and III collagen, it may combat the signs of aging like wrinkly skin, muscle aches, and joint pain (pretty much all the reasons you want to take collagen in the first place).

Amanda Capritto, GGR senior staff writer and certified sports nutrition coach, has used Transparent Labs Collagen Hydrolysate a number of times and in a number of ways. She recommends mixing it with milk, coffee, or in a smoothie; basically, anything other than water. “It’s not bad, but it kind of tastes like watered down chocolate milk (when mixed with water). I also mixed it with almond milk, which significantly improved the taste!”

An image of Transparent Labs Grass-fed collagen hydrolysate

While it only comes in a Chocolate and Unflavored options, you can still rest easy knowing there’s never any “artificial junk” with any Transparent Labs products. Instead, the hydrolyzed collagen is formulated with more natural ingredients like cocoa powder and stevia. It’s also a great stand-alone that mixes well in liquids or can be added to smoothies and other recipes to boost protein and collagen. 

Transparent Labs collagen protein lab test scorecard
GGR collaborated with Ellipse Analytics, an accredited third-party lab, to test more than 150 protein powders. We screened for dozens of factors and rated each product against its peers. Excellent indicates the top 10% of products; Above Average is the top 25% of products; and Meets Standard is the top 50%.

The Transparent Labs Grass-Fed Collagen scored a perfect 5 out of 5 on our solubility rating. Amanda says that it “dissolves so well, it’s a little scary.”

“The water became clear, but brown (see-through brown?) when mixed with water. It doesn’t feel grainy and I didn’t even notice any chunks when mixed with plain water. The stuff is virtually unnoticeable when mixed with another powder, like protein powder.”

Like all Transparent Labs products, the grass-fed collagen hydrolysate powder is third-party tested. You can even view its Certificates of Analysis and Composition on the main site, aligning perfectly with the brand’s commitment to transparency. 

GGR also conducted its own third-party testing of more than 150 protein powders with independent, accredited lab Ellipse Analytics. We tested for purity (heavy metals) and label accuracy (protein content), and Transparent Labs Collagen Hydrolysate scored as Meets Standard overall, which means it met our rigorous quality screen. Read more about what we tested for in our Independent Supplements Testing Glossary.

You can also read our full Transparent Labs Collagen Hydrolysate review for more details on this product.

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Grass-fed bovine with types I and III collagen
Collagen content11 g per 1 scoop (13.75 g) serving
Flavor option(s)Chocolate
Cost$34.99/30 servings = $1.17/serving

Best Collagen Supplement for Skin: Sports Research Collagen Peptides 

Good for: Those who want healthier-looking skin

Best for Skin

Sports Research Collagen Peptides

GGR Score: 4.6 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Hydrolyzed collagen peptide supplement
  • 11 grams of collagen per serving
  • Listed benefits: supports workout recovery, healthy nails, skin, and joints

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Available in 4 different sizes: single packets, 3.9 oz, 16 oz, and 32 oz.
  • Subscribe and save 15%
  • Third-party tested and Informed Choice-certified
  • Non-GMO and gluten-free
  • Satisfaction guaranteed when purchasing directly from Sports Research
  • Only one ingredient

Cons

  • Recommended to take 1-2 times per day
  • Only available as unflavored
  • Listed benefits from taking 2 scoops instead of the recommended serving of 1

Bottom Line

Sports Research Collagen Peptides has one ingredient: collagen peptides. It is designed to support skin, nail, and joint health. The listed serving size is 1 scoop, however, Sports Research recommends taking 1 to 2 servings per day. Additionally, the listed benefits are from taking 2 scoops per day. Customer reviews for this supplement are generally positive.

If one of your motivations for taking a collagen supplement is to improve your skin, nails, and hair, you’re on to something. A 2023 meta analysis3 found that oral collagen supplementation resulted in significant improvements in both skin elasticity and hydration compared to the placebo group. 

Type I collagen is generally thought to be most beneficial for skin, although type III is also of note. “These two types work together to maintain skin elasticity, reduce wrinkles and sagging skin, and strengthen bones, tendons, and ligaments,” explains Perry Nix, R.D.

An image of Sports Research Collagen Peptides in coffee

That’s why we named Sports Research Collagen Peptides as best for skin, as it contains 11 grams of collagen—both type I and III—per serving. We give it a 3-out-of-5 rating for formulation overall, as we’d love to see type II collagen present as well. But, if we’re just talking about the best collagen for skin, this is a good formula. 

Our tester, GGR senior staff writer and Olympian Caine Wilkes, tried this collagen and rated it as a 5 out of 5 for taste and a 4 out of 5 in solubility. “I tried this in both water and coffee, and although the water was discolored, you couldn’t really detect the collagen flavor,” Caine explains. “It was great in hot coffee, too. However, I’ll caveat that and say that I also tried it in cold brew and it clumped quite a bit.” 

Sports Research does warn that this powder can clump in cold beverages, though. 

Lastly, Sports Research Collagen Peptides are third-party tested, which is especially great for athletes who need to know exactly what’s in their supplements. 

Collagen source and typeBovine Types I and III collagen
Collagen content11 g per 1 scoop (11 g)
Flavor optionsUnflavored
Cost$1.24 per serving

Best Marine-Sourced Collagen Powder: Pro Health Longevity Collagen

Good for: Those who want the best of the best 

Best Marine-Sourced

Pro Health Longevity Collagen

GGR Score: 4.6 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Collagen supplement with types I, II, III, X & V
  • Blend of beef, marine, eggshell membrane, and chicken collagen
  • 20 g of collagen per serving
  • Also contains glycine, proline, and vitamin C to support collagen production
  • Third-party tested

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Top-notch formulation
  • 20 grams of collagen per serving
  • Third-party tested
  • Unflavored
  • Good solubility

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Not suitable for vegans or those with a seafood allergy

Bottom Line

Pro Health's Longevity Collagen is expensive, but provides a really high-quality formulation with 20 grams of collagen from a blend of bovine, marine, chicken, and egg shell membrane. It's also third-party tested.

This is a “top-tier collagen peptide supplement,” according to one of our expert reviewers, Bob Iafelice, R.D. It includes 20 grams of collagen in total, all five types from a blend of different sources—not just marine sources—plus there are no artificial sweeteners or sugar present. There are also some additional unique ingredients like glycine, proline, and vitamin C, which Bob says are needed for the body to make its own collagen. All of this earns Pro Health Longevity Collagen a 5 out of 5 for formulation. 

