We test and review fitness products based on an independent, multi-point methodology. If you use our links to purchase something, we may earn a commission. Read our disclosures.

If you routinely scroll on TikTok during your lunch break or spend your downtime watching YouTube videos, you might be familiar with the 12-3-30 workout. Popular YouTuber Lauren Giraldo first introduced her 1.15 million subscribers to this treadmill routine in 2019, and it is still going strong with the TikTok crowd today.

What is the 12-3-30 Workout?

The 12-3-30 workout is a 30-minute cardio workout traditionally done on the treadmill. You’ll set the treadmill incline to 12, and walk at three miles-per-hour for a total of 30 minutes. I like this treadmill workout for beginners because it doesn’t require you to constantly switch the settings around. 

Pretend you’re watching an infomercial for the Ronco Showtime Rotisserie Oven. Simply “set it and forget it” as the great Ron Popeil told us to do. 

12 incline 12 3 30 workout

Getting Started 

Before getting started with the 12-3-30 workout, I recommend completing a five minute warm-up on the treadmill. Walk at a normal pace without incline to get your body ready to move with more intensity. 

It is worth noting that not every treadmill has the ability to go to a level 12 incline. Depending on whether you do this workout at home with your own personal treadmill or go to the gym, your options may differ slightly. 

pressing button 12 for 12 3 30 workout

Looking for a treadmill that can support the 12-3-30 workout? I recommend the Horizon 7.4 AT treadmill. This powerful cardio machine has incline options up to 15! This means you can even advance the 12-3-30 workout in the future with the help of this treadmill. 

Want to learn more? Check out our full Horizon 7.4 AT treadmill review

Who Should Do the 12-3-30 Workout?

Nothing works for absolutely everyone, and the 12-3-30 workout is no exception. Although this is an excellent workout that will likely get your lungs and legs burning, I wouldn’t suggest it for everyone. Here’s who I think should give it a whirl and who should modify or try something different:

treadmill walking 12 3 30 workout

Great for:

  • People who don’t enjoy running
  • Folks who want to try a walking workout
  • Getting your heart rate up
  • Beginners without injuries or lower-back problems

Not the best for:

  • People with ankle, calf, or back injuries
  • Those who only want to run
  • Individuals who want to stay away from of-the-moment fitness trends

Modifications for the 12-3-30 Workout

If you have an injury that makes steep incline walking painful (ankle reconstruction, anyone?) you can lower the incline and still get a great workout. If you decrease the incline, you can always speed up your walking pace to around four miles per hour. 

Lauren Giraldo originally created this workout because she allegedly didn’t enjoy running on a treadmill for 30 minutes but still wanted a good workout. I say this because I want to encourage you to modify anything that doesn’t work for you due to injury, exercise equipment restraints, or fitness level.  

over the shoulder view monitor 12 3 30 workout

12-3-30 Workout on an Exercise Bike

While the average exercise bike doesn’t have incline or decline options, the NordicTrack S22i does. This $1,900 machine goes up to a 20 percent incline, so you can still set your bike at the prescribed 12 percent incline.

Since an exercise bike doesn’t have speed options like a treadmill does, you’ll have to get slightly creative. I suggest turning up the resistance to a three to keep in line with the 12-3-30 numbers. Keep the same allotted time of 30 minutes and enjoy your ride!

RELATED: Are exercise bikes good for weight loss?

12-3-30 Workout on an Elliptical

If an elliptical is the only piece of cardio equipment you have access to, you can still likely do a modified version of the 12-3-30. I suggest checking your elliptical to see if it has incline options, as not all models do. If yours does, like the Horizon 7.0 AE elliptical, you’ll be able to easily transfer the main components of the 12-3-30 to your machine.

Start by switching the incline to 12 (or the highest level available on your particular elliptical if it doesn’t go up to 12). Next, set your resistance level to three, and stride for 30 minutes. You should feel a similar burn in your lower extremity as you would doing the 12-3-30 on a treadmill.

12-3-30 Workout without a Treadmill

If you can’t get your hands on any cardio equipment, you can still do something similar to the 12-3-30 outside. Find a hill-y area near you and walk at a fast but comfortable pace for 30 minutes. You’ll get a similar effect as the 12-3-30 since you’ll be utilizing incline at around the same pace you’d be going on the treadmill. 

A Personal Trainer’s Take on the 12-3-30 Workout

Curious what a certified personal trainer thinks about the 12-3-30? Certified personal trainer (and Garage Gym Reviews writer) Anthony O’Reilly has tried the viral workout and is here to give you his thoughts.