Taste-wise, this is truly unflavored, says our tester Emelie Wilkes, USAW-L1, and she’s tried enough collagen supplements in her day to know a good one when she tries it. “I drink this in my coffee in the morning and there’s no weird aftertaste, plus it also dissolves really well, which isn’t the case with all powdered collagen.” Pro Health Longevity Collagen earns a 5 out of 5 in both taste and solubility. Plus, it also earns a perfect score in the third-party testing category as well (in fact, you can view the COA here.)

Where the score of Pro Health’s collagen dips slightly is in price. We’ll be blunt—this is expensive at $2 per serving, whereas you can get a good collagen supplement for $1 on average. However, it may be worth it if you’re looking for the best of the best. 

“This is a unique and impressive formulation, and probably the best I’ve seen in a collagen supplement,” Bob says. “I highly recommend it.”

Collagen source and typeTypes I, II, II, V & X from beef collagen, marine collagen, eggshell membrane collagen, and chicken collagen
Collagen content20 g
Flavor optionsUnflavored
Cost$2 per serving 

Best Collagen for Hair and Nails: BUBS Naturals Collagen Protein

Good for: Those who want strong shiny hair and long nails

Best for Hair and Nails

BUBS Naturals Collagen Protein Powder

GGR Score: 4.15 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Unflavored collagen peptide supplement made from bovine hide
  • 20 g of collagen in each serving
  • Gluten-free, soy-free, nut-free, GMO-free, and corn-free
  • NSF-certified supplement
  • Claims to support joint health, stronger hair and skin, digestive health, and assists in recovery
  • Comes in 10- or 20-oz tub, or in travel packets
  • Has more than 17 amino acids, including 7 essential amino acids

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Travel packets are convenient
  • Mixes well
  • Unflavored and doesn’t affect taste
  • NSF-certified for sport
  • Higher protein content for a collagen supplement

Cons

  • Pricier for a collagen supplement
  • Less than 30 servings per 20-oz container

Bottom Line

BUBS Naturals Collagen Protein is a collagen protein powder for people on the move. Not only does it mix well with most liquids, but it can also be purchased in travel packets for convenience. This collagen supplement is also certified by NSF Sport, the official third-party certification for the U.S. Anti-Doping Agency (USADA).

If you’re looking for stronger hair and nails as a result of collagen supplementation, BUBS Naturals Collagen Protein would be a good choice. BUBS uses Type I and Type III collagens, which work together to improve overall health and vitality but are specifically the most effective for hair and nail health. In each two-scoop serving, you get 20 grams of collagen. This earns BUBS Naturals collagen a 3.5-out-of-5 rating for formulation, although for hair and nails specifically, this is a solid formula.

Woman Pouring Bubs Collagen Into Coffee

We also like this protein because it has one ingredient: bovine hide collagen peptides. This type of collagen is easier to digest. On top of that, there are 17 amino acids present in this formula, seven of which are the essential amino acids necessary to repair and grow tissue.

GGR’s head of content and competitive weightlifting athlete Kate Meier has used BUBS Naturals Collagen Protein daily for a few months. She rated the product a 5 out of 5 for its unflavored taste, and a 4 out of 5 for how it mixes.

Bubs Collagen And Travel Packs

“It says it’s unflavored, and it truly is. I can’t taste it at all in my morning coffee,” she says. “This works pretty well dissolving in coffee—you can see some small pieces of it floating around, so I’d say it isn’t the best, but I can still drink it every day. In cold water, there is some sediment that settles to the bottom.”

GGR protein lab testing data scorecard for BUBS NATURALS Collagen Protein in Unflavored
GGR collaborated with Ellipse Analytics, an accredited third-party lab, to test more than 150 protein powders. We screened for dozens of factors and rated each product against its peers. Excellent indicates the top 10% of products; Above Average is the top 25% of products; and Meets Standard is the top 50%.

Athletes like Kate tend to travel for meets, and she found the BUBS packets convenient.

“Also, BUBS has small travel packs that I took with me on a trip to D.C.,” she says. “I had no issues flying with them, and they are single-serving so you can take it on-the-go. Expensive? Yes. But super convenient.”

At north of $1.50 per serving depending on where you purchase it, this is one of the more expensive collagens on our list. However, the convenience of individual packets is nice. Also, we know the quality of this supplement is there. How?

GGR conducted its own third-party testing with independent, accredited lab Ellipse Analytics where we screened more than 150 protein powders for heavy metals and protein content. BUBS Naturals Collagen Peptides scored as Meets Standard overall, which means that it met our rigorous quality standards. You can read more about what we tested for in our Independent Supplement Testing Glossary, and read more about this product specficially in our in-depth BUBS Naturals Collage Protein review.

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Bovine hide types I and III collagen
Collagen content20 g per 2-scoop serving  
Flavor option(s)Unflavored
Cost$1.68/serving on BUBS Naturals ($1.51/serving on Amazon)

Best Liquid Collagen Supplement: Momentous Collagen Shot

Good for: Collagen-searchers and health-goers who are truly on the go

Best Liquid

Momentous Collagen Shot

GGR Score: 3.9 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Proprietary form of collagen 
  • Designed to be taken without any liquid
  • Orange-mango flavor
  • Contains vitamin C

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Convenient
  • No mixing required
  • Added vitamin C
  • Versatile

Cons

  • Mango flavor is overwhelming to some
  • Expensive

Bottom Line

Taking a unique twist on traditional collagen powder supplements, the Momentous Collagen Shot collagen comes as a ready-to-drink liquid that can easily be taken on the go.

While Momentous offers a powdered collagen option, its unique collagen shot is the first on the market and deserves its own showcase. The Momentous Collagen Shot is a convenient, ready-to-drink pouch created to fit seamlessly into any lifestyle. 

The Momentous Collagen Shot provides 10 grams of hydrolyzed collagen and protein sourced from bovine hide and bones, making it a great source of types I and III collagen. It also contains 35 milligrams of vitamin C to promote natural collagen synthesis and enhance its benefits. We give it a 3-out-of-5 rating for formulation as we’d love to see type II collagen in here as well.

An image of Momentous collagen shots

The collagen shots are gluten-free, non-GMO, and third-party certified through Informed Choice and Sport. The only minor downside is it only comes in one Orange Mango flavor, although product reviewers exclaim it “tastes great” and is “so yummy!”

Our own tester, GGR Staff Writer Lauren Strong, said the taste is interesting. “It’s not great, but it also leaves you feeling curious about it all at the same time,” she explains. “It’s fruity and you can pick up on the orange pretty easily, however there is this chalky aftertaste that is really weird and it kind of takes over your mouth unless you just suck down the entire gel packet at once.”

Despite this, Lauren says she’d rather take this liquid/gel format over powder any time. She likened the texture to a running gel, like Gu.

“The gel is a little weird if you’re not used to energy gels or the like, which I’m not,” she explains, giving the texture a 5 out of 5. “However, it’s easy to get down and it’s blended really well and it super consistent throughout the whole gel packet.”

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Bovine with types I and III collagen
Collagen content10 grams per one shot (0.75 ml) serving
Flavor option(s)Orange Mango
Cost$41.95/15 servings = $2.80/serving

Best Flavored Collagen Supplement: 1st Phorm Collagen With Dermaval

Good for: Those who prefer a sweet drink

Best Flavored

1st Phorm Collagen with Dermaval

GGR Score: 4.36 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Hydrolyzed collagen powder supplement
  • Also contains 50 mg dermaval per serving to help maintain healthy elastin in body
  • Multicollagen matrix with 5 different forms of collagen: I, II, III, IV, V
  • 1st Phorm states is supports joint, skin, hair, and nail health
  • Available in 5 flavors

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Multiple sources of collagen
  • 5 different flavors including unflavored
  • Positively reviewed: Tastes good and mixes well
  • Gluten-free
  • 110% money-back guarantee

Cons

  • Doesn’t include vitamin C, which can help with absorption
  • Limited in-store availability
  • Manufactured in a facility that processes milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, soybeans, and sesame
  • Contains sucralose
  • Some flavors use artificial flavors

Bottom Line

1st Phorm Collagen with Dermaval is a collagen supplement with five different sources of collagen. It is designed to support joint, hair, nail, and skin health. Dermaval is also included, which is supposed to help maintain healthy elastin in the body. The customer reviews for this product are very positive.

Typically, collagen supplements are unflavored so they’re easy to mix into other beverages you might enjoy throughout the day. Collagen coffee, anyone? 1st Phorm’s Collagen with Dermaval, however, has some really interesting flavor options including Red Velvet Cake, Chocolate, French Vanilla, and Salted Caramel. 

RELATED: 1st Phorm Protein Review

Our expert tester tried the Red Velvet Cake flavor and was pleasantly surprised, rating it a 5 out of 5 in taste. “It was sweet, but not overly sweet,” she says. “I like it by itself, but it also works well in a few of my protein powders, including s’mores and cereal flavors.”

An image of 1st Phorm Collagen with Dermaval in a scoop

The formulation of 1st Phorm’s collagen earns a 4-out-of-5 rating. It features five types of collagen—I, II, III, V, X—sourced from bovine, fish, chicken, and egg shells, plus 50 milligrams of Dermaval, a superfood complex said to boost collagen production. 

“Dermaval features ingredients rich in vitamin C, which plays a critical role in the formation of collagen,” explains Perry Nix, R.D. “It also contains pomegranate extract, known to prevent the breakdown of collagen.”

An image of a woman drinking 1st phorm collagen out of a shaker

We docked one point in formulation because the collagen content is not disclosed, only the protein content (15 grams). 

The last positive note is that 1st Phorm’s collagen is also third-party tested by Informed Choice, earning it a 5 out of 5 in that category. 

Collagen source and typeTypes I, II, III, V, and X from hydrolyzed bovine collagen peptides, hydrolyzed bovine bone broth protein, hydrolyzed fish collagen peptides, chicken bone broth collagen, eggshell membrane collagen
Collagen contentNot disclosed 
Flavor optionsRed Velvet Cake, Chocolate, French Vanilla, Salted Caramel, Unflavored 
Cost$1.66 per serving 

Best Collagen Supplement for Athletes: Gnarly Collagen Pro

Good for: Athletes looking for a collagen that is NSF Certified for Sport

Best for Athletes

Gnarly Collagen Pro

GGR Score: 3.6 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Can be bought in a can or individual sticks
  • Contains 100% of daily vitamin C
  • Can be mixed in hot or cold liquids
  • Includes zinc, copper, and sodium
  • Fairly high dose of bovine collagen

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • NSF Content Certified and NSF for Sport Certified
  • Includes 5 mg of zinc and 1 mg copper
  • Sourced from pasture-raised and pasture-finished cattle

Cons

  • Some reviews claim it’s a bit clumpy
  • Not everyone will want added zinc or copper
  • Only comes in unflavored

Bottom Line

The Pro Collagen from Gnarly Sports Nutrition, which aims to protect joint and connective tissues, is pasture-raised and pasture-finished and includes added vitamins and minerals like vitamin C, zinc, and copper.

When a product is NSF Certified for Sport, it means it has been third-party tested to ensure that the label of the product is accurate and that the product is free from prohibited substances, masking agents, and unsafe levels of contaminants. Gnarly Collagen Pro is NSF Certified for Sport, so it has been cleared of the 270+ substances banned by the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA). Therefore, athletes can consume it knowing it won’t contain elements that could damage their ability to compete.

Peeking into Gnarly’s formulation, two-level scoops provide 15 grams of hydrolyzed collagen from bovine and 14 grams of protein sourced from 100% grass-fed, U.S.-based cows. It also supplies vitamin C (90 milligrams or 100% DV), zinc (15 milligrams or 136% DV), and copper (1 milligram or 111% DV) to assist with collagen strength, protection, and synthesis. This earns it a solid 3.5 out of 5 in formulation.

An image of Gnarly Nutrition Collagen Pro

Gnarly Collagen Pro is intentionally unflavored to blend in pre-workout beverages without altering the flavor. It also comes in travel packs, with five and 10-stick options, so you can throw them in your gym bag and enjoy them on the go. GGR Senior Editor Nicole Davis tried this collagen and had good things to say about its solubility and taste, or lack thereof, earning solid 5s in both taste and solubility—she’ll definitely continue to incorporate this into her routine. 