“The 12-3-30 workout is a very efficient way to get a great cardio workout, and target your lower-body muscles,” Anthony explains. “The incline will help strengthen your posterior chain and lower leg muscles, which can help with training for real world situations like climbing stairs or hiking. Plus, studies have shown that walking on an incline helps burn more calories than walking on a flat surface.”

Even better? “The average walking speed is about three miles per hour, so this workout should be doable for people of various fitness levels,” Anthony shares.

I’ve done this workout myself, and found it to be a good way to switch up my cardio. I had my ankle reconstructed a few years ago, and demanding inclines aren’t my friend, so I have to limit how frequently I do this workout. Nonetheless, if you don’t have any lingering injuries, I think it is a fun cardio workout for you to try out.

Benefits of the 12-3-30 Workout

Like most activities that get your legs moving and heart pumping, the 12-3-30 workout has a myriad of benefits (provided you are not someone with an existing injury). Check out why you might want to give the 12-3-30 a whirl:

  • Better heart health
  • Works different muscles than walking without incline
  • Can help you achieve fitness goals
  • Lower-impact than running
  • Can support weight loss efforts 

12-3-30 Q&A

Does the 12-3-30 workout make you lose weight?

Any fitness routine has the potential to help you lose weight when combined with an appropriate diet. However, always talk to your doctor or a licensed medical professional before attempting any sort of weight loss. And remember that exercise is only part of the equation when it comes to weight loss.

Can I do the 12-3-30 workout everyday?

“There’s no workout that people should do everyday, as doing so can result in extreme fatigue, overuse injuries, body aches, and disruptions to your sleeping schedule,” Anthony clarifies. It’s good to give your body at least one or two rest days each week to help your muscles recover.

Is the 12-3-30 workout just cardiovascular-based or does it have strength training components to it?

The 12-3-30 is mostly cardiovascular-focused since it is traditionally done on a treadmill. However, you will likely challenge your glutes, hamstrings, calves, and quads since you’re walking uphill. This isn’t a replacement for traditional strength training, but it can be a nice addition to your current workout routine.

Are there any motivating TikTok videos I can watch for people’s 12-3-30 workout results?

Yes! Check out the hashtag #12330 on TikTok to view people of all genders, ages, and body types trying out this workout trend.

Will the 12-3-30 workout be too easy for me if I’m a serious athlete?

While the 12-3-30 isn’t exactly HIIT, you’ll definitely still get a nice tomato-face look going after you’re done––it is physical activity after all. Don’t underestimate the power of walking on an incline for 30 minutes.

Further reading

Drug Testing at the CrossFit Games Cover Image
Drug Testing at the CrossFit Games

CrossFit Athletes have been accused of using Performance Enhancing Drugs for some time. Despite these accusations, the CrossFit Games has a protocol for testing athletes. Read more

Rogue Westside Power Bar 2.0 Released! Cover Image
Rogue Westside Power Bar 2.0 Released!

The Rogue Westside Power Bar 2.0 is a collaboration between Rogue Fitness and Louie Simmons of Westside Barbell. It's one of the best power bars available and at a price that years ago would be unheard of. Read more

The Best TRX Coupon Code (2022) Cover Image
The Best TRX Coupon Code (2022)

Looking for discounts on TRX equipment? Check out our exclusive TRX coupon code to save 15% on your purchase. Read more

Schwinn IC4 Review: A Quality Indoor Cycle Bike Cover Image
Schwinn IC4 Review: A Quality Indoor Cycle Bike

In recent years, Peloton has made waves for its interactive programming and very expensive bike. At half the cost, the Schwinn IC4 Indoor Cycling Bike offers an alternative for those wanting app connectivity, durability, and a great value. Similar to some of the best rowing machines or best treadmills, I believe this piece of equipment could be a solid cardio addition to your home or garage gym.If you know me, you know that I already believe the Schwinn Airdyne Pro is the best air bike around. I’m glad to see they have released the Schwinn IC4, which is an upgrade from the brand’s first iteration, the IC3 bike. With the IC4, you get magnetic resistance instead of the friction pads of the IC3 and technology to connect with apps like Peloton and Zwift.I started Garage Gym Reviews to give people my honest opinion and the facts they need to find thebest home exercise equipment. I personally test each piece of equipment and take into account the footprint, durability, adjustability, and overall workout experience. In this Schwinn IC4 review, I’ll give you the lowdown on app connectivity, assembly, and how this bike rode for me.My Favorite Things:Under $1,000106 pounds and easy to moveCompatible with both Peloton and Zwift appsSmooth and quiet ride100 micro-adjustable resistance levelsIncluded device/tablet holderMy Callouts:Lack of built-in workoutsMetrics may differ between connected apps and LCD screenParts not clearly labeled for assembly Read more