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Pasture-raised and finished brazilian cattle (bovine) with types I and III collagen
Collagen content15 g per 2 level scoop (15 g) serving
Flavor option(s)Unflavored
Cost$47.75/30 servings = $1.58/serving

Best Budget Collagen Supplement: Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein

Good for: Anyone who wants to cover all of their collagen bases 

Best Budget

Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein

GGR Score: 4.18 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Non-GMO, hormone-free, cage-free
  • Sourced from multiple sources
  • Contains added probiotics 
  • 6 flavor options, including unflavored
  • Intended to support healthy hair, skin, nails, and gut support

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Clean ingredients
  • Combines a variety of collagen types
  • Added probiotics and vitamin C
  • Non GMO, hormone-free, cage-free
  • Positive reviews

Cons

  • Does not dissolve easily
  • Unflavored version may have an aftertaste

Bottom Line

If you are able and willing to pay a bit more for a clean and high-quality collagen with the added bonus of having probiotics and vitamin C, Ancient Nutrition’s Multi Collagen Protein Powder may be a good option for you.

Ancient Nutrition’s collagen might be our best budget-friendly pick, but trust us, it’s far from low-quality. It’s also the first on our list to provide collagen peptides from multiple sources and the only one offering diverse flavor options.

An image of Ancient Nutrition multi collagen powder

To kick off the uniqueness of the Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein, it provides all five collagen types (types I through V) sourced from grass-fed, pasture-raised beef, chicken, eggshell membrane, and wild-caught fish. The multi-collagen blend is intended to support healthy hair, skin, nails, and the gut. 

GGR protein lab testing data scorecard for Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein in Unflavored
GGR collaborated with Ellipse Analytics, an accredited third-party lab, to test more than 150 protein powders. We screened for dozens of factors and rated each product against its peers. Excellent indicates the top 10% of products; Above Average is the top 25% of products; and Meets Standard is the top 50%.

Each scoop also provides 2 billion CFUs of Bacillus coagulans4, a probiotic that may benefit the digestive and immune systems and ease rheumatoid arthritis symptoms. You’ll also get your daily vitamin C needs to support collagen production.

It’s also worth noting that GGR conducted its own third-party testing with independent, accredited lab Ellipse Analytics and Ancient Nutrition’s Multi Collagen Protein in unflavored ranked as Above Average overall, meaning it was in the top 25% of all products we tested. We screened for both purity and label accuracy, which you can read more about in our Independent Supplement Testing Glossary, in more than 150 protein powders, so Ancient Nutrition’s unflavored collagen earns the stamp of approval from us.

But back to those flavor options: Chocolate, Cold Brew, Cucumber Lime, Strawberry Lemonade, and Vanilla are all up for grabs. You can also opt for Unflavored and know that all are free of GMOs, dairy, gluten, and soy. GGR Editor Frieda Johnson tried the Unflavored version of this and said there is a slight taste to it if just mixed with water, but it blends fine into other drinks, like the best protein powder for smoothies

Read more in our Ancient Nutrition Multi Collagen Protein review.

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Hydrolyzed bovine hide collagen peptides, fermented eggshell membrane collagen, chicken bone broth protein concentrate, hydrolyzed fish collagen peptides
Collagen content10 g per 1 scoop (10.1 g) serving (Unflavored)
Flavor option(s)Chocolate, Cold Brew, Cucumber Lime, Strawberry Lemonade, Unflavored, Vanilla
Cost$39.93/45 servings = $0.89/serving (Unflavored)

Best-Dissolving Collagen Supplement: Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides

Good for: Anyone who wants a collagen that dissolves easily

Best-Dissolving

Vital Proteins Collagen Peptide Protein

GGR Score: 4.3 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Designed to improve the health of hair, skin, nails, and joints 
  • Each serving provides 20 grams of collagen
  • Derived from grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine
  • Certified paleo and whole30 friendly
  • Available as flavorless, chocolate, lemon, and vanilla

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Over 200,000 positive reviews on Amazon
  • No added sugar or sweetener
  • Available with added vitamin C and hyaluronic acid
  • Mixes well

Cons

  • Some users report canisters arrived with no safety seal
  • Flavorless powder reportedly tastes bad

Bottom Line

Vital Protein’s Collagen Peptide Protein is formulated to improve the health of joints, bones, skin, ligaments, tendons, nails, and hair.

Vital Proteins is a leader in the world of collagen supplements. Its collagen peptides powder provides 18 grams of protein sourced from grass-fed and pasture-raised cows, making it a great source of types I and III collagen. 

Vital Proteins Collagen 1

We like it for its solubility, giving it a 4.5 out of 5 in this area. “The solubility isn’t as perfect, though,” says Amanda Capritto, GGR staff writer and certified sports nutrition coach. “When mixed with just water, there are some small chunks. I didn’t notice anything when mixed with other powders or coffee.”

The Vital Proteins collagen peptide formula also contains hyaluronic acid, an active ingredient in skincare topical creams, to help improve joint and skin health by improving hydration, according to a review published in Dermato-Endocrinology.5 The addition of vitamin C6, which is required for the biosynthesis of collagen, may synergize benefits for healthy skin, bones, cartilage, and the entire body.  

GGR protein lab testing data scorecard for Vital Proteins collagen peptides in Unflavored
GGR collaborated with Ellipse Analytics, an accredited third-party lab, to test more than 150 protein powders. We screened for dozens of factors and rated each product against its peers. Excellent indicates the top 10% of products; Above Average is the top 25% of products; and Meets Standard is the top 50%.

We rated Vital Proteins a 3.5 out of 5 for its formulation. It offers 20 grams of collagen per serving, a plus, but we with there was also type II collagen added as well. The Unflavored and Flavored options—Chocolate, Lemon, and Vanilla—are free of added sugars, artificial flavors, dairy, and gluten. All varieties contain natural flavors and sweeteners like cocoa, sea salt, and stevia. Amanda mixes the unflavored Vital Proteins into many drinks and even oatmeal and has no problems with a weird taste.

Every Vital Proteins product is third-party tested by independent labs and manufactured in NSF-certified facilities. Vital Proteins’ “Vital Performance” line also features NSF Certified for Sport products. GGR also conducted its own third-party testing with independent, accredited lab Ellipse Analytics where we screen more than 150 protein powders for heavy metals and protein content. Vital Proteins collagen in unflavored was rated as Excellent overall, which means that it was in the top 10% of products we tested. (Read more about our testing in our Independent Supplement Testing Glossary).

Read our full Vital Proteins review for the rest of our thoughts on this popular supplement.

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine with types I and III collagen
Collagen content20 g per 2 scoop (20 g) serving
Flavor option(s)Chocolate, Lemon, Unflavored, Vanilla
Cost$27.00/14 servings = $1.93/serving

Best High-Dose Collagen Supplement: Bulletproof Collagen Peptides

Good for: Bumping up your overall daily collagen intake

Best High-Dose

Bulletproof Collagen Peptides

GGR Score: 3.8 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Hydrolyzed collagen protein 
  • 18 g of protein per serving
  • 20 g of amino acids
  • Science-backed doses of collagen types I and III
  • Promote joint flexibility and skin elasticity
  • Supports bone strength and skin hydration
  • Ethically sourced
  • Available in unflavored, vanilla, and chocolate

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Mix with hot or cold drinks
  • Mixes well
  • Convenient
  • Science-backed doses

Cons

  • Unflavored option may leave an aftertaste

Bottom Line

Bulletproof’s Collagen Peptides powder is an effective and easy way to add high-quality collagen type I and III into your diet.

Providing 18 grams of protein and 20 grams of hydrolyzed collagen per serving, Bulletproof’s collagen formula is right up there Vital Proteins packing a big punch of collagen in each serving. The unflavored collagen is sourced from grass-fed and pasture-raised cattle, making it an abundant source of types I and III collagen. We rate this a 3 out of 5 in formulation as we wish there was type II collagen present.

An image of Bulletproof Collagen protein

Another consideration is that while Bulletproof is a popular brand, especially known for its keto coffee, there’s currently no confirmation regarding whether or not it’s third-party tested. But, not to worry—GGR conducted its own third-party testing with independent, accredited lab Ellipse Analytics and Bulletproof unflavored collagen was one of more than 150 protein powders screened for purity (heavy metals) and label accuracy (protein content). Bulletproof Collagen Peptides in unflavored were rated as Meets Standard overall, which means it met our rigorous quality screen. (You can read more about what we tested for in our Independent Supplement Testing Glossary.)  

Scorecard for third-party testing for Bulletproof Collagen Peptides unflavored
GGR collaborated with Ellipse Analytics, an accredited third-party lab, to test more than 150 protein powders. We screened for dozens of factors and rated each product against its peers. Excellent indicates the top 10% of products; Above Average is the top 25% of products; and Meets Standard is the top 50%.

Let’s talk taste: If you prefer flavor, Chocolate and Vanilla options are available. Still, there’s a call-out worth noting: Unlike Bulletproof’s single-ingredient unflavored formula, each flavor contains MCT oil powder, coconut creamer, coconut oil, and several other ingredients. While the loftier ingredient list isn’t inherently “bad” per se, they bump up the overall calories, carb, and fat content and is something to consider.

As we found in our own testing, you can easily incorporate Bulletproof’s collagen into coffee, smoothies, and other recipes such as baked goods and soups. “I even put it in a cup before my coffee one time, turned on the Keurig and then walked away and didn’t stir it,” says Kate Meier, GGR head of content. “When I came back, it had completely dissolved. I thought it would be clumped in the bottom, but it wasn’t. It mixes so well with no clumps.”

Oh, and Bulletproof products come with a 100% satisfaction guarantee, so if you’re not completely satisfied, you can get your money back or select a comparable product within 30 days. 

Read our full Bulletproof Collagen Peptides review for more information.

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine with types I and III collagen
Collagen content20 g per 2 scoop (20 g) serving (Unflavored) 
Flavor option(s)Chocolate, Unflavored, Vanilla
Cost$43.95/25 servings = $1.76/serving

Best Collagen Supplement Capsules: HUM Nutrition Collagen Love

Good for: Anyone who would rather pop collagen capsules back in a few swift swallows

Best Capsules

HUM Nutrition Collagen Love

GGR Score: 3.9 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Capsule form of collagen 
  • Formulated to support skin elasticity and firmness
  • Contains collagen I and III
  • Contains red wine and grape seed extract, hyaluronic acid
  • Collagen is sourced from grass-fed, pasture-raised beef 
  • Contains chondroitin sulfate
  • Created by a registered dietician 
  • Claims to be made with clean ingredients

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Added hyaluronic acid
  • Created by registered dieticians
  • Clinical research linked on website
  • Third-party validated for purity and quality
  • Clean ingredients

Cons

  • Expensive
  • Serving is 3 capsules

Bottom Line

For those who don’t want to bother with mixing powdered supplements, HUM Collagen Love capsules is a high-quality alternative.

HUM Nutrition Collagen Love is formulated with verified “clean” ingredients, including types I and III collagen sourced from grass-fed, pasture-raised beef. It also provides vitamin C and hyaluronic acid, which may enhance the absorption and benefits of collagen related to skin, joint, and bone health, all in an easy capsule form, which GGR Staff Writer Lauren Strong said was easy to get down, rating it a 5 out of 5 for swallowability. 

HUM’s collagen capsules also bring a few new ingredients to the collagen table: chondroitin sulfate and a combo of red wine and grape seed extract. As a critical compound in skin structure, chondroitin sulfate7 is involved in many biological functions—like inflammation, infection, and wound repair—and may even improve osteoarthritis symptoms. 

An image of HUM Collagen Love

Rich in polyphenols and proanthocyanidins, the red wine and grape seed extracts8 help protect the body from oxidative stress and subsequent health issues like high cholesterol and metabolic syndrome. Even with these interesting added ingredients we’re rating these capsules a 2 out of 5 in formulation—you’d need two servings to get enough collagen to make supplementing worth it.

All HUM products are formulated by RD Nutritionists, which I can truly appreciate as a fellow dietitian, and triple-tested and third-party validated for purity and quality. They’re also free of the “Tricky 12”—a set of 12 ingredients HUM avoids in supplements—that includes artificial colors, sweeteners, flavors, and preservatives. 

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Grass-fed and pasture-raised beef with types I and III collagen
Collagen content6 g per 3-capsule serving
Cost$40/30 servings = $1.33/serving 

Best Powder Collagen Supplement: Utzy Naturals Coll-U-Gen

Good for: Those who want a versatile collagen supplement

Best Powder

Utzy Naturals Coll-U-Gen

GGR Score: 3.68 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Powdered collagen supplement
  • Features two forms of collagen: UC-II and Fortigel
  • Listed benefits: Help maintain healthy connective tissue

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Every ingredient is tested both in house and by a third party for purity
  • 90 day “empty bottle” return policy
  • Fortigel and UC-II clinically proven to be effective
  • Made in the United States

Cons

  • Very limited reviews
  • Only available in 24-serving container
  • 1 flavor: unflavored

Bottom Line

Utzy Coll-U-Gen features two clinically researched forms of collagen: UC-II and Fortigel. Both forms of collagen have been studied and proven to help support joint health. Customer reviews for this product are limited but positive.

Utzy Naturals Coll-U-Gen specifically targets joint health, but we think it’s one of the best powder collagen supplements out there. Our tester, GGR senior director of content and CPT Kate Meier gave it high marks for both taste and solubility, saying that it’s completely undetectable in her morning coffee, dissolving well and being truly unflavored. 

Formulation-wise, we wish Coll-U-Gen just had more collagen per serving—at only 4 grams, you’d need at least two scoops to make it worthwhile—but what’s in the formula is quality. 

An image of Utzy Naturals collagen in coffee

“It features type II collagen, which is the main collagen in cartilage and supports its integrity, helping to reduce joint damage, and type III collagen, which strengthens the surrounding connective tissues, enhancing joint stability,” explains Perry Nix, R.D. We rate it a 2 out of 5 in formulation since we’d like to see more collagen overall.

Utzy Naturals does make a COA available for Coll-U-Gen, which earns it a 3-out-of-5 rating in the third-party testing category. We like that you can see confirmation that the product has been tested in a lab, but we docked two points since it wasn’t done by a major agency like Informed Choice or NSF. 

Collagen source and typeTypes II and III from chicken collagen and bovine collagen
Collagen content4 g
Flavor optionsUnflavored 
Cost$1.68 per serving 

Best Collagen Supplement for Joint Health: NOW Supplements Multi Collagen Protein Types I, II & III

Good for: Anyone who’s trying to prioritize their joint health 

Best for Joint Health

NOW Supplements Multi Collagen Protein Types I, II, & III

GGR Score: 4.2 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Features collagen from beef, chicken, and fish 
  • Combines types I, II, and III collagen
  • Added vitamin C and grape seed extract
  • Intended to improve bone, joint, and skin health
  • Bovine collagen from BSE-free and hormone-free cattle
  • Unflavored so can be mixed with any beverage

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • All-in-one collagen product
  • Mixes well
  • Fine powder
  • Reportedly effective

Cons

  • One report of an allergic reaction
  • A bit pricey

Bottom Line

NOW Supplements Multi Collagen Protein combines collagen types I, II, and III in an all-in-one, unflavored powder that can be mixed with any beverage.

NOW Supplements Multi Collagen Protein Types I, II & III provides exactly what you’d imagine: collagen in types I, II, and III thanks to the combination of bovine, chicken bone broth, and fish skin (type II collagen is best for joint health). The bovine used in the multi-collagen is from BSE-free and hormone-free cattle.

The unflavored collagen powder provides 10 grams of protein and 11 grams of hydrolyzed collagen per serving. It also supplies vitamin C and grape seed extract to augment the synthesis and benefits of collagen, such as supporting joint health. 

The collagen’s product page also informs that while it’s not manufactured with common allergens—like wheat, milk, and tree nuts—it is produced in a GMP facility (thumbs up) that processes other ingredients with the allergens mentioned above. The collagen is also packaged and quality tested in the United States.

We’ve tried to order NOW Multi Collagen, but it’s been out of stock for a while. Because we’re fans of NOW Supplements in general, we kept this on our best-of list, and we’ll be sure to update this review when we get our hands on it.

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Bovine, chicken bone broth, and fish skin with types I, II, and III collagen
Collagen content11 g per 2.5 level Tbsp (13.1 g) serving
Flavor option(s)Unflavored
Cost$39.99/35 servings = $1.14/serving

Best Collagen Coffee Creamer: Garden of Life Collagen Creamer

Good for: Coffee fanatics looking to elevate their cup of joe with collagen

Best for Coffee

Garden of Life Collagen Creamer

GGR Score: 3.8 starstarstarstarstar

Product Highlights

  • Combines both type I and III collagen 
  • Added probiotics for gut health and digestion
  • 8.5 g of MCTs from organic coconut
  • Available in creamy vanilla and fair trade chocolate

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Mixes well
  • Two types of collagen
  • Solid profile of amino acids
  • Taste is popular

Cons

  • Reports of the desiccant packs bursting
  • Includes stevia

Bottom Line

Combining grass-fed collagen types I and III with both probiotics and MCTs, the Garden of Life Collagen Creamer is formulated to improve the health of your gut, hair, skin, nails, and joints while also promoting energy.

While all collagen powders can be mixed into your morning cup of joe, the Garden of Life Collagen Creamer is designed to be a delicious, dairy-free creamer. It comes in Creamy Vanilla and Fair Trade Chocolate formulated with natural ingredients like natural vanilla flavors and organic stevia. With each scoop, you’ll get 9 grams of protein and 10 grams of collagen peptides sourced from bovine. One scoop serving also provides 500 million CFUs from Bacillus subtilis4, a type of probiotic that offers antimicrobial and digestive health benefits.

RELATED: Best Probiotic Supplements

GGR Senior Editor Nicole Davis gave this collagen product a 4.5 out of 5 on taste. She says the Vanilla flavor tastes like any vanilla creamer you’d buy, “Although the macros on this are not great—140 calories per serving—and it doesn’t provide nearly as much protein as other collagens on the list, the taste is great,” she says. “If you’re someone just starting out with collagen and who already uses creamer, this would be a good swap for a healthier option.” 

An image of Garden of Life Collagen Creamer

As a Keto-certified formula, it also provides MCT from organic coconut oil. MCTs are a unique type of fatty acids metabolized faster than other dietary fats. Research9 suggests that MCTs can help induce ketosis without the need for a traditional ketogenic diet or prolonged fasting while also being explored for weight control, brain health, and more. The collagen creamer is also certified paleo, non-GMO tested, and NSF certified gluten-free. 

Despite the positives, the formulation of this collagen creamer gets a 2.5 out of 5 in our rating system—if you’re someone who wants the added fat this would be fine, but for the regular person looking for a collagen supplement, you may be better off finding an unflavored powder.

We’d also be remiss not to mention the price per serving on this collagen creamer, which is very high comparatively. “It’s HELLA expensive,” Nicole says, “and the whole tub only has 12 servings, too, which means you’re out in less than 2 weeks if you use it daily.”

Collagen source(s) and type(s)Grass-fed bovine with types I and III
Collagen content10 g per 1 scoop (27.5 g) serving 
Flavor option(s)Creamy Vanilla & Fair Trade Chocolate
Cost$41.99/12 servings = $3.49

Other Collagen Supplements We Researched and Tested

As collagen grows in popularity, countless products are on the market. In addition to our top picks, we also researched and tested these collagen supplements: 

Swolverine Collagen going into water

How We Picked and Tested the Best Collagen Supplements

When rounding up the best collagen powders on the market, this is what we looked out for:

Collagen Sources

With collagen being the primary active ingredient of interest, we based most of our search on its sourcing—like if it’s sourced from grass-fed, pasture-raised bovine and wild-caught fish. Offering the best collagen for women and men from various sources also provides various collagen types that come with their own unique benefits. 

RELATED: Collagen Protein vs Whey Protein

Additional Ingredients

We ensure other ingredients are warranted if the product contains more than collagen. Overall, we favor formulas with little to no excipients—or inactive ingredients like coloring agents, fillers, and preservatives.  

Variety

Along with providing variety in collagen sources, we also strive to offer diversity in how collagen can be consumed, like capsules and powders. Flavor options are also diverse in hopes there’s at least one flavor (or non-flavor) all of our readers will enjoy. 

Third-Party Testing

Because dietary supplements are not tightly regulated by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), we always strive to feature third-party-tested products. 

Cost

Providing high-quality options with varying price points is top of mind for the GGR team, as this allows our readers to find a product that best fits their budget.

Taste

This matters! Although taste is subjective, we do want to try each product ourselves and give potential buyers an idea of what to expect. Many of us mix collagen with our coffee, so making sure it tastes good is essential for our own enjoyment.

Benefits of Collagen Supplements

Can collagen supplements really support your health and wellness?now Let’s see what the latest research shows: 

  • May help sustain collagen in the body: Collagen loss in the body can start as young as 18 years with an estimated 1% decline per year after age 40.1 Other factors can impact collagen production—like nutritional deficiencies, smoking, and stress—and supplementing with collagen may protect from such dramatic losses. 
  • May counter skin aging: A 2021 meta-analysis10, that included 19 studies and over 1,000 participants aged 20-70 years, suggests hydrolyzed collagen can improve skin elasticity, hydration, and wrinkles.
  • May alleviate joint pain and stiffness: The best collagen supplements for joints may alleviate osteoarthritis11 symptoms such as joint stiffness. And according to a 2021 meta-analysis published in Amino Acids12, collagen peptide supplementation is most beneficial in improving joint functionality and reducing joint pain.
  • May improve digestive symptoms: While the data between collagen and gut health is limited, a 2022 study13 hints that 20 grams of daily collagen peptide supplement may reduce bloating and improve mild digestive symptoms in otherwise healthy women. 

A 2021 review14 exploring the effects of collagen in clinical studies further suggests supplementation may support bone and dental health, manage acid reflux, and promote wound healing. 

Bubs Collagen In Water

Dosing and Interactions 

Currently, there are no uniform and official guidelines about how much collagen to take each day or the best time to take collagen. However, some evidence15 shows that taking 2.5 to 15 grams of collagen peptides appears safe and effective without the risks of interactions and side effects, with newer evidence showing benefits with 20 grams of collagen daily.10 

It’s also worth noting that other factors16 can lead to decreased collagen production and should be avoided if your goal is to increase your body’s collagen. This includes too much sun exposure, smoking, and even excess sugar in your diet.

Before taking any dietary supplement, we encourage you to seek guidance from a registered dietitian nutritionist (RDN) or another healthcare professional. They can help you determine if a collagen supplement is right for you and which product best aligns with your health needs and goals. 

Third-Party Testing

Third-party testing is when a company sends its product to an independent lab to evaluate its quality and safety. A visible stamp on the product’s packaging tells you if it’s been third-party certified, and the following are ones we commonly trust and look out for:

  • Informed Choice 
  • NSF 
  • Banned Substances Control Group
  • US Pharmacopeia (USP) Verification 

Products can also be certified to help consumers make well-informed decisions related to specific dietary restrictions and preferences, including:

  • Gluten-free
  • Halal
  • Kosher
  • Non-GMO
  • Organic
  • Vegan

If you stumble upon a product and can’t tell if it’s third-party tested, you could always contact the company for more information.

Buying Guide: What to Look for in Collagen Supplements

Ready to see what collagen could do for you? When looking for the best collagen supplement for you, ensure it matches and checks all of these boxes:  

  • Type of collagen: Because the different kinds of collagen come with their own uses and benefits, consider your personal health goals and match the type accordingly. For instance, types I and III are mostly used to support nail, skin, and hair health while type II mostly benefits the joints and bones. 
  • High-quality collagen formulas: Ensure the collagen is formulated with high-quality sources, including grass-fed bovine and wild-caught fish. Also, try to go for collagen, especially if flavored, formulated with natural ingredients and free of artificial ingredients and other unwanted additives. 
  • Intake form and flavor: The utmost importance is finding a form and flavor that you enjoy most and will take consistently to reap the benefits. 
  • Certifications: Check to see if the collagen is third-party tested as mentioned right above (like through NSF). Also, look for products with certifications that align with your dietary restrictions and preferences, such as being gluten-free or vegan.
  • Brand reputation: Is the brand reputable with clear values and a positive track record? This is helpful to know before purchasing a product and supporting the company.

FAQs About Collagen Supplements

What is the most effective collagen to take?

The most effective collagen will depend on your needs, as the different collagen types offer unique benefits—like type II being most effective for improving joint health. Hydrolyzed collagen products formulated with other ingredients, like hyaluronic acid and vitamin C, may enhance their effectiveness.

Is bovine or marine collagen better?

It depends on your lifestyle and goals. Bovine collagen17 has been shown to increase types I and III collagen, the types responsible for skin, hair, and nail health, while marine collagen18 increases types I and II collagen. Type II collagen is important for joint health. There are other factors to consider, too, though—for instance, if you have a seafood allergy, marine collagen is not right for you.

What collagen does Jennifer Aniston recommend?

Jennifer Aniston is a “dear friend” of Vital Proteins. Poking around the Vital Proteins website, you’ll also see her picture and the quote, “My go-to collagen routine is adding Vital Proteins Collagen Peptides in my morning cup of coffee or smoothie—so easy to use.”

How long does it take for collagen supplements to start working?

The general consensus is that collagen supplements may have a noticeable effect within just a few months. One 2019 study19 regarding collagen supplements for skin found that skin elasticity, hydration, and density all improved within 12 weeks of starting collagen supplementation.

We must call out, however, that many different variables can affect whether or not collagen “works,” such as the type of collagen you take, your diet, and your lifestyle habits.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any diseases.

References

  1. León-López A, Morales-Peñaloza A, Martínez-Juárez VM, et al. Hydrolyzed Collagen-Sources and Applications. Molecules. 2019;24(22):4031. Published 2019 Nov 7. doi:10.3390/molecules24224031
  2. Ricard-Blum S. The collagen family. Cold Spring Harb Perspect Biol. 2011;3(1):a004978. Published 2011 Jan 1. doi:10.1101/cshperspect.a004978
  3. Pu SY, Huang YL, Pu CM, Kang YN, Hoang KD, Chen KH, Chen C. Effects of Oral Collagen for Skin Anti-Aging: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis. Nutrients. 2023 Apr 26;15(9):2080. doi: 10.3390/nu15092080. PMID: 37432180; PMCID: PMC10180699.
  4. Su Y, Liu C, Fang H, Zhang D. Bacillus subtilis: a universal cell factory for industry, agriculture, biomaterials and medicine. Microb Cell Factories. 2020;19(1). doi:https://doi.org/10.1186/s12934-020-01436-8
  5. Papakonstantinou E, Roth M, Karakiulakis G. Hyaluronic acid: A key molecule in skin aging. Dermatoendocrinol. 2012;4(3):253-258. doi:10.4161/derm.21923
  6. National Institutes of Health, Office of Dietary Supplements. Vitamin C. 2021 March.
  7. Volpi N. Chondroitin Sulfate Safety and Quality. Molecules. 2019;24(8):1447. doi:https://doi.org/10.3390/molecules24081447
  8. National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health. Grape Seed Extract. 2020 Aug.
  9. ‌Lin TY, Liu HW, Hung TM. The Ketogenic Effect of Medium-Chain Triacylglycerides. Front Nutr. 2021;8:747284. doi:https://doi.org/10.3389/fnut.2021.747284
  10. Miranda RB, Weimer P, Rossi RC. Effects of hydrolyzed collagen supplementation on skin aging: a systematic review and meta‐analysis. Int J Dermatol. Published online March 20, 2021. doi:https://doi.org/10.1111/ijd.15518
  11. García-Coronado JM, Martínez-Olvera L, Elizondo-Omaña RE, et al. Effect of collagen supplementation on osteoarthritis symptoms: a meta-analysis of randomized placebo-controlled trials. Int Orthop. 2019 Mar;43(3):531-538. doi: 10.1007/s00264-018-4211-5. Epub 2018 Oct 27. PMID: 30368550.
  12. Khatri M, Naughton RJ, Clifford T, et al. The effects of collagen peptide supplementation on body composition, collagen synthesis, and recovery from joint injury and exercise: a systematic review. Amino Acids. 2021 Oct;53(10):1493-1506. doi: 10.1007/s00726-021-03072-x. Epub 2021 Sep 7. PMID: 34491424; PMCID: PMC8521576.
  13. Abrahams M, O’Grady R, Prawitt J. Effect of a Daily Collagen Peptide Supplement on Digestive Symptoms in Healthy Women: 2-Phase Mixed Methods Study. JMIR Form Res. 2022;6(5):e36339. Published 2022 May 31. doi:10.2196/36339
  14. Wang H. A Review of the Effects of Collagen Treatment in Clinical Studies. Polymers (Basel). 2021;13(22):3868. Published 2021 Nov 9. doi:10.3390/polym13223868
  15. Paul C, Leser S, Oesser S. Significant Amounts of Functional Collagen Peptides Can Be Incorporated in the Diet While Maintaining Indispensable Amino Acid Balance. Nutrients. 2019 May 15;11(5):1079. doi: 10.3390/nu11051079. PMID: 31096622; PMCID: PMC6566836.
  16. WebMD.
  17. Song H, Zhang S, Zhang L, Li B. Effect of Orally Administered Collagen Peptides from Bovine Bone on Skin Aging in Chronologically Aged Mice. Nutrients. 2017 Nov 3;9(11):1209. doi: 10.3390/nu9111209. PMID: 29099747; PMCID: PMC5707681.
  18. Silva TH, Moreira-Silva J, Marques AL, Domingues A, Bayon Y, Reis RL. Marine origin collagens and its potential applications. Mar Drugs. 2014 Dec 5;12(12):5881-901. doi: 10.3390/md12125881. PMID: 25490254; PMCID: PMC4278207.
  19. Bolke L, Schlippe G, Gerß J, Voss W. A Collagen Supplement Improves Skin Hydration, Elasticity, Roughness, and Density: Results of a Randomized, Placebo-Controlled, Blind Study. Nutrients. 2019 Oct 17;11(10):2494. doi: 10.3390/nu11102494. PMID: 31627309; PMCID: PMC6835901.

Further reading

8 Recumbent Bike Benefits and Expert Advice Cover Image
8 Recumbent Bike Benefits and Expert Advice

Our experts dig into the top recumbent bike benefits as well as what you should consider if you are thinking of using one. Read more

NOW Sports Plant Protein Complex Review (2024): A Solid Plant-Based Alternative to Whey Cover Image
NOW Sports Plant Protein Complex Review (2024): A Solid Plant-Based Alternative to Whey

Our NOW Sports Plant Protein Complex review takes a look at the formulation, taste, solubility, price, and value of this plant-based protein powder. Read more

The 10 Most Important Budget Home Gym Tips Cover Image
The 10 Most Important Budget Home Gym Tips

Starting a home gym on a budget may seem impossible, but it's not. Not even close. We've compiled 10 of our most important tips that we've given out over the years on how to build a home gym on the cheap. Time to get started! Read more

BAMF Hammer Review: Thor's Hammer for Fitness Cover Image
BAMF Hammer Review: Thor's Hammer for Fitness

The BAMF Hammer is a great option for anybody looking to add some variety to the routine by increasing overall strength and flexibility. Being hand-made in the U.S. the hammer will humble all who dare to pick it up. It also looks really cool and can make anyone feel like Thor. Read